BoneStock 5th Gear October 28, 2007 Author Share October 28, 2007 most prob haji...deepavali too close already ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joemit7850 1st Gear October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 have you check the cost yet? thinking of getting ticket also but the price are very high now and not worth if going only for short trip for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear October 28, 2007 Author Share October 28, 2007 oic...so round trip for 3 will be 360? btw, any recommendation in kaoshuing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear October 28, 2007 Author Share October 28, 2007 check out some prices on the web....i think F&E should be about 700+ for adult and 500+ for kid....not sure how accurate. Need to pay a visit to the agencies to know the exact prices. For me no choice, always need to travel during peak period because of kid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear October 28, 2007 Author Share October 28, 2007 我爱台妹,台妹爱我, 对我来说林志玲算什么. *song by MC Hotdog* Nice place with nice girls. Enjoy yourself. haha...ya...I remember hearing that song There was a guy from zhangfei's show who was able to imitate the OA very well.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 i went there in Jul this year and boy i tell u....i went to their Disco in Kaoshung... their disco compared to here...theirs power MC HOTDOG was the star of the night and somemore, they lower the cover charge.... somemore school holidays at their side when i went... I'm definitely going back there in nxt yr, made some frens over there too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Yup, no choice, travelling arnd this period is bobian one.... haizzz... Sometimes $$ not much of an issue... is whether got hotel and air tix a not.... coz sometimes leaves approved later, so book late.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenith Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Oh ya and their gals drink liquor like drink water... Super scary... Have a friend in taipei who opened her own lounge too. Maybe next time we can exchange contacts. Cheers~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 (edited) I am planning a F&E trip to Taipei this Dec with my wife and kid. Need to plan early cos my boss is asking for my vacation schedule Since both my wife and kid are strong supporters of TW variety shows, I think a visit to TW will be interesting for them and they will be able to better relate the places they are going to visit. After doing some research on the web, the following are some places that I have shortlisted. Appreciate advice from all bros here. The last I visited TW was almost 20 years ago during NS 1) Ximending - heard this place is very happening and if lucky enough can catch glimpses of TW artistes? 2) Shilin night market - makan paradise 3) Change of Guard Ceremony? - worth watching? 4) Rao He night market 5) Wu fen pu - shopping paradise? 6) Taipei 101 - major landmark 7) Danshui - see sunset and some shopping? 8) Leo foo Village - dunno if this is worth visiting; need to find a place for my kid(10 y.o.) to enjoy. 9) any interesting places outside Taipei? advisable to use the new bullet train to get there? Will be good if those who have been to TW can advise the approx time needed for each location and whether to visit during weekend or weekday. I still have to neg with my boss the number of leaves i can take. Most prob i am looking at 4D3N or 5D4N depending on my leaves....leaving on a Sat. thanks beri much. Was in Taiwan and also Taipei in Sep this year. I stayed in this hotel. Booked the VIP room. Very good and very big room. Cosy and comes with a sauna in your room. C/w free Taiwanese style breakfast. Cheap too. NT$9k for 4 nights only (S$112.50 per night). And you can actually get the hotel to send you to any location in Taipei for free every day if you tell them at least 2 hours beforehand. And if you stay 4 nights, you can free transport to the airport. Save you money. Only thing no good is that there are no windows in the room due to the design of the building. 友春大飯店 台北市民權西路55號 TEL:02- 2597-2588 http://yochun.ffh.com.tw It's just opposite the 民權西路 MRT station on the Danshui line going north. It's in a very convenient location. Shilin night market is just a few MRT stops away. Btw, most places are very accessible via MRT so no worries. Traffic jams are quite common so take the train rather than cabs. Taipei actually nothing much. So you should take day trips to Jiufen (the beef noodle there at the start of the old street is really good and the fishball stall a few doors down is very good too) for some old world charm and good tea. Beitou or Wulai is good for onsen. All available via MRT and then bus. Ask the hotel receptionist for directions if you are not sure. For Jiufen, will be faster, more comfortable and only slightly more expensive to take a cab if you have 4 in your party. For Wulai, take the MRT to Xin Dian (end of the line) and then take a 40-min bus ride there. I find that Ximending is nothing much, especially if you are an older adult. It's more of a shopping area for teens and young adults. But you must try the Ah Zhong Mian Sian there. Very delicious. I did not go up Taipei 101 as it was foggy that day. And the ticket was approx $40 per pax. Sibei expensive. Note that Taiwanese stalls have just stopped accepting old NT$1000 notes which do not have a metallic strip. The new notes look similar but has a metallic strip running down the side of the note. Take note when you change money. I think you can still exchange the old notes for new at the banks there. But damn leh cheh lor. Edited October 29, 2007 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I find that there is nothing much in Kaohsiung. Maybe that's because I was there on a Sun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caaa Clutched October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Hi Bro, seems like u r quite an old bird in Taiwan? Seek ur advise....my family & some relative going to Taiwan (from KS to TP) this Dec, mind to share what kind of weather would be , heard TP is colder than KS....cos got small kid that come along, was wonder any special thick clothing to bring.... Last visit to Taiwan was in the 70's.... Thanks in advance...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Can drink till u drop... I did more than 12 "hands" of "Tai Pi" (Taiwan Biru) and 2 bottle of Kaoliang 68Pa ones.... (68%) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt 6th Gear October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I could be going there this sunday from taipei. Do you personally recommend it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 Me no old bird there. It was my first trip there this Sep. It was rather hot in Sep. Was in T-shirt and jeans. No need for warm clothes. Not sure what's the weather now. Weather forecast site for you. http://www.cwb.gov.tw/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I think it depends on what your interests are. Some people tell me Tall Bear is interesting, especially night life (I was told Tai Zhong is good for nightlife). Some tell me Tall Bear not interesting. I did not really explore Tall Bear much. It was more of a stop for me to move to Alishan. Sorry, can't help you there. Paiseh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I find their Taipi not very good. Standard not there. Maybe it's because I bought it from their convenience store. But you can really hold your drink. I 3 cans conk out liao and of course before that, must visit toilet to let out water first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 must learn mah .... Tai Pi is nice .. go for the GOLD label one ... and choose DRAFT if not BOTTLED ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged October 29, 2007 Share October 29, 2007 I went for the Gold Label. But it's can. So maybe that's why it's not nice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...