Engine Oil Change Interval

Vit4wd

Why is it that some continental cars like th Skoda have oil change intervals of 15K km, while Jap cars in general have 10K km oil change intervals?

Suppose both are using the same synthetic engine oil, I'm sure the same oil can last 15K km in the Jap car as well?

errr.... not very sure if my answer is ture... but european cars have tighter rules on emission, noise, fuel economy etc that kind of juzz.

Thus maybe somewhere in the regulation is that the engine needs to last a longer distance before oil change then the jap specs. just maybe.

or another thought is that the jap car agent wants to milk more money from car owners thus service at 10K lor... else how they manage to price their car so competitive

Why is it that some continental cars like th Skoda have oil change intervals of 15K km, while Jap cars in general have 10K km oil change intervals?

Notice that the oil change interval coincide with the agent servicing schedule,it indicate that the change is not the oil that require changing rather the agent want u to send the car for servicing. $$$$

If u want to maximise the oil usage, mineral oil can actually lasts 20k and syn double the distance.

I'm told also that it depends on how one drives - whether always redline or just Sunday driving. Plus am also told once that in our hot and humid climate, better to change more regularly.

Advisable to change at regular intervals...cheap form of insurance...altho my properror says 25k, i do a mid-way change at 10k...peace of mind....with the kind of humid conditions, etc, better play safe!thumbsup.gif

I heard some time back, there is this lady who drove and alfa for more than 5 years until one day breakdown and when the mechanic asked when was the last oil change.

Guess what, answer, oil must change want meh, since new until now no change.

No worries, change at the oil recommended interval is already safe.

change earlier does no mean safer but just a mindset thing that it is safer.

the oil change is reccomended at every 7.5k, even for synthetic oil..

lidat...should use mineral lub liao...change @ every 5k/km [;)]

hmm on my new car i change oil every 10k just to play safe. but on my old 1974 car, that one damn tough, i change oil when the oil color changed to black-ish, sometimes mineral oil also can last near 10k [lipsrsealed]

well, i beg to differ. for opel cars the oil change is reccomended at every 7.5k, even for synthetic oil..

Har? [confused]

Brother, not really leh. It was supposed to be 15K but was revised to 10k "recently" due to the local driving and weather condition. However owners can still keep to 15K if they want. Anyway, the charges for 15k and 10k differs also.

Is the 7.5K for specified model?