Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Me doing sales... dun have to travel to customer everyday... 40% of time maxso should be ok lah hor? now stress... also dunno for what Management pay is how much? I engineer nia, not perks, but needs... So does the transport allowance add to your CPF contribution? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melissa 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 we are from diff job positions, thats why perception are different too. ppl who work as HR, sales have a set of thinking. Some are their own bosses here have different thinking. It all boils down to what one wants to look for in a job, and whether the style of culture the prospect comapny is giving suits or not, etc etc.. Seeing so many different types of views here in MCF, definitely set me thinking... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Am working for a stat board now. Mileage claim is $0.60/km which is standard for most ministries and stat boards. Actually think the benefit is a pretty good one, since you get a car without worrying a the monthly maintenance except petrol. Mine was $0.65/km in the last company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 if a job need you frequently drive out to customer site, and the company provide you a car under your fully usage, but you have to pay petrol and season parking monthly, and if you use own car for company business trip, no mileage claim will you say "YES" or "NO"? "NO". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Nah.. it doesn't need one to be in the job to think from that perspective Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Am working for a stat board now. Mileage claim is $0.60/km which is standard for most ministries and stat boards. Actually think the benefit is a pretty good one, since you get a car without worrying a the monthly maintenance except petrol. I'm so keen to know which ministry that offer $1.20 per km must be Saudi Gahmen Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 I think even our corp don't offer that much.. BTW, where is this rashid already? I'm staying to miss him already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Me doing sales... dun have to travel to customer everyday... 40% of time maxso should be ok lah hor? now stress... also dunno for what Management pay is how much? I engineer nia, not perks, but needs... So does the transport allowance add to your CPF contribution? Allowances shouldn't have CPF contributions one lah .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Am working for a stat board now. Mileage claim is $0.60/km which is standard for most ministries and stat boards. Actually think the benefit is a pretty good one, since you get a car without worrying a the monthly maintenance except petrol. $0.60/KM is quite ok imho. It can cover the entier running+maintenance+installment cost of a 2L jap saloon cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 yah...quite pathetic rite... And our system just enter the starting location and ending location, distance will be auto-compute based on the shortest distance from pt A to B in the database. So if lost yr way or go by long route, too bad... Wa kau, then like that the claim of $0.60/km will not be even enough to cover half the cost of a 2L jap saloon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 (edited) Hmm... If your job is a service kinda job (ie NEED to travel to customer site to perform work) then I would say that it's a little bit on the low side. Typical value of that kind of car allowance is ~$1K However, if you are in management and this car allowance is one of your perks, then I would say that it's pretty decent. Cos I have heard of $500 for car allowance of this nature My car allowance is $500 onli...somemore deduct CPF on it Edited October 24, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 (edited) Really??... I didn't know that there can be CPF portions to allowances. Mine doesn't Oh well ... look at it this way. Your company is paying an extra $65 into your CPF as well.... WoW!! You are on your way to the min sum!! Edited October 24, 2007 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Yea, thats how my current employer deals with allowances...they all incorporate it into your pay. No idea why they do it this way. In the end the company will pay more into your CPF ...and by doing that i don't see how the company can get any tax relief as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Hmm... actually, isn't that good? It looks like this means you have a higher basic. If that's the case, your bonus would benefit from this ... and any career move would be from this higher basic too. Sounds like a good deal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 if a job need you frequently drive out to customer site, and the company provide you a car under your fully usage, but you have to pay petrol and season parking monthly, and if you use own car for company business trip, no mileage claim will you say "YES" or "NO"? Yes, only if the car was a car i wanted and cannot afford it. Something 200k minimum and at least 3.5 litre... Ermmm The New GTR will be a definite YES! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Me doing sales... dun have to travel to customer everyday... 40% of time maxso should be ok lah hor? now stress... also dunno for what Management pay is how much? I engineer nia, not perks, but needs... So does the transport allowance add to your CPF contribution? Allowances shouldn't have CPF contributions one lah .... ahh.. you miss the trick here.. if company include allowance into your pay package, at times, they avoided CPF contribution which for certain employee that have not hit the max tend to lose out more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 yah...quite pathetic rite... And our system just enter the starting location and ending location, distance will be auto-compute based on the shortest distance from pt A to B in the database. So if lost yr way or go by long route, too bad... Wa kau, then like that the claim of $0.60/km will not be even enough to cover half the cost of a 2L jap saloon Not really. by using such system, the company is protected from unethical employee that input distance longer than what the travelling is intended for. As for losing the way, can't blame it on the company, right? On the employee side, it rid them from taking down the distance travelled. My last company don't have a system and everytime, I move my car, I have to check the distance and ensure that I record it down. It's so time consuming and when we forget to do it, we have problem trying to find out the distance. At that point of time, streetdirectory.com is not free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 (edited) Understand wat u mean. Esp on the part whereby you have to record down the distance travelled. Its almost like driving a SAF vehicle...LOL Such a scheme by claiming mileage is good for sales/service staff that travels alot. Some of my vendor's service engineer likes this claim system coz they travel to service 2-3 clients everyday. Edited October 24, 2007 by Rickster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...