Quantum 5th Gear October 23, 2007 Author Share October 23, 2007 agree! 1stly, the major concern is how to settle my existing car, sell it, lose money, coz only 2 year+ keep it, depreciating too[blush] 2ndly, petrol is not a major concern right now, unless petrol price up to unresonable high, coz I know the job's attribute, if can visit 2 client's sites per day already is very good performance liao, although the clients are islandwide, but the fuel price is unpredit factor too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 I agree with you in the sense that the car in the TS company situation is a necessary tool to facilitate the company to conduct business. They provide you with the tool to go to a restricted site. No car means no access and they 'force' TS to use the company car and TS to incur some cost. If you have your own car, you cannot claim. May not be a good e.g but its like a company give you a tool - a notebook to do your work with. but because you can bring home and use it personally, they force you to co-share the cost of the notebook. In the case of other car allowances in terms of cash, those companies do not usually force u to get a car. If no car can claim taxi. But if the employee chooses to get a car, it is his choice and that choice comes with some form of cash outlay the employee have to bear (but it is his choice) as usually car allowance does not compensate the full cost of owning a car. He made a choice of 'co-sharing' the car with the company. He can choose not to get a car and claim 100% taxi. IMHO, the company should offer an alternative to provide mileage claim for employee cars. In not doing so, those with cars are faced with a potential financial burden by joining the company and selling off their existing car Benefit? Yes to those with no car or scapping car soon No to those with a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 nb... try this on... my housemate's company car covers everything, including fuel for weekend action Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Am working for a stat board now. Mileage claim is $0.60/km which is standard for most ministries and stat boards. Actually think the benefit is a pretty good one, since you get a car without worrying a the monthly maintenance except petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 $0.60/km ? dont rem it to be that low ? Mine was years ago though..so cant exactly rem the rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swift 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 yah...quite pathetic rite... And our system just enter the starting location and ending location, distance will be auto-compute based on the shortest distance from pt A to B in the database. So if lost yr way or go by long route, too bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 eh... Shift topic a bit... I just joined a new company. They offered 800 car allowance, inclusive petrol and carpark at clients, season parking at office... bao ka liao... I accepted the offer. Based on car allowance package is quite std rite? should be enuf to cover the running cost of the car. I am coming from the angle of paying for the car myself since the car is in my own name... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Hmm... If your job is a service kinda job (ie NEED to travel to customer site to perform work) then I would say that it's a little bit on the low side. Typical value of that kind of car allowance is ~$1K However, if you are in management and this car allowance is one of your perks, then I would say that it's pretty decent. Cos I have heard of $500 for car allowance of this nature Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Me doing sales... dun have to travel to customer everyday... 40% of time max so should be ok lah hor? now stress... also dunno for what Management pay is how much? I engineer nia, not perks, but needs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 800 is consider okie lah... standard lah avg running cost of a car is about 1.3k - 1.4k for me 90 for cp 10-50 for parking coupons and cash card top up monthly 500 for petrol Not to forget the yearly road tax cum insurance (about 2000 approx..depends on years of driving exp and age, and also car model) also need to stand by for summons..maintenance for every 10k km, dents repairs..mods...poisons...accessories...repairs..etc.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 sales very flexible one can work 2 days really hard.. then off 3 days at the end of the week or day or month.. got figure come out..can liao the only increase u can see is when u off day that time u jio ur frens to lim kopi KLKK.. ahaha that's a waste of petrol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 As long as at the end of the day you feel that you have a good enough deal that makes you better off then before, then it's ok lah ... for now (we engineers gotta always look forward to moving up ...) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vegas Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Thanks Brothers in here.... Appreciate all feedbacks.... and i think it is better deal than no mileage claim... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 (edited) 800 is not much but not low either.(depends on ur office season parking hor). At least ur offer is reasonable. You are right... better then no claims at all Edited October 23, 2007 by Adrianlim13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Quote You must be in HR. haha. Well different prespective I guess. I just feel that one shouldnt work for companies who calculate too much...at least I know I wouldn't. We can go on and on... but end of the day, Really, Its none of my business. Just thought of voicing out. One might feel I am talking crap or wrong but thats how I feel. Companies exist to make money. I exist to make money for company. HR or Finance ensures that no money gets handled properly so... Sorry if my comments affected anyone. My role in a organsisation is as a revenue generator, Sales. so I always command alot of $$$ cos if I can make millions for u, dont come and tell me to pay my own petrol...fxxk off .screw it. However, if one is a 'cost' centre, then its different. Nope.. I don't work in HR..and it doesn't need a HR practitioner to think in that direction. BTW, HR don't deal with money but the intention of capability growth in HR. Anyway, guess you shd know this, so need to bring out the lecture notes I expect people working for me to think of not just generating revenue but to have long term strategy to bring about greater growth rather than just looking at the monthly dollar and cents. Anyway, I'm just offering a different consideration. If TS think that the offer is not attractive, he can skip it. Not everyone can be choser Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Quote nb... try this on... my housemate's company car covers everything, including fuel for weekend action steady.. make sure it cover road side towing in case the battery run flat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Quote Am working for a stat board now. Mileage claim is $0.60/km which is standard for most ministries and stat boards. Actually think the benefit is a pretty good one, since you get a car without worrying a the monthly maintenance except petrol. I'm so keen to know which ministry that offer $1.20 per km Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Quote $0.60/km ? dont rem it to be that low ? Mine was years ago though..so cant exactly rem the rate. then care to tell us which ministry? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...