Do you accept this 'Benefit'?

Quantum

I have no doubt what you said is very true indeed. I agree with you.

However, the TS also did mentioned that the pay offered to him is also very tempting. I believe for the TS to say tempting, it should be more than just a few hundred dollars more. So I believe he should do the maths and see if it is worth it after calculating in at least $600 in monthly petrol usage.

Edited by Rickster

installments, insurance and road tax is already all paid for.. TS, you weigh the situation yourself, we can only give you advices. IF just becos there is no petrol claims allow, i dun think its worth the reason for you to reject this job offer ( i dunno what job it is though).

IF this job has good prospects, then you are giving up on a good opportunity.

Why not (just my suggestion)

1) you drive your own car to work, park at your workplace since you mention its free, and drive your company car to meet clients etc and at the end of the day you drive home in your own car. This way you can save on house season parking for the company car.

2)i dunno how old is your own car, maybe you can consider selling it. since

your company is offering you an altis.

PS: its my opinion, and i assume that the salary you will be give its good and the comapny's prospect is good, as

what rickster suggest.

[flowerface][thumbsup]

Edited by Melissa

You are very objective & wise to raise this question [thumbsup] . I believe that is the main reason for the TS to accept or reject the offer.

[blush][blush][blush] (blushing)

LOL [flowerface]

Edited by Melissa

U think I am ? Haha. I am super happy now and motivated! Thats why I am sharing my thoughts. Dont work for stingy companies. If young want to chalk up experience, go for it by all means... but if 30s liao, choose when u can. I think job market in Sg still quite healthy right ?

Anyway, I have simply given up working in Singapore liao.

Relocated to HK and running around China. Pay is at least double and benefits is top notch. All expediture claim, even daliy meals...hows that. I can pratically save 90% of my salary. In 1 years time, I can buy a e240 for my dad and pay in FULL. Lastly,I dont have to contribute crapy 20% to CPF.(money which I think current gen Sgporeans will not get back fully or at all...but thats another can of worms..)

I am happy for your dad, cos he must be good and contributing to his company [nod]

Your dad is smart will surely not leave for another job offer that pays 5k and 2k allowance lar. Baised comparision.

I agree with u, look at the overall pay package and not just the allowance and benefits BUT clearly the so call 'BENEFITS' this company is offering now is a Liability to the person.

Furthermore he mentioned that he already has his own car but cannot claim mileage..GOD this is bad! From here, you know this company is super Stingy liao..Calculative.. THAT's MY POINT.

That's right ... always compare on a annual basis. Nowadays, companies very smart - they played with figures to make their offers "look" attractive.

Example 1: Senior Officer with monthly 3.2K inclusive of 13th month. Variable/performance bonus depends on individual performance.

Example 2: Senior Officer with monthly 3K excluding 13th month. Variable/performance bonus depends on individual performance.

Now if we look just at the monthly salary part excluding all bonuses, Example 1 gives 38.4K while Example 2 gives 39K. Of coz, there are other benefits such as annual leave, meals allowance, transport allowance, dental/optical benefits etc to compare. [crazy]

Good for you. I believe thats y you are getting such benefits, thats because they treat you as an expat over there. My dad's spending most of his working time in china as well, thus the benefits as per what you had mentioned is pretty normal. If you are working overseas and don't get such allowance, then something is really really wrong. [dead]

However, the TS is not going overseas, thus, cannot expect to be given expat treatment.

Hi Adrianlim13 [;)]

Well, im not gonna to have a 'heated' arguement with you, just want to share

opinions [;)][thumbsup]

As quote from you: Furthermore he mentioned that he already has his own car but cannot claim mileage..GOD this is bad! From here, you know this company is super Stingy liao..Calculative.. THAT's MY POINT.

Well, stingy i dun really think so, maybe the company is playing safe incase

his staff will misuse this system (claiming mileage). Who knows maybe the company die die wants him to use the car provided by the company?? (thats why if use own car, cannot claim)

since everything as i pointed out, is being paid for.. dun think the company is calculative. What do you think?

IMO, claiming petrol system can be easily misused, but if the company gives an amount every month for petrol, it might or might not be enough since varies with the number of times travelling to clients site.

PS: just want to have a discussion, not arguements. Anyone feel free to voice out [:)]

[flowerface][flowerface][flowerface]

Edited by Melissa

compare the cost of owning car which is the insurance, installment and servicing vs the cost of using the car given by company.

Don't even have to look at your annual or monthly or whatsoever other benefit.

Petrol is expensive but how much petrol are you drinking per month for a Altis? $500 or $800? what is the normal installation for a 7years Altis coupled with insurance and servicing (dun even have to include wear and tear like tyres)

Keep the equation simple and be focus.

I have to disagree with comments such as the company is stingy or trying to rip people off.

agree with the rest. Not worth while.

To the company it is fixed cost.

The company is trying to push the variable mtce cost which can accumalate to very high to you [sly]

Usually i hear company giving transport allowance [:)]

but what if the variable cost is lower than the total cost of owning your own car?

No for me [:)]

The petrol bills would be [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop] since you have mentioned that you'll need to frequently drive out to your customer's site [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

have you asked what is the dist from company to client's office before you say no? [sly]

At the very least they need to give you some sort of transport allowance in addition to what they're giving.

Eh.. the company did!

They didn't charge for using the car during weekend or even when employee took it out for nite action [sly]

Last I know, car rental for weekend is not cheap and owning a car in S'pore is not really cheap as well

i assume TS dunno his client's office yet, and maybe doesnt travel to a particular fixed client's location (can be many depends on how many client wanted his help in a day?), since i assume its suppose to be a servicing sort of job... [;)]

There's plenty of way to cut a cake but apparently everyone is looking to slice it the conventional way rather than work out the distribution and plan accordingly.

Me just voicing my thoughts mar...not arguing [flowerface]

Well, I guess any system also can be abused. Claiming mileage is one of the more acceptable practices I think.. but damn troublesome..fill in alot of info.

I once work for a French company damn funny... give petrol card credit at $600 but only can pump ron95. Logic ? cos HR ppl caluclate that $600 at ron95 should be good enough for a month usage. But if on ron98, not enough liao.. Here comes the funny part, if less then $500 usage, must explain why so low.. never work issit.. haha dumb French mentality. SO I went out and buy a 2.0TC car..haha.

I guess the company is too smart, cos petrol cost is up up and away.. sure die one lor...

Imagine, next time to cut cost, company ask TS to run errands using 'company car' how? Dispute with management and risk getting into bad books... see where i am coming from ?

I feel if companies calculate till such small details, HR and Finance sure super [rifle]

I dunno about others, but personally, at a new job oppourtunity, I will to feel the culture of the company. Usually, u can get that feeling from the Office, decor, reporting manager and HR policies. Look at the offer too. It tells alot on how much the company wants U

Good for you. I believe thats y you are getting such benefits, thats because they treat you as an expat over there. My dad's spending most of his working time in china as well, thus the benefits as per what you had mentioned is pretty normal. If you are working overseas and don't get such allowance, then something is really really wrong. [dead]

However, the TS is not going overseas, thus, cannot expect to be given expat treatment.

Out of point bro... I am not talking about expat package. My point is - Dont work for companies who are stingy or calculative.

Period.

[:p] i know you are not arguing, me just want to state my intention before i go on further with this thread's discussion.. [;)]

Anyway u r right [thumbsup] , it all boils down to individual company's culture...

TS has his own car liao.. if ultilise,cannot claim mileage. pls explain that.

Give u car but no petrol. pls explain that

If this is not calculative, I dont know what is man..

Not arguing har.. just want to listen & learn from other views

The company made the offer to relieve employee of the cost of owning a car.

TS, in his initial post did not put into the equation of owning his own car but only state what is the T & C of using his own car vs using company provided car.

If you put yourselves in the shoe of the company, do you lose more in providing a car vs providing petrol and other driving related claim?

What if the total cost of using the company car work out to be $800 in total per month for TS but to own his own car and work for another company, all he claim for travelling is expense claim, he still need to pay for the loan and maintenace of car, do you think the company is ripping the employee off?