Drying your car after rain

Flyby

Do you dry your car immediately after driving in the rain?

i find that when i try to dry the car after driving in the rain without washing first, the drying chamois will turn BLACK! My immediate tot is SWIRL MARKS! especially on my black car.

This means everytime i drive in the rain, i must wash and dry the car - which makes me a slave to the paint work [hur] and i just washed the car! [:|]

is there an easiER way out? can i just leave the car wet from the rain? i can see the water still beading from my #951 earlier in the afternoon. should have some protection rite?

I left the car wet... hope no etched watermarks tmr.

Spray QD as it helps to lift up the dirt and prevent scratches. As for swirl marks just got to live with it as it's totally impossible to prevent, maybe could go for annual professional polishing to remove it. I'm more worried of watermarks etched into the paint.

Edited by Fitzy

black and white cars are the hardest to maintain. but if u can do it correctly, they are also one of the best looking colours.

end if story: don't buy black or white cars [laugh]

so you would spray QD on the car that is wet from the rain? sounds kinda weird but if it works i dun mind giving it a try next time.

actually, i understand that black cars are hard to maintain, thats why i held back in drying the car right after driving in the rain.

my question is

1) if i leave the car wet after that rain, it should be protected from my sealant/wax so i should be too worried right?

2) if i wanna dry my car after the rain, what is the easiest way to do it without cuzing swirls?

sorry i wasnt clear earlier. i like my black car leh. think i will still buy black car next. [laugh]

Bro, i owned a black ride and 'No' for me to clean it immeidately after driving in rain [:)]

If you have washed & apply QD/sealant/wax on your ride on a weekly or 2 basis, it shouldn't be a problem [;)]

Another point is that i parked my ride mostly under shelter and hence even though my ride is almost 3 years liao, you'll find very little or no water marks on my ride [;)]

To detail a ride is [thumbsup] but to be a slave for it is [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

I do dry my car, most of the time, after rain. No excessive swirl mark from drying it after rain. Just dry from top down and lightly. I'm not too worry about finw swirl marks..cos it will be covered the next time i groom my ride.

Used to be worried about that. But I think weekly maintenance should be

sufficient. Arbor everyday rain everyday must dry the car. [dead]

I'm only a slave to my car once a week. Well, take it as a form

of exercise. [laugh]

Hmm..if not wiping action, what should be the correct method?

How about if just hose down the car with water? will it be suffice to "wash" away the dirt as well?

Hose down the car with water will not be suffice to wash away the dirt IMHO [:)]

You'll still need a cloth to wipe off that layer of contaminant on the surface of your ride [;)]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

if u park in the sun, u shld at the very least try to dispel the water beads...else the water marks caused from the drying out in the sun is super diff to remove...

my previous car was black and water marks on them are super obvious...at one time when i looked at my roof, its like my roof kena some chicken pox disease....no amount of polishing and waxing helped alr... sweatdrop.gif

Hosing down the dirt is best, but if water mark will still be seen even if the water is clean.

I alwasy use pat the water off. waste alot of time but this will prevent any scretches or swirl marks.

thanx all the bro (and sis if any) for all your input!

mzrmazda. i agree with you totally. i've been slave to the car for past 2.5 months. enough is enough!

i left the car wet from rain last nite. today i inspected the car. spots of dry water marks that can easily to removed. the marks on the boot part was abit sandy/dusty. so if use wiping action to dry the car [knife] . sure swirls and such.

but i must say i spend a lot of time detailing the car and i part in MSCP, so these are probably the factors that allow me to leave the water standing.

also agree that dabbing the water instead of wiping is probably the best way to remove water after rain with minimum swirls/scratches induced.

looks like the #951AW and S99 is doing their job. [thumbsup]