Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?

Guyver

Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?  

157 members have voted

1. 1.

• I'm on Windows Vista.
    • I'm still on Windows XP or earlier OS.
    • I'm on Linux.
    • I'm on Mac
    • Others, if any, please specify.

It makes business sense for MS to only support one product and that would be Vista.

It cost resources and money to support older products.

But they are really targetting corporate companies in terms of support.

The man-on-the-street, how many actually call MS for support, if his Vista crashed every now and then?

He is most likely to call his friends and relatives who are IT savvy, who will bear his burden. Otherwise, he will post in forum why his Vista keeps crashing.

If you run Vista now and lack of drivers for a particular product, you may be asked to buy new hardware, bcoz the product vendor also does not want to write drivers for Vista for old and obsolete product, as in business support sense.

So if you are not "loaded" or a company, you will probably have to endure frustration or pay and pay.

That's fine for companies, they have budget to pay MS for technical support, but not the man-on-the-street. What he wants is a reliable software that works to do this chore. He doesn't want to be caught with drivers not compatible, and spend his time troubleshooting.

When a guy buys a car, he also wants a reliable car that works. He doesn't want to be bog down by poor quality product and keeps going back to the distributor to change parts, even if it is free under warranty.

hi bro,

when i say support, it's not just in terms of 'helpdesk', even for corporation support, you wouldn't believe how much MS is charging for 3rd level technical support.. (hint: you will want to be the one getting paid for it)

support meant having hotfixes, patches and updates delivered. [;)]

I just collected the notebook from Starhub yesterday ... together with one of the bro here.

If you are going down to collect, please provision 4hrs, where 3hrs+ is waiting to register. When you head down there, register first then you may collect the notebook, payment would be there also.

Now I got a problem ... I can't install Windows XP on this notebook, when I boot from the CD-ROM ... it prompted that it can't find any harddisk attached!! From what I read from http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwar...&os=228&lang=en they would require me to have a USB floppy!! [hur][hur]

So now, can anybody help me out here .... to get Vista out and XP in?

Yes i do the same as you. C drive solely for OS. I allocate 10Gig for it and it is not enuff because as time passes by, u install programs, some of them u dun have the option to select other drive, so u got to accept the default - that is to install the program in C drive. Slowly u find that C drive is running out of space which is no good because the OS also need some disk space while it is running.

D drive for Data.

E drive for entertainment purpose sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

Now I wanna install XP over Vista ... but they prompted that they can't find the harddisk ... which is on SATA interface .... can anybody help?

If i not wrong it is due to the SATA HDD in ur laptop. so u need to press F6 and load the SATA controller driver.

Yes ... and because of that ... I will need to have a USB floppy .... [dizzy][dizzy]

Dear all,

With new Windows Vista on most new notebooks and PCs .... just wanna get some feedback.

I just bought my notebook at SITEX. Impressions of Vista is...... How to use ar? lol!! I too use to XP already. Wanna change IP address, took me 2mins to find the config settings. sigh!!

Oh... paisay the Sata native mode is for another issue.

ya... i think u need a USB floppy, else u need to slipstream the SATA driver into the windows XP installation CD.

I tried setting the SATA to native mode ... and the Windows XP installation seems to be running ..... perhaps I can skipped the doing up of the CD?

Anybody tried this before?

Wah lau ... the notebook from Starhub ... got no CD at all!!

Now have to search "high and low" for the drivers.

The notebook is Presario C700 ... part number is C722TU. I can't find the right graphic driver from Intel for XP leh .... [bigcry][bigcry]