Kb27 Supersonic November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 I seriously doubt you can downgrade. MS would not want anyone to downgrade...it is always pushing everyone to the latest and the "greatest". To downgrade, you might have to pay for your own software to stay legit. Every new PC or notebook now comes with Vista, no buts.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowmo Clutched November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 (edited) business point of view, they will not want to support old buggy products. software have lifetimes, just like car manufacturers will not honour or support cars beyond the 3yr warranty. winxp wasn't that great to begin with anyway, given a choice, i would've stuck to windows 2000 till i get something better. don't forget that if you choose to 'downgrade', you are on your own, in terms of support (ie. patches/hotfixes) when they decide to EOL the support of winxp. i've encountered stubborn businesses who stuck to windows NT and refused to upgrade their hardware and software for windows 2000. Microsoft gave a grace period somemore for those who wants to upgrade (upgrade optionss are really much cheaper), but still stubborn don't want to upgrade. Now they have to pay full price for 2003 and perhaps have to spec their hardware to fit in 2003. thats how it is, penny wise, hundreds of pounds foolish. Edited November 28, 2007 by Slowmo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HdBanger 1st Gear November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 on her core 2 duo with 2GB ram laptop (pretty much the normal specs new machines are churnin out these days), it runs decently. p4s will not cut out for the job. 1g ram won't either. i'm still stickin to xp too, and have not touch (her) vista yet. she doesn't allow me to have the chance to try out, due to my pro-XP & linux stance, and her confidential work info in there. still, i believe vista works in its own way. short of driver and 3rd party software issues, it can get some decent work done. only if we drop off all the habits of how we used xp first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 Just got a new notebook. Came with Vista... Thought of downgrading but decided to play around the Vista for a while first. Now I gave up the idea of downgrading. Trying it out and owning it is a different experience. You will come to appreciate the thought that got into the Vista. Why worry about compatibility issues? Every problem can be solved. I manage to get a software written for Win95 to work on the Vista. My first try few months back failed on a test PC. Now that its my own, I manage to make it work...hahah... Hmm ... usually when I get a new PC/Notebook ... I'll reformat the harddisk ... partition it .... to : - Small 10-15GB harddisk for C drive - Then allocate the rest as D or E drive etc Then install my OS on the C drive ... create the pagefile on the C drive. So all my data seats in the D/E drive etc. When I need to reinstall my OS ... just reformat my C drive and install and that's it. Anybody does this also? Yes i do the same as you. C drive solely for OS. I allocate 10Gig for it and it is not enuff because as time passes by, u install programs, some of them u dun have the option to select other drive, so u got to accept the default - that is to install the program in C drive. Slowly u find that C drive is running out of space which is no good because the OS also need some disk space while it is running. D drive for Data. E drive for entertainment purpose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 u need at least 2gb ram to run it smoothly xp gobble 256mb of ram vista gobble 512mb of ram if your pc/laptop is 1 gb of ram half gone to vista while the rest will be shared among anti-virus,anti spyware,firewall,msn, etc,etc 2GB??!! ... actually, RAMS are dirt cheap these few weeks.. i just upgraded my com to 3GB of RAM..and it cost me only 60 bucks for 2 pc of 1GB DDR2 667 RAM modules.. now i can totally turn off swap file in windows.. Knn... RAM got so cheap meh? Now Sitex... wonder what is the price like... I am running on 1G ram now.. seems quite sufficient... though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched November 28, 2007 Share November 28, 2007 i tried vista on a 1gb pc. open msn window media player and internet explorer. already lagging, and was surprise it lags cos it's a "vista" i just bought a mac and ope nalmost everything from messenger to i tunes to limewire to internet. not even lagging at all. so u decide for yourself Funny. One of the PC in my office with 512 RAM is running Vista. Not very lagging. Quite ok leh.... P4 2.4Ghz system. But of course, with all those fanciful features turned off la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 yes totally agree. stick to XP - proven and working with no worries on any compatibility. I have a new laptop running on vista - nice interface but it really sux Thanks for the info. I'm using XP at work, therefore, have no experience with Vista. So far, all the feedback collected are.. Vista sux... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 i'm not sure for other brands, but apparently for dell you actually have to top up to downgrade to XP. so much for Vista. what? top-up to downgrade... what the logic? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 I seriously doubt you can downgrade. MS would not want anyone to downgrade...it is always pushing everyone to the latest and the "greatest". To downgrade, you might have to pay for your own software to stay legit. Every new PC or notebook now comes with Vista, no buts.... in this case, in order to save one from all the trouble going forward. seems like no choice but to pay.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 29, 2007 Author Share November 29, 2007 Think they probably have a volume committed to Microsoft .... so if people were to opt for Windows XP instead .... then they may not be able to meet the volume committed .... so must penalised people to NOT downgrade .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 It makes business sense for MS to only support one product and that would be Vista. It cost resources and money to support older products. But they are really targetting corporate companies in terms of support. The man-on-the-street, how many actually call MS for support, if his Vista crashed every now and then? He is most likely to call his friends and relatives who are IT savvy, who will bear his burden. Otherwise, he will post in forum why his Vista keeps crashing. If you run Vista now and lack of drivers for a particular product, you may be asked to buy new hardware, bcoz the product vendor also does not want to write drivers for Vista for old and obsolete product, as in business support sense. So if you are not "loaded" or a company, you will probably have to endure frustration or pay and pay. That's fine for companies, they have budget to pay MS for technical support, but not the man-on-the-street. What he wants is a reliable software that works to do this chore. He doesn't want to be caught with drivers not compatible, and spend his time troubleshooting. When a guy buys a car, he also wants a reliable car that works. He doesn't want to be bog down by poor quality product and keeps going back to the distributor to change parts, even if it is free under warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 29, 2007 Share November 29, 2007 Not sure whether am I using the right term. I was told that the laptop from starhub will come with some 'unwanted advertisment' loaded in the machine. Can anyone verify this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 29, 2007 Author Share November 29, 2007 I'll do a full reformat, repartition and then reinstall anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billcoke 2nd Gear November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 Dear all, With new Windows Vista on most new notebooks and PCs .... just wanna get some feedback. Heard from some people whom have installed original Vista that the security control is very tight, so tight that it doesn't support other pirated software. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 on her core 2 duo with 2GB ram laptop (pretty much the normal specs new machines are churnin out these days), it runs decently. p4s will not cut out for the job. 1g ram won't either. i'm still stickin to xp too, and have not touch (her) vista yet. she doesn't allow me to have the chance to try out, due to my pro-XP & linux stance, and her confidential work info in there. still, i believe vista works in its own way. short of driver and 3rd party software issues, it can get some decent work done. only if we drop off all the habits of how we used xp first. Guess it'll takes time. But till then .... Windows XP is a SURE bet ... as compared to Vista .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 30, 2007 Author Share November 30, 2007 Yes i do the same as you. C drive solely for OS. I allocate 10Gig for it and it is not enuff because as time passes by, u install programs, some of them u dun have the option to select other drive, so u got to accept the default - that is to install the program in C drive. Slowly u find that C drive is running out of space which is no good because the OS also need some disk space while it is running. D drive for Data. E drive for entertainment purpose Yah ... this setup is good .... isolating the data and OS system. Think I'll set aside 20GB on the new notebook for C drive .... if really not enough ... then reformat and reinstall lor .... anyway ... for Windows ... we need such "overhaul" once in a while .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 I might need help on that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched November 30, 2007 Share November 30, 2007 (edited) Nowsaday HDD so cheap... allocate 50G for OS, maybe can run faster and more stable. Eh, let me know if the laptop by starhub is good a not. What brand is it btw? I tot of getting a Fujitsu myself but warned by my colleague that Fujitsu the dvd drive is using masus-h-i-t-a (maybe wrong spelling, but think u should have heard of it b4) and it is 'region coded' and cannot read pirated and some burn-ed dvd.... He spit saliva on the ground liao Edited November 30, 2007 by Gantan88 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...