Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?

Guyver

Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?  

157 members have voted

1. 1.

• I'm on Windows Vista.
    • I'm still on Windows XP or earlier OS.
    • I'm on Linux.
    • I'm on Mac
    • Others, if any, please specify.

counterstrike no need directx10.

wear out faster because the hard disk spins more, which induces cyclic redundancy error/bad sectors etc.

wear out faster because processor is always doing something = constantly hotter = slower eventually

Ok ... noted.

Now ... I am going to do the migration from Vista to XP ...

Wish me luck with all the XP drivers ...... [sweatdrop]

um, migration? I hope you dont mean the windows migration program. coz they don't allow you to upgrade from vista to xp.

Siao liao ... migration is done ...

But just can't find the XP driver for Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter driver ... [bigcry][bigcry]

Yah ... from what I heard ... if you open too many tabs on your browser .... it would be very slow liao.

But now I got about 90 tabs opened ... still ok under XP ... sweatdrop.gif

wah wat u surfing man... 90 tabs u can keep track ah...

anyways as for the RAM, if ur ntoebook supports dual channel rams... using 2 of the exact same RAM will process faster. for me i'm using 2 x 2G ram... smooth.

as for the win explorer being slow if u open many tabs, i suspect it's more to do with IE7 itself than on the OS, cos i've IE7 on my Win XP i IE& alwasys hangs when i open too many tabs... bugs...

i find ie7 a bit lagging. downgraded back ie6. Anyway maybe guyver downloading some good stuff, that why he has 90 tabs on his IE [shocked]

now is Duo Core 2 liaoz..

u @ Duo Core 1...

Nevermind lah .... I don't need so much computing power.

i tot now is quad core? [sly]

Windows Aero offloads a lot of the onscreen rendering and processing requirements from the CPU to the GPU, freeing your system's microprocessor for other tasks.

Windows Vista is a bloated pig of an operating system. In fact, compared to Windows XP with Service Pack 2 or 3, Vista requires roughly twice the hardware resources to deliver comparable performance.

From MS:

We

Version: 7.4.2.111 Date: 21.04.2008

File: xp3264-7.4.2.111-whql.zip Downloaded: 48747

Yah .. but can't work ... don't understand why ...

Notebook model is Presario A900 ... exact model is A906TU.

Wifi is Atheros AR5007, Audio is Conexant High Definition SmartAudio 221 and the rest .... I could live with whatever that works now .....

Basically the notebook is slower because vista takes up more memory and processing power for all the pretty graphics.

And at the same time this is because of the high hardware requirements of vista matched with current notebook specs actually cause the notebooks with vista to actually be slower than ones equipped with windows xp.

So therefore its like getting a bigger pump but using a smaller pipe.

The results are at best no change from the previous setup.

Thats what people refers as "good to see but not good to use".

Cheers.

Back to those days .... when we have 128MB ram .... it was ok ...

Then we upgrade to 256MB ... wah ... very good.

Then we upgrade to 512MB ... wah ... very good.

Now we upgraded to 2GB ... wah very good.

Then now upgrade to 3GB with Vista .... no good. [laugh][laugh]