Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?

Guyver

Feedback on Windows Vista - Good? or Stick with Windows XP?  

157 members have voted

1. 1.

• I'm on Windows Vista.
    • I'm still on Windows XP or earlier OS.
    • I'm on Linux.
    • I'm on Mac
    • Others, if any, please specify.

i bot a laptop and given 2 sticks of ram, 1 gig each.

later realised only 2 ram slots in the laptop.

now i have 1 extra ram stick...

anyone interested?? sell u ...

err.. in today's standard, that's the most entry level for a notebook.. can buy one @ <$1000..

pc show selling one such acer notebook @ $860+....

your processor is quite old le..

Yah ... I know .... but it is an ok processor.

Anyway, don't use that much of the computing power.

now is Duo Core 2 liaoz..

u @ Duo Core 1...

Nevermind lah .... I don't need so much computing power.

Wat do u think man?

I really don't know ....

Now trying the Vista Home basic on the new notebook .... like slower leh.

haha then yes lor... from wat I know its uses double ram than XP.. think also more slow when u want to open more applications at the same time...

Yah ... from what I heard ... if you open too many tabs on your browser .... it would be very slow liao.

But now I got about 90 tabs opened ... still ok under XP ... [sweatdrop]

that is why I still prefer XP.. then heard that XP is going to stay.. more and more UMPC with XP is in will come out later with cheaper price [thumbsup] I wil wait ...haha just enjoy your new lappy ba..

Yah ... from what I heard ... if you open too many tabs on your browser .... it would be very slow liao.

But now I got about 90 tabs opened ... still ok under XP ... sweatdrop.gif

wah wat u surfing man... 90 tabs u can keep track ah...

anyways as for the RAM, if ur ntoebook supports dual channel rams... using 2 of the exact same RAM will process faster. for me i'm using 2 x 2G ram... smooth.

as for the win explorer being slow if u open many tabs, i suspect it's more to do with IE7 itself than on the OS, cos i've IE7 on my Win XP i IE& alwasys hangs when i open too many tabs... bugs...

Your com will wear out faster.

When my vista 'idles', I see the HDD/processor actually working furiously in the background, especially if you enable aeroglass (fancy see-through) effect - their activity lights can be fully lit (not just blinking) the whole time. I guess they have no choice but to give domestic users a feel of 'fast' when using vista but making the computer spool at all times so that it does not lag should a user wake his com up from idling suddenly.

And x64 seems very troublesome when it comes to finding compliant softwares.

They are also very helpful, and persist on asking Cancel or Allow for every single problem. can be turned off but it's kinda retarded.

If you are a serious gamer you may want to try vista. Only vista can use directx10 atm.

I kinda gave up on vista though.

goodbyekt2.jpg

Edited by Karebu

Actually I intend to change the 1GB ram to a 2GB one ....

So I'll have the "Ultimate" power ... hee hee.

that is why I still prefer XP.. then heard that XP is going to stay.. more and more UMPC with XP is in will come out later with cheaper price [thumbsup] I wil wait ...haha just enjoy your new lappy ba..

I'm now surfing using the Vista ... but it seems to be lagging abit.

What I am afraid about migrating back to XP is that skali like the Starhub notebook that I got ... went through hell just to get everything running properly under XP.

I have already burn a copy of the restore CD.

So I'll be starting the migration shortly ... [nod][nod]

But now I got about 90 tabs opened ... still ok under XP ... sweatdrop.gif

wah wat u surfing man... 90 tabs u can keep track ah...

anyways as for the RAM, if ur ntoebook supports dual channel rams... using 2 of the exact same RAM will process faster. for me i'm using 2 x 2G ram... smooth.

as for the win explorer being slow if u open many tabs, i suspect it's more to do with IE7 itself than on the OS, cos i've IE7 on my Win XP i IE& alwasys hangs when i open too many tabs... bugs...

I suppose it could support Dual Channel ... but anyway I should be upgrading it to 2 x 2GB ram soon.

Yah .... can track abit lah ....

Even as I am typing all this under Vista using Firefor ... there is a lag.

Your com will wear out faster.

When my vista 'idles', I see the HDD/processor actually working furiously in the background, especially if you enable aeroglass (fancy see-through) effect - their activity lights can be fully lit (not just blinking) the whole time. I guess they have no choice but to give domestic users a feel of 'fast' when using vista but making the computer spool at all times so that it does not lag should a user wake his com up from idling suddenly.

And x64 seems very troublesome when it comes to finding compliant softwares.

They are also very helpful, and persist on asking Cancel or Allow for every single problem. can be turned off but it's kinda retarded.

If you are a serious gamer you may want to try vista. Only vista can use directx10 atm.

I kinda gave up on vista though.

goodbyekt2.jpg

What do you mean by the com will wear out faster?

I am an amateur gamer ..... the only game I play now is CounterStrike .....

Give me XP anytime...regardless of hardware specs

Newer doesn't mean it's better.

Ok ... "I'll be back .." ..... [nod][nod]