Simplyme Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 I dono how to solve anyone noes? Taken from http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STI...62.html?vgnmr=1 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 i onchi K2 ellucatioin....never proceed to stulee...so i dunch kno Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 is the answer to a) 14?? me still working on the other 2 though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hctan Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Wau lau, sibeh cheem My boy will be taking PSLE in 2 years time, really worry for him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 For Q1: 156-X = 4(72-X) For Q3: 60*40*50=X*40*(50+70) For Q2: A little tough though. Need some time to think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comfy 1st Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 don't worry too much about it la.. i'm sure if your boy is well prepared then it should not be a big problem.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Quite simple to solve right? 1st one: (156 - x)/(72 - x) = 4 x = 44kg 2nd one: 6x/14 = x/2 - 112 x =1568 chairs 3rd one: total volume = 0.12 cubic metres so 0.5(0.4x) + 0.7(0.4x) = 0.12 x = 25cm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hctan Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Hopefully lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Author Share October 22, 2007 I m not very sure but i believe porker is rite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 the answer is flipped over at the end of the attachment but its the process of getting it that is important... anyway.. got more to share anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyy2 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 (edited) Think we can't use algebra for PSLE questions. Dun think Algebra was taught in Primary sch ... but these questions very chimp. Edited October 22, 2007 by Andyy2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Author Share October 22, 2007 i think they oli post out 3 qns ... porker ur math v gd hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Really? Thought they started teaching algebra already? Anyway who cares I'm out of it already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplyme Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Author Share October 22, 2007 PSLE no algebra meh I tot have Primary sch maths oso v chem now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unic 1st Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 For Q1: 156-X = 4(72-X) For Q3: 60*40*50=X*40*(50+70) For Q2: A little tough though. Need some time to think I don't think they are allowed to use variable. That's the tough part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Which method they teach then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyy2 Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Dun see any algebra in their text few years back when i trying to teach my nephew. dun tell me they had introduce for our poor kids now... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Quite simple to solve right? 1st one: (156 - x)/(72 - x) = 4 x = 44kg 2nd one: 6x/14 = x/2 - 112 x =1568 chairs 3rd one: total volume = 0.12 cubic metres so 0.5(0.4x) + 0.7(0.4x) = 0.12 x = 25cm they are not allow to use algerbra to solve these problems....so your x,y,z solutions will be rejected. I think they draw boxes and stretches to solve it. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...