Maroon5 5th Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 I have recently bought a new car & installed Solar Film...During the installation, there was no cut out for the IU which made me slightly concern due to detection problems... The installers assured me that detection of the IU was not a problem & so I believed them since they are reputable...Sure enough the ERP gantry was not a problem, but some car parks were unable to detect the IU... For those Car Parks unable to detect, it is always during the exit, never the entrance...Why is this so?...Does anyone encounter this same problem?... never encountered your problems...mine also no cut out for the IU.. best go back to the installer and check.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 I have recently bought a new car & installed Solar Film...During the installation, there was no cut out for the IU which made me slightly concern due to detection problems... The installers assured me that detection of the IU was not a problem & so I believed them since they are reputable...Sure enough the ERP gantry was not a problem, but some car parks were unable to detect the IU... For those Car Parks unable to detect, it is always during the exit, never the entrance...Why is this so?...Does anyone encounter this same problem?... Sometimes not because of Unit cant be detected ...some doo doo bird dont know how to align the car to the detector... yesterday one doo doo bird hag held up traffic cos her car exceeded (moved too fast) the detector's range ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Author Share October 23, 2007 My car is definatly aligned...Guarantee + Chop... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 23, 2007 Author Share October 23, 2007 Anyway...thank you guys for your help... After some deliberation, think I'll try a new cash card first & see how... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melissa 1st Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Hey im having the same prob too, its also during exiting. I know the reason being. you can PM me, if you still havent found the reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Lights passing through the glass & reflection cause by the film, that's the problem. Certain car parks (like T Payoh Central) install spot lights (white light like those HID light) to shine onto the windscreen so as the reader able to read your IU. Those readers install under shade take a longer time to read your IU while those under open air read faster. Huh? I thought the IU uses RF so light is not an issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 23, 2007 Share October 23, 2007 No lah ... i know why...the penetration of the RF from the detector's inherent high-frequency resonance cone was bent by his car's super engine which acts as an inhomogeneous magnetoplasma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 24, 2007 Author Share October 24, 2007 Wah Lau Ehh...You *Swan* me har?...its a Genuine problem leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Yes, ERP uses RF technology which is very close to bluetooth frequency. If you dun notice you can try placing a low value cashcard which makes your ERP beep to remind you and you activate your bluetooth device and it will beep like it is being detected by ERP gantries. Some films do affect the performance of the ERP unit as it blocks or hinders the RF reading of the units. Mostly it is metallic films. Light has no or very little effect on RF frequencies la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 Dun need to tell me lah Thats what i was telling the other poster (but in much less words ) Anyway I suspect that this problem is occuring because of an interference issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie October 24, 2007 Share October 24, 2007 I am saying got interference lah ... not suan u ..suan the person who said the glass will bend the RF hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...