Motorists giving way to buses has reduced a passenger

Shull

SINGAPORE : A simple act of motorists giving way to buses has reduced a passenger

Edited by Shull

bro, giving way is different from bus lanes...

but yes, empty bus lanes are wasting resources.. many times lanes 1 and 2 jammed up but lane 3 clear, and no bus on sight..

forgot to add..

if they give 1 yr free supply of petrol instead of the pathetic $10 petrol voucher..i think alot of people sure give way one..

hmmm...giving way to bus when I am at safe speed is ok...but not when the driver poke the wheels out of the bus bay (bus stop) and thus encroach into the adjacent lane dangerously even though you are very close by.......poor judgement or what?? these drivers need to be [rifle]

anyway, i complained before..all I get is a reply that "the bus captain will be reprimanded", NB.....

you MUST demand an apology from them leh..say you will settle for nothing less than a formal letter of apology..

but ah, you also cannot do anything..LLST lor

ya man.. give way leow then got stuck behind the slow bus...the time (and $$$ equivalent) spent easily exceeds that measly $10 bucks

anyway, i seldom go behind buses or their lanes..

bah..i seldom give way to busses exiting bus bays unless traffic really slow that i am travelling at [:p][:p]

sometimes i dun blame them for poking their wheels out slowly.. how many motorists actually give way, or let them come out? with full passengers they also can't zuah the pedal.. so by poking out bit by bit, eventually get enough space where the oncoming vehicle lan lan got to give way, then they can drive out..

i know, cos my mom used to drive a bus [;)]

i think bus drivers also know lah.. oncoming traffic so fast, driving out like that is asking for trouble..

anyway, i think perhaps they could implement something like ambulances and do away with bus lanes.

if a bus come up behind at the lane 3 (assuming 3-lane road), those on that lane would siam. if no bus, then use the lanes freely.

that will fully utilise the road space [thumbsup]

it is too dangerous to do that....what if the cars don't give way? I think the bus drivers are trying to "scare" the cars driver with sheer size...

in event of accident, the load of passengers will get injured...the so called bus captain must be safety conscious..safety first...usually, if I think I have to step brake, I won't give way and flash..however, if less than 40km/h like what one of the bros say, I will slow down...

I agree fully with you. My opinion has always been this - bus captains are trying to take advantage of the situation in which cars should give way to buses. There are many a times when I was driving on the left most lane, most of the time to turn left at a nearby junction, when these idiots simply try to come out onto the lane I was in. All this even after I signalled left [mad] Why I'm unhappy is that my family was in the car with me when these incidents happened!

Bus captains SHOULD be educated on when and how to enter safely onto the road. It should be a privilege for them, NOT A RIGHT!!! [mad] Anyone think that a letter to the ST Forums will help???

i doubt any cars would be able to cause much damage to bus unless one drives one of those xb plate type......(cememt mixer lah, trailer lah....)

i think xb stands for extra big [laugh][laugh][laugh]