Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 agreed... oh one thing to add, tried pushing the car a bit on a wet evening on tue, can feel the tyre gripping rather well ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Did a search on GR80 and found that the AQ Donut II it is utilising got mention silica.. so think should have. Seems that Bridgestone doesn't like to use the word silica much.. I'm interested in your view of how K415 compares against GR80, tho i understand u have only tried them both on different cars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 AQ Donut II is GR80? hmmm that i dunno yes indeed, my dad's ride is an Altis using GR80 it's 185/70/r14 well, GR80 is quiet. this trait is shared with K415. however, as i reckoned quietness of the tyres will disappear after a period of time/ mileage. so i will see how the tyre fare after 5000 and 10000. thus far, GR80 on my dad after abt 15K km is still quiet (or is it Altis has good sound proofing? ) grip... this is a bit tough. why? i dun whack my dad's car lor! however, this sat morning i will bring his car out for servicing. then perhaps i can tell u more after that. however, since it's an Altis and my ride been a Presea, i dun reckon the cars are meant to push the tyres to its limit. hence, it's the comfort and low noise with relatively good grip on normal traveling speed that are impt. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robertoon Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Share October 18, 2007 Bro, i miss you coming to change yr tyres.... I just dislike Hankook tyre wear rate...too high mileage for Singapore usage...Iam starving... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 18, 2007 Author Share October 18, 2007 good for customer bad for boss like yourself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 Now that you mentioned it. I found that Hankook tyres out last their equivalent competitors. For example, I know of many who use R-S2 on Sepang, PG & street on the same set. A few already >1yr and still on them, out last the AD07 they were on previously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garycsy Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 had been considering between K415 and GR80 for sometime,and finally go for K415 as the price is quite competitive. For me the prices quoted was K415 $1 ea higher than GR80 so it's not too competitive enough to sway me to try . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Author Share October 19, 2007 well bro, to each his own if u think $1 more is too high then it's fine for u to try GR80. cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 GR80 is not the best tire ok.. I am on gr80 for past 30000km. 1 tire ripped open at sidewall when whole set was just at near 20000km while I was parallel parking n kanna kerb, have to waste $ buying 1 more gr80, its too soft. my previous set of Hankook k406 lasted me into 60000km without any issue, still can go somemore, ijus prefer to change out at 60k. gonna try k416 next. not goin bk to gr80 liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 19, 2007 Share October 19, 2007 Isn't K415 the replacement for K406? Yeah, GR80 is over rated just bec of BS name Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garycsy Neutral Newbie October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 i din say that GR80 is the best tires. i am just comparing it with K415 becos it's offered as an alternative to GR80 & V8 cos same categories of low noise tires. I wanted to choose V8 instead of GR80 but they don't have size 185/60/R14 and offered my the K415 instead. so given a choice of a trial and tested tires of GR80/V8 vs a brand new model k415 which is yet to pass the durability and time test at the same price, i choose 1 that is time-tested. To me the grip is also of importance, that's why i change to BF goodrich sports from yoko aspec db, it is super noisy but i endured it for coming to 2 yrs cos of the super good grip. and the fact that it is cheap $62.50 ea... now i wish to find a balance between low noise and decent grip, found v8 but no size so i go for the other alternative GR80. if K415 can prove to be as lasting as v8 or even more lasting than GR80 over the next 2 yrs then i wouldn't mind paying $10 more ea... if u read all the threads about GR80, V8, u will see that there are people who are supportive of each tires. u say GR80 is not the best and yet some say V8 is over-rated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 Hi, is the K415 stock tyres for Hyundai Avante? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limlien Clutched October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 I think give you $2 dollar cheaper u also wont be sway to try lah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keen 1st Gear October 20, 2007 Share October 20, 2007 yup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robertoon Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 yes its the oem for Avante Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garycsy Neutral Newbie October 21, 2007 Share October 21, 2007 if $2 to u is a small sum, then good for u! it's so nice to be rich until u can dun bother about dollar & cents. but i am not that rich yet, so i hate to waste money. so u are on Hankook K415 tyres? how long u have been using it and any review? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geogeo Neutral Newbie October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 Hi Robertoon .. can PM me price for K415 on 185/65/15 & 195/60/15? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear October 22, 2007 Share October 22, 2007 can I have the price for V8 & K415, 195/60/15 Thx ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...