Hankook K415

Jonbummer

Silica filler is an old technology. They have been around for ages and most tyres would have silica filler or some other fillers in them. Rubber used in tyres are always filled to achieve the desired mechanical and thermal properties.

I don't mean that silica fillers are no good. They work great. But a number of tyre makers do not "sell" this feature. It is almost taken for granted that the tyre will contain silica or some other filler in them.

Edited by Scaglietti

robertoon, you have V12 for 225/45/R17 now? can pm me the price if you have it. thanks

yup, i understand it's use for most racing car, kart tyres.

i will refrain to assume silica to be in all tyre...

i'm not saying Hankook is the best with silica or otherwise.

but the fact the if a company can save by Not putting

something into their products cos others take it for granted

it's in, i think they will...

anyway, all's my personal opinion nia

Silica are very commonly used in rubber and the cost is not high. Silica has become more like standard as filler. However, recently there has been development of silica technology to improve the dispersion of the silica in the rubber and also better coupling between rubber and the silica filler. This are so called "high performance" silica filler which is a improvement over the original silica. They are used in high performace tyres as well as "green tyres".

IMO, having "silica" in the brouchure is no big deal, and is just a marketig thing. Brigdestone is only "selling" their Particle Z which says "Particle Z provides better grip in the wet than a silica compound". (I suspect Particle Z refers to Rhodia Silcea's Zeosil

true true... i agreed with wat u said.

it's probably just a marketing thing.

so, for people like me who do not have as much knowledge as u

in tyre compounds will be 'tricked' into think it's very good

when it's mentioned in the product specs.

cos wat i dun see or read, i do not know.

i'm not saying other brands which do not have silica On Paper

is not good.

it's merely that i wld like to think i had purchased something based

on information i can get my hands on. if the info i gotten do not

state something, i dun assume the something is there.

[:)]

but good to learn something new today, Particle Z will be my next target!

[;)]

Edited by Jonbummer

ya, i think the silica is the 'magic' compound making tyres

good.

good in wet, and lower rolling resistance

if V8 is more exp, just take K415. i think it's just as good.

[;)]

i wanted to take V8 previously, but do not have R14

[:p]

maybe the local agent didnt bring in certain sizes.

wet season is here again. [flowerface][flowerface]

Bro, what about DZ101 and GIII compare with K415? Started my ride with DZ101. Changed after 30K to GIII. However, still find DZ101 better than GIII in cornering (harder side wall) and in wet conditions. Proven in going up Cameron and Genting plus daily driving. GIII done over 30K liao and still can do another 10K as wear rate is better than DZ101. Think of changing them soon as near two years liao [;)] . As you know I hardly drive for the past few years and my wife is the main driver, even she can tell me DZ101 is much better than GIII [sly]

Edited by Wish186

Still driving cause wifey use to it liao [:)]

Am asking cause wanna know any bro here has tried either the DZ101 or GIII and the K415 so that I can have some feedbacks. Now more active reading from this MCF than TWCS [lipsrsealed]

yo man. not tried DZ or GIII before. but agree with you that DZ good in wet. this is the feedback i gathered too.

i am using V8 currently. i am gathering info on K415 as one of my buddy is looking ard to change tyres.

wow, looks like your wifey getting more expert in her driving. [laugh]

for V8 and K415, i reckon they are comfy tyres. good in wet. suitable for your wish and family use lah. [;)]

let me know if you want to sit in my car to see how the V8s feel.

This Friday will you be at the meetup? Then bring my wife and kids along [:)]

Thought of changing before I fly off again next mth ;)

DZ101 better for cornering even it's high profile. last time i use 195/55/15 i can corner without jerks but now on V8 205/45/16 got jerks at the same speed. cos use to those bend at shagari-la always play around there.

with DZ no jerk or jump with V8 got jump sometimes even after run in.

noise wise V8 still new so donno yet but grip and all almost same as DZ. stiffness i cannot compare cos lower profile sure harder but almost same cos DZ is hard sidewall. :)

wet grip haven't have chance cos nowdays seldom rain. hai want test also no chance.

dry it's the same! grippy whoooo shiok onli dislike is the jump when corner.

hope can help u make your choice.