Mustank Hypersonic October 15, 2007 Share October 15, 2007 Current situation: I got a panasonic camcorder with 3 CCD and Leica lens, medium of storage is dv tape i am using a dvd recorder to convert the video into dvds Interest: i am interested in the new HD technology...sony sure know how to market their hd stuff...."your memories cannot wait" question: i understand that a couple of brands carry HD camcorders but i am not sure what are the equipment required to convert the video captured into a "certain medium of storage". I am also unsure of the medium of storage as I am not sure whether one can burn HD video files unto a DVD or one would need a blue ray disc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 can anyone help me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chaihot5 Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 (edited) Depending on your preference. Sony as you know got 3 types of medium for their HD dvd cam the normal dv tape, dvd disc and harddisk. Since you want to edit your videos on your computer. I suggest spending on the harddisk version cos it's hassle free transfering the videos from the camcorder to your computer. Dvd disc is cheaper than the harddisk version and u can straight away play it on your normal dvd player after recording. Transfering of video files is same like the harddisk. Sony will couple with video editing tools on all their videocams so u won't have to find 3rd party software to compliment unless u want your videos to look professional. Hope this helps Cheers Edited October 17, 2007 by Chaihot5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wadexu 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 was searching for a new camcoder to replace my Sony Hi-8mm tape one, finally drop the ideal of HD. part of reason is of higer price. part of the reason is of wondering how to handle the large data size of HD format. One hour reacording need around 10-20GB space... So still stick to the normal standard, regarding the medium of storage, i think it not depends weather it's HD or not. I personal like the harddisk one. Hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sienta Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 Currently don't have the software to burn HD video. HD resolution is much higher than DVD resolution. Those with HD camcorder will have to use their camcorder to view it on TV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 this is the part i am concerned about.... i heard that currently we do not have the tehcnology (for consumer) to convert the HD video files unto maybe DVD or blueray discs...... so like what you said: we have the HD camcorders, we have the HD TV, but we don't have a HD recorder...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 agree man!!!! i doubt with HD, the normal DVD can still be used.... make no sense to record half an hour unto each dvd..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 if i get the HD camcorder, i will confirm record at the highest reso possible.... so i confirm wouldnt get the dvd type....(got to change disc every 25 or 30 mins) i don need to edit the videos, but i just need a quick and easy method to burn unto some storage medium (like dvd recorder) but i heard there is no hd dvd/blueray recorder on the market (this seems to be the bottleneck to HD) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mouse Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 It is available liao. software: http://www.nero.com/ena/nero8-introduction.html hardware: LG GBW-H10N (4x Blu-ray Writer), I think pioneer is coming out one as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mouse Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 to used on a DVD, u have to do conversion of format from the HD source. afterthat, you will probably need 2-3 DVD to write the files. I did it for HD DVD movies before, after stripping the subtitles and rest of other useless stuff, it fit in just nice on a DL DVD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 thanks man!!!! wow the burner cost 700 but in us$ i think i do a bit more waiting.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mouse Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 (edited) Gonna be a long wait.. dun tok abt writers..juz look at the players (HD DVD & Blu ray)..we r so pathetic that most of us can only rely on gaming console (xbox360 n Sony PS3) to play our high def videos. ***Bcos of warranty issue, this kinda of electronics stuff, I will prefer to buy from local shop as compared to buying via online. Edited October 17, 2007 by Mouse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 yah....i heard about this too.... my firend bought the 300 blueray and use his ps3 to play the video.....he told me it is the cheapest blueray player..... dman....sony sell hd must sell the whole set lah....sell the camcorder and tv but storage and playing devices so lagging behind.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafira18 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 bro, i'm using sony dvd type HD camcorder, no regrets man...There's plenty of SW for editing, just look for something that accept AVCHD codec. FYI, only 15mins of recording time on single layer mini dvd and for LP, can stretch close to 30min. Anyway, i chosen dvd type cos the media is cheap and probably i got to keep them for a couple of years before bluray burner/rom become more affordable... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mouse Neutral Newbie October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 what kinda of resolution r u getting?(for the recorded video) 1080i or 1080p? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafira18 1st Gear October 17, 2007 Share October 17, 2007 1080i..in fact 1440 x 1080....anyway, my LCD tV is not a full HD... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 17, 2007 Author Share October 17, 2007 thanks for responding one of my firends did suggest that i can buy the harddisk type then keep the files in the comp hardisk instead of blueray as it is too expensive now.... but i record about an hour a week....so i would need a few very big harddisk..... so not feasible..... i think i would stick to standard definition for now.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...