14 October 2007 @ ~7.05pm: Accident along the junction where Punggol Road meets Buangkok Dr

Ad23

I was just wondering if any bros passed by this area earlier today at about 7.10pm?

I was there earlier but I don't know what happened.

I just saw 2 vans, 1 merc and a pedestrian.

1 van was a yellow Kangoo and the other was a white Nissan Urvan. The Kangoo was pretty badly smashed up and I could see the firefighters trying to extricate the driver. I'm not sure if the driver is alive or if there is another passenger trapped inside the van. The white nissan van fell sideways and I'm also unsure if there was anyone trapped inside.

The dark blue Merc had a dent on the right side of its front bumper and there was a person lying down there motionless. No one was attending to him and therefore I assume he must have passed away. There were many onlookers at the scene and 1 good samaritan came forward to help the firefighters extricate the driver from the yellow van. I couldn't stop to help as I would worsen the traffic jam and I figured I wouldn't be able to do much as well.

I passed by the area again on my way home and the vehicles were still there. I was just wondering if anyone saw what happened and if all the drivers involved are ok?

To witness something like that just kinda dampens your day. [smallcry] I just hope all the people involved are fine.

Edited by Ad23

sweatdrop.gif...hope the parties involved are fine...

esp the kangoo driver..since me is driving the same make as him sweatdrop.gif

how bout the white nissan urvan(supposingly the name of the van)

did u see the driver sweatdrop.gif...

and the merc driver ...passed away sweatdrop.gif....while the car had juz a dent...sweatdrop.gif

and hearing bout it realli saddens one...

me heard of 2 other accidents witnessed by someone else this morning..

one leading on the way to changi..the other leading to sle...

both on tpe...so its the 3rd accident me heard today sweatdrop.gif

sorry bro.

I think my original post was a little misleading. The merc driver didn't pass away ... I don't think he did. The good samaritan whom I was talking about could very well have been the merc driver. I can't say for sure ... but it's really sad to witness such things.

And yea bro .. when I saw the Kangoo .. I was thinking if he was a bro from EVC cause his rims were a little special. I thought I saw someone posting some pics of their rims in EVC before but I am not 100% sure. Just hope the driver is alright.

sweatdrop.gif...bro..ur words are realli misleading indeed sweatdrop.gif....

and hope its not a bro from EVC or KCS ...sweatdrop.gif...

as for rims...all rims are steel rims...

as for sport rims...they are manufacturer approved one hor sly.gif

sweatdrop.gif..cant help but wonder whose yellow goo is this sweatdrop.gif...

thnk god is not urs....sweatdrop.gif...and majority of us are on steel rims..

so wonder who this fella is sweatdrop.gif

2 out of 3 vehicles involved are G-plate.

People may argue, but it is solely my opinion (you can't argue with that) that light goods vehicles of late have been getting more and more out of hand.

It is not the Eurovan modder types - those have toned down a lot. You know, the kind that has neon lights, loud music, lowered suspension, bucket seats and sports rims. In fact I applaud the Eurovan and Goo clubs for cleaning up their image (if not everybody's eyes, then in my eyes).

Nowadays even workvans drive around at the same pace as I on the expressway. If I am a devil for going 10kph over, they are going 30-40 kph over their limit (which the sticker on the back says 60 or 70kph). Mind you, this is not short bursts, this is sustained (all the way down KJE).

I was driving conservatively cruising at 80kph on the middle lane, trying to save fuel ($1.744 per liter!!!), one came up and tailgated me for a bit, then passed me on the 1st lane. OK lah, I should mind my own business, but with things becoming monkey-see-monkey-do it will not take long before I get involved in some kind of incident with one of these sort of drivers.

I am all for the authorities to come down hard on these errant van drivers (before you MCF van drivers get huffy at me, I'm just talking about the bad ones. If you get pissed off at me, then I guess I was referring to people like you).

I think maybe living in SG is way too stress.

I have various kinds of vans in all forms challenging my ride.

Siao bo ... SUV with 4WD doesn't mean my bhp is 1000. [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Part & parcel of driving in SGP.

I see wher u'r coming from.

But the thing about commercial van is that the driver, most of them, are not the owner. They dun bare the fuel cost, expenses etc like u & me. Instead they get paid. [:p][laugh]

So depending on ones mentality, some of them couldn't be bothered and drive like they ... u know lah. If anything happens it'll cost their rice-bowl too.

I know some of them have a lot of deliveries to make in a day. They hardly have time to have their meals and often have to go home very late. Very often u'll see ppl complain about their things/food delivered late or being delayed just like the accident on fast food delivery seen in Stomp, it cost him his life.

It's better for ppl to find out the reason first b4 they make their comments or complaints.

it was published in today's straits times... both accidents including the lotus crashing along clementi was being reported.

A THREE-VEHICLE collision at the junction of Buangkok Drive and Punggol Road on Sunday evening left two women dead.

Miss Yeo Moi Liang was crossing the road at a pedestrian crossing at about 7pm when a yellow Renault Kangoo van came hurtling towards her, sandwiching her between it and a Mercedes- Benz, which was waiting for the light to turn in its favour.

The Kangoo was already in another crash seconds before, with a catering company van, which ended up lying on its side.

Miss Yeo and Madam Lai Foong Mei, the passenger in the Kangoo, both residents in the area, died in Changi General Hospital before their families could get to them.

The driver of the Kangoo and the two occupants of the catering company van escaped with minor injuries, while the lone driver of the Mercedes-Benz was unhurt.

All four men are helping the police with investigations.

Visits by The Straits Times to the families of the dead women turned up sketches of individuals who enjoyed the company of friends and were seldom bored.

That evening, Madam Lai, 41, was on her way to dinner with friends, while Miss Yeo, 53, was returning home from choir practice.

The younger woman's distraught husband, Mr Tan Boon Teck, 48, who yesterday described his hairdresser wife as sociable, said she left their Hougang Street 31 home after 6pm that day, while he went with their two sons aged 10 and six to his mother's place for dinner.

He did not know who she was meeting, nor did he know the man she was with.

Madam Lai's last words to her husband were to remind him to repair her dressing table.

Mr Tan, an executive in an import and export company, said he got down to the task just before 9pm.

'Little did I know she was already dead by that time,' he said, as he struggled to compose himself.

Alarm bells started ringing when she was still not home two hours later. He called her several times on her cellphone but she never took the calls.

Shortly after, two policemen came to the family home with the bad news.

He said: 'I didn't even get to say goodbye to her. When I saw her in the hospital, she was already dead.'

Miss Yeo's family also did not get to bid farewell to the single woman who did accounts-related work.

She was described as fiercely independent with a love for learning new things.

Her 26-year-old niece, a nurse who gave her name only as Jinny, said the family were wondering why she was so late getting home when the police called.

The family rushed to the hospital, but were too late.

At the wake at the foot of Block 413, Hougang Avenue 10 where Miss Yeo lived with her parents, her niece said her aunt was always on the move, and jetted overseas a few times a year on holiday - Europe, Egypt and India, she had seen them all.

Jinny said her aunt would have completed a traditional Chinese medicine course before the year end, and had just scored 'above average' in exams that ended last week.

Wushu was next on her 'to- do' list, said her younger sister Yeo Hee Khong, 50.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_167408.html

post-1-1192500371_thumb.jpg

one kind of rice, can feed million types of people...

some are chongsters, some are just trying to make ends meet... some at the expense of safety on themselves and others... shakehead.gifshakehead.gif

i am starting to see commerical vehicles on LANE 1 shocked.gifshocked.gifshocked.gif

anyone else??

I was driving conservatively cruising at 80kph on the middle lane, trying to save fuel ($1.744 per liter!!!), one came up and tailgated me for a bit

Have encountered a few of these and at times even those middle sized trucks [:|]

If they bang onto me, may their 'Sin' aka God bless them [cool]

I've came across some of them. In fact, more is the last few days. Not only those goods van but also lorries going above 100kmh... [sweatdrop]