Kazu Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 can't find a lot of online information on this, need some advice/feedback on the following: 1. Any interesting websites to check out? 2. Any recommended brands/models? 3. Recommended shops/retailers? Don't mind paying for quality but $5k is max for a watch to me. Can tell time, look nice can liao! Thanks in advance! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 u looking for digital? analogue? chrono? metal strap? etc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazu Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Author Share October 11, 2007 analogue, metal strap... think probably something with a black dial and dark/black metal strap but have an open mind lah, as long looks good can liao.. hehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shemmy Clutched October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Try try breitling with that budget.. Go Hour Glass.. Try for anything above 30% discount Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 u going for classy yet sporty rite? wads ur budget? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Wah liao. Kazu is like saying go recommend him a car, got roof, 4 door and 4 wheels budget up to 100k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charlieliu Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 Try Rado. Very classic and cool looking. Can find in shops in Bencoolen (near Kwang Inn Temple). Though the shops are not upmarket, this watch is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 You handphone got time? You car got clock?? The person next to your wears a watch? The shophouse display a clock?? Your mobile phone can call 1711...... no need to buy watch.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wmatt76 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 try this http://forums.watchuseek.com 5K can get you some reasonable entry like omega, breitling, oris, sinn, tag, longines Longines just came out their new series like hydroconquest etc. Pay a bit more can get a bit higher end like IWC, Bell and ross Rado i heard its made from graphite, break easily when drop Something different will be cartier santos chrono series, square face expect to pay more than 10K If you are paying by cash, can ask for more discount. i think SE will be willing to lower between 2-5% on top of their listed discount. Happy shopping!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 (edited) If u notice the SEARCH option in MCF website u will find plenty. I guess u dunno how to use search engine like google or yahoo also. If u walk around Orchard Road shopping malls, u will see plenty of watch boutiques. Since your budget is 5k, dun be shy, walk in and look around, FOC one. Edited October 12, 2007 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 If you don't mind paying a bit more...I recommend the Rolex GMT Master II...I don't know the market price for it now, but a few years back, I got it for $6K-$7K...I think...not too sure...you will have to check it out for yourself. The watch is Automatic...Dual Time...very reliable & most importantly Modest looking, so you won't kena rob...especially overseas...try to get the one with a black face & dial...so it will look Lagi Modest...you can get the Stainless Steel model for a good price if you bargain well...this watch should last you a life time if you care for it well... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spawnstar 1st Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 Sinn UTC , Bell & Ross BR Series , Chopard Mille Miglia Gran Turismo are some of the watches u can look at . For pricing and different model , you can check out this site http://www.svs-intertrade.com which is a slightly cheaper but do not sell to local. Add about extra 10-15% and you have a gauge how much the watch is if you buy it in HG , Cortina. Or you can check out pre-owned , look at passions and visiotime I am sure there are some MCFers have good contact with these boutique and can get you a better discount. Post for help once you decide what you want and see any bros can help with the discount. The fun part is searching for the watch you want .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miketow Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 yah man - the fun is in the searching! Buy oredi sian - so sell and then search again!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 aiya..... find watch oso muz do homework de ma. stuff like these are ' investments' hahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 Rolex Oyster stainless steel sports series (GMT-Master, Submariner, Explorer II) is one of the most recognised (and most copied) sports watches in the world, my friend. It's probaly the ONLY watch that sells well above the RRP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazu Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Author Share October 12, 2007 thanks for all the replies and feedback! tried searching this forum but can't seem to find a thread that is as informative as this one has already become. google and yahoo mostly pointed me to auction sites so i figured i might as well gather feedback from forum.. so far have gone to websites of: 1. seiko - some nice designs, but since i've worn a seiko for a few years already, thinking of getting something else. 2. tag heuer - like the carrera and link series. 3. omega and breitling - designs like too complicated, worried about the prices too. 4. redarmywatches - have a few that caught my eye, with prices listed too. a few other nice watches i saw: 1. black coloured Ball watch (currently featured in their newspaper ads) - anyone knows the price? 2. marc ecko's The Arena ( http://www.aggressivemall.com/ProductDetai...5007G2&click=35 ) have yet to check out some of the links posted, thanks once again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 i go city chain to get the watches..... u can try there ba.... have a variety Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icq2453 Neutral Newbie October 13, 2007 Share October 13, 2007 try this http://forums.watchuseek.com 5K can get you some reasonable entry like omega, breitling, oris, sinn, tag, longines Longines just came out their new series like hydroconquest etc. Pay a bit more can get a bit higher end like IWC, Bell and ross Rado i heard its made from graphite, break easily when drop Something different will be cartier santos chrono series, square face expect to pay more than 10K If you are paying by cash, can ask for more discount. i think SE will be willing to lower between 2-5% on top of their listed discount. Happy shopping!!! Anyone bought their watches from Ebay? any pros and cons? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...