Normal_aspirated Clutched October 9, 2007 Share October 9, 2007 A performance patented enclosed open-pod airfilter.....anyone tried it ? Checkout here: http://www.bmcairfilter.com/infoCDA.asp ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ml2spin 2nd Gear October 9, 2007 Share October 9, 2007 yes - it works as claimed I think - never did a dyno run with just the intake changed so can't say how much gains. It's a closed airbox-like design so it ain't super-free-flowing as some open pod filters and it uses a K&N style cylinder filter. I think Simota and the others did copy BMC's CF cylinder design but the main difference is the filter inside - BMC has a cylinder with plastic deflecters while Simota and the rest just put in a normal cone filter. But since this is one and only aftermarket intake i tried on my car, i can't really compare -- sure it's a bit pricey but there are other more $$$ intakes like Mugen, GruppeM, J's racing etc etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 10, 2007 Share October 10, 2007 had mine installed. likewise, this is the only aftermarket air filter change on the ride. Hurricane, dun count tho. the sound is quite exciting. my fren who installed it along with me, observed the gear change is smoother. personally, i feel (i think) can rev better as i compliment it with a str thru muffler. no dyno tho. managed to get mine in silver colour CF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitecvt Clutched October 10, 2007 Share October 10, 2007 (edited) am using the CDA on my car. at 1st i thought it was very expensive (450 for the filter only?) but after going thru drop ins, apexi, simota (obviously a cheap replica of this CDA), i can safely say that the money was well spent Edited October 10, 2007 by Whitecvt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordlonewolf Clutched October 14, 2007 Share October 14, 2007 Basically it looks exactly like the Simota Carbon Charger ... so this should be the original ? Anyone care to share how to go about cleaning this product ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazel_tov Neutral Newbie October 14, 2007 Share October 14, 2007 wah bro, u got urself the limited edition version.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazel_tov Neutral Newbie October 14, 2007 Share October 14, 2007 bro, u can always go back to espace n get it cleaned for a token sum of $10 nia....every 20k will suffice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 14, 2007 Share October 14, 2007 me and my fren dunno we can getting the limited edition when we have our appt to install it. just luck, i reckon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Lucky you manage to get the limited edition locally, for me I have to order that online cause Espace no longer bringing the limited one anymore. Should be reaching me in 5 days time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 hi bro... how much did you get it on line? cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Almost the same price I guess but at least I still manage to grab hold of the limited one. Total cost me $620 to buy from BMC Online Store and ship via Vpost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash7 Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 pretty steep huh.... but heard is damn good.... hope you enjoy yr bmc man... do feed back on the performance!!! if good will wanna try it on my next car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 oh... actually, at that point of time, late last year Espace had nothing but this limited edition. i dun mind the normal ones, as once bonnet is closed whether Silver or Black, no one can see.. only the sound is quite shiok i guess u will enjoy it too cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Not really loh, if you go to BMC website and take a look at the same dimension CDA internal structure between the black & silver, actually there's some difference inside if you're able to notice it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 really?? oh, i did not know that cos the reason why my fren and i didn't bother abt finding out if there's any differences is guy at Espace did not charge us extra for the Limited Edition. for us, we just think that it's the colour diff... will go read abt it cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tckrto 2nd Gear October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 got difference meh? i using the limited edition leh. tot only the color different nia. internal oso different meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rev_zone Neutral Newbie October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 Both CDA is of the same size, pix 1 is black and pix 2 is silver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched October 28, 2007 Share October 28, 2007 How's the sound like?? Like ordinary open pod filters or wat...?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...