Million $$ lemon is clueless abt CTE congestion?

Apollo

dun worry la..next time we'll juz have 1 big GRC..150 seats..and that will also walkover becuz oppo party all kena DQ due to technicalities..ok set! More good years ahead!

Does Anyone here remember the old days whenever a car carrys Four persons need not has to pay for CBD charge, IMO, it will works cos people who stay near each other will take turn to drive so = Less Car On Road + Save Petrol + Save Money + No need Engr (High Pay) to Monitor/ Maintain Expensive Systemswink.gif

Not really jam, but speed not fast as well; $5 heart pain to me [:p]

Hi all the bros here, not sure if there is better suggestion to save a bit.

this 2 weeks, i m travelling from Woodland to Tanjong Pagar.

CTE(2x erp) = $5

exit outram, park at public carpark upto 5++pm = $1+ x 9hr = $9+

take mrt to Tanjong Pagar(to & flo) = $0.66x2 = $1.32

Total = $15.32

park in cbd 1hr at least $2 [sweatdrop]

Any better suggestions? kindly dun suggest me leave car at home :D

thanks in advance! [angel]

Transport grievances one hot issue at dialogue session

By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 07 October 2007 2003 hrs

SINGAPORE: Transport grievances were one of the main issues dominating a dialogue session held after Transport Minister Raymond Lim's community visit to the Thomson Division.

"We don't mind, as vehicle owners, to pay increased ERP (fees). But we are frustrated when we pay the ERP (fees), we don't see any ease of traffic flow on the CTE," complained a resident.

The answer? It may be frustrating, however there is no one magic solution but a range of measures adjusted over time as the situation changes.

Mr Lim explained: "As a first step, we will do what we call traffic engineering solutions. So if you look at the Central Expressway, we have widened it through the years and only recently we did it again.

"What's the problem here? Let's say we widen the road. When we first widened the road, the traffic might improve. When it improves, what happens? People who previously didn't drive on that road, the Central Expressway, will now drive on it.

"So, some say, 'build more roads'. Yes, build more roads, that will help. Some say, 'better public transport'. Yes, better public transport will also help. But at the end of the day, you also still need this traffic management, which involves not just the ERP, but as you know in our system, we also have COE."

But it wasn't just about the ERP. A whole range of transport issues came up during the dialogue session.

There were suggestions ranging from having premium bus services to 24-hour senior citizen concession passes.

There was also a suggestion to have the Public Transport Council (PTC) review public transport fares only every four years, just before the elections.

But, Mr Lim said: "If we freeze the whole thing for four years - no fare increase - the pressure will say, 'why not extend another four years?' The experience of other countries is that the minute you allow the fare increase to be politicised, that over time, the service of your bus standards goes down. If they can't get these returns to renew the bus fleet, the bus fleet will start to shrink and as the bus fleet starts to shrink because they don't replace it, there will be more and more overcrowding. So the situation gets worse and people will complain." - CNA/ir

---------

he's merely lip sync-ing everything we all know and predictable. thumbsdown.gifthumbsdown.gif

cant imagine this type of answer from someone up there.... is this the best they can give???

increasing the ERP $$$ does not solve the problem at all.... the cars will be diverted else where and may even cause a jam there.... perhaps this is jus another good excuse for adding more gantries on other road as well...

till now....old cars are still being penalised with 50% additional road tax(yearly increment of 10% till 15yr old 50%).... i wonder why there is such a need for this since the age of the vehicle is rather new here... perhaps its also time for them to revise on this.... keeping an old car also means the PARF are forefeit..... dun tell me those PARF are not enuff to cover the additional 50% increase in road tax... simply ridiculous.

Remember what happens when you put the frog in the pot and you slowly turn up the heat? [sweatdrop]

Edited by Topgun

Any park & ride at Woodlands? Since U are already taking the train, might as well take the train from Woodlands to Tanjong Pagar. Cheaper & timing is constant (Only Human Jam in trains).

ciao

another thing

please remove that stupid speed camera

it only need an idiot to slow down his car to 60km/h on 90km/h

to start the domino effect of congestion

Does Anyone here remember the old days whenever a car carrys Four persons need not has to pay for CBD charge, IMO, it will works cos people who stay near each other will take turn to drive so = Less Car On Road + Save Petrol + Save Money + No need Engr (High Pay) to Monitor/ Maintain Expensive Systemswink.gif

yup i remember.

but gahment will tell you doesn't work.

coz requires them to station one person to monitor cars passing by the CBD gantries.

gahment will say waste manpower, not efficient, ERP more high-tech and look world-class to ang moh countries.

gahment will not say that ERP earns them ga-zillions more every year, coz they dun care if more cars pass through. just collect more ERP from them can already.

Nowadays, it's not about congestion. That's just a silly excuse.

It's about collecting more and more money.

101 ways of squeezing more money out of the naive public.