Million $$ lemon is clueless abt CTE congestion?

Apollo

Wonder y no one qns him this. transport company is recording profit every year, so why approve fee hike?

Exactly! Thats one thing i cannot agree at all. It seems that this guy does not understand what it means by net profit!

Net profit = the amount of $ gained after all expenses (including $ spent on upgrading etc) has been deducted.

Looks like we have a moron up there running the traffic...no wonder the situation on CTE will never improve. At the rate they are building new flats up north in punggol & senkang, no amount of "traffic engineering" work they do will help at all.

Edited by Rickster

One fellow even ask this Question. " If the value of the house drops? Will govt compensate us? " [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh] .....

wonder he stay HDB or private estate.....

maybe the minister should ans him. For those enbloc or make money from the value of house. Should the Govt tax more? [laugh][laugh]

Pls loh those ppl. Since when ERP can reducs traffic..Either u move this way or tht way only. Ever Road Pay also mah. the same....

IF a stretch got ERP, then the rest will use some other way,Tht other way will be pack n soon a ERP gate entry will pop up.. tio boh..??? the Entry Pop-up Progessively will only be erected.. will not be taken down.. if m nt wrong.. [scholar][scholar] .[laugh][laugh] .. soon to come every where will haf gate entry.

HDB , LTA etc etc govt board. thought the same but they work differently.

Just like when u buy a house. CPF n HDB... u need to go to different govt board just to print out different data. and more than often. U get to play bumper car... doink here and doink there. [sly][sweatdrop] ....

Today, i travelled in CTE at 9:15am, smooth traffic at around 80 - 90km/hr.

But hor.... why the fark do i still need to pay ERP?!?!?!

He presented one of the most stupid answers I have heard from a minister.....

If the government keep building flats in the north, of course the roads leading out of the housing estates will be filled with cars during the peak hours.....

CTE and Thomson Rd are the main arteries out of Woodlands, Yishun, Sin Min, Ang Mo Kio, Toa Payoh, and various others like Seng Kang and not to forget Ponggol.....

These government planners, if they can plan well enough will ensure that ther are sufficient road space before embarking on their high and mighty ideas of putting housing estates.... they never learn from mistakes and only act when there is a problem.... they are paid outrageous amount of salary for their poor planning and in the end we are paying more for their mistakes......

And are 66% of the population think they are worth the money!!!!!!! not me!

I can forsee Cantonment Road getting jam up very soon, especially near the junction with Cantonment Link and Keppel Road.... with the new 50 storey flats coming up, if the planners don't start thinking of a solution, that damned blardy road will be packed when the residents move in.....

Hey but bro if dun build new flats in the North...dan built where sia?? [:/]

East, West and South already developed liao leh... [dizzy]

....Mr Lim explained: "As a first step, we will do what we call traffic engineering solutions. So if you look at the Central Expressway, we have widened it through the years and only recently we did it again.

"What's the problem here? Let's say we widen the road. When we first widened the road, the traffic might improve. When it improves, what happens? People who previously didn't drive on that road, the Central Expressway, will now drive on it.

....you also still need this traffic management, which involves not just the ERP, but as you know in our system, we also have COE."

To be honest. The widening of the CTE is not enough to accommodate the increase in the number of cars and people living in the North or North/East...let alone solve the existing CTE problem.

On the COE system. If they keep increase the no. of COE each year at say 3% each year...then the road system...particularly those leading to the city, in singapore should also increase by the same no. This does not even taken into the increase no. of people moving to the Northen paer or North-Eastern part of S'pore.

There are land banks in central area... you have sentosa.... on the east side there are still space for housing estates.... simei for example... then you areas in bedok which are not built... but then these land are too precious for HDB.... especially Orchard, or the so call prime areas....

I think singaporeans are partly to blame. See ppl buy dan all rush to buy. Now plenty of empty flats scattered on other parts of sg. [:/]

The kiasu singaporeans can be quite scary. [laugh]

The funny thing is come 1 Nov, CTE will have another ERP gantry on the CTE just before it joins the PIE till 11pm.

Reason? Cars cause jam in CTE by using it to go to PIE

Why on earth then are they punishing people who use the CTE and not joining to PIE?

Why isn't the gantry built at the entrance to PIE? to target those they want to prevent using CTE?

The timing is also crazy. till 11pm.

On normal days from 8pm - 10pm, northbound CTE traffic is ok. Why need to extend till 11pm.

anyway basically he skirted the much commented statement about poor planning. Build many towns up north, not enough roads....and how much is he paid?

his sole purpose of clarification is not to clarify, but to put oneself in the clear.

Edited by Osiris