Power Tune Electricity Saver

Accentrix

I dun think it will help save a lot on your bill. I did Google into how they work and it basically works like those voltage stabilizers you see ppl install in cars. They use capacitors to store the electricity and release it to "smoothen" the flow, reduce fluctuations and surges. Sounds like voltage stabilizers to you? It sure does to me.

risk of fire also.

I am very paranoid. I even switch off internet modem and router when I leave my house. Don't trust those electrical stuff that on 24/7 without proper cooling. Plus, playing my part on minimizing global warming.

Edited by Kangadrool

I dun think it will help save a lot on your bill. I did Google into how they work and it basically works like those voltage stabilizers you see ppl install in cars. They use capacitors to store the electricity and release it to "smoothen" the flow, reduce fluctuations and surges. Sounds like voltage stabilizers to you? It sure does to me.

Guess as much. Dun expect huge savings but thought a little goes a long way. Seems like this is not popular here...

Aiyah...the seller so confident that it will save electricity...I was curious as well to know when I saw it at a pasar malam...

I ask the chap which was selling the device for 160+ (I think...so long time back). If you say it will save around 30-40%...take up my challenge...if I install the gadget and for 3 months...if it does not save me at least 10% of my bill...you give me full refund. I show you my 6 months bill (past) and next 3 months bill to verify....

If its 10% saving...I won't even bother to call you...10 months down the road the device pays for itself liao and its all future saving from then...the pasar malam hawker say..."NEXT CUSTOMER !!" [:p]

Any bros or sisters here using electricity saver at home? Legal to install in the first place?

Weather damn hot, electricity bill oso went up [knife]

They are usually capacitors inside, supposed to increase power factor.

The theory is that you are charged for VA or inductive power and not W (heating) power.

By correcting inductive power using capacitors, you'll reduce the number to a smaller heating power.

This is assuming you run a lot of motors, compressors, inside your house.

Now, does the PS meter reads VA or W, I dunno. It's probably reading VA in which case, you won't find any difference.

When the bill goes up, usually the "snake oils" start selling well.

Your best bet is to bear with the bill, use less, or move to a cheaper country.

If it was this good, the manufacturer should sell it to PUB. Right?

PUB wouldn't want you to save on electricity isn't it? It will hurt their bottomline -_-

Any bros or sisters here using electricity saver at home? Legal to install in the first place?

Weather damn hot, electricity bill oso went up [knife]

Don't bother, I have something similar, given to me by a friend who used to market such products. Nothing changes, bill still up down there about.

PUB wouldn't want you to save on electricity isn't it? It will hurt their bottomline -_-

No leh! you sell this technology to PUB, they insert it in every household and charge you an initial premium for it. wahaha. long term earn lesser but they also can hao lian their green credentials.

Other than aircon, the other culprits would be electric kettles and air pots with reboiling and keep warm function.

Yes, agree. I removed the air pot (reboiling and keep warm function type) and replaced it with a good thermos vacuum flask, bill drop by $20 a month.

the other one is gas, Bottle LPG gas is cheaper than pipe gas from city gas by about 25-30%, but well, convenience come at a price.

Yes, agree. I removed the air pot (reboiling and keep warm function type) and replaced it with a good thermos vacuum flask, bill drop by $20 a month.

the other one is gas, Bottle LPG gas is cheaper than pipe gas from city gas by about 25-30%, but well, convenience come at a price.

Yup. Same here. I will boil water and then transfer to the vaccum flask.

We had to use the air pot when the kids were younger, now that they have grow older, we don't need instant hot water anymore, and surprising that save us some money..lol

the only thing now is gas, but we choose to pay that extra, to trade off the inconvenience of ordering and changing the bottle.

Singapore Power measures real power kW from household residences. Using these devices does no benefit to you in terms of billings and to your household loads. You however is helping the grid in reducing losses by using this device.

But really? Pay so much money for no benefits but for the grid?

The entire idea is to reduce your kVar and improve the power factor.

So if you are a commercial or industrial customer, then your kVar is measured as well. This is where the benefit comes in. But for large scale installations, this device is a joke lah. There are proper power factor correction capacitors for such applications.

Singapore Power measures real power kW from household residences. Using these devices does no benefit to you in terms of billings and to your household loads. You however is helping the grid in reducing losses by using this device.

But really? Pay so much money for no benefits but for the grid?

The entire idea is to reduce your kVar and improve the power factor.

So if you are a commercial or industrial customer, then your kVar is measured as well. This is where the benefit comes in. But for large scale installations, this device is a joke lah. There are proper power factor correction capacitors for such applications.

I did have one and notice some savings.

Edited by Icedbs

I did have one and notice some savings.

Placebo effect?

Technically already not possible to have savings because your meter don't measure kVar. There is also an article a few years ago that also debunked the use of these things.

Placebo effect?

Technically already not possible to have savings because your meter don't measure kVar. There is also an article a few years ago that also debunked the use of these things.

Not sure about the technicalities, but I lived alone, so very little differences on the way I use electrical items from month to month. Easy to compare.

Savings probably around 10-15%.

I did not use it anymore because I need the wall sockets and this gadget need a wall socket by itself.

Edited by Icedbs

Not sure about the technicalities, but I lived alone, so very little differences on the way I use electrical items from month to month. Easy to compare.

Savings probably around 10-15%.

I did not use it anymore because I need the wall sockets and this gadget need a wall socket by itself.

Technically it doesn't work simply because of the way we are billed for electricity.

So it's really placebo effect.

And 10% fluctuation of your bill is not surprising. Your meter is not read every month. Every 2 months your bill is estimated unless you submit your own meter reading. So there can be differences in the bill.