DarkLord 1st Gear October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 personally tried both AD07 and T1R. T1R wet is really bad. AD07 wet is excellent. only poor in drainage otherwise damp road is still solid. Especially puddles! Nearly went out of control once when I hit a puddle at high speed.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 Well said.. Drivers always play the biggest part in any situations! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcng Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 (edited) wah ur choice is just the same as me wanted to get re001 in the 1st place but the turn down part is the size i wanted is made in thai........ so now considering AD07 or RS2 Ad07 is more ex but think is good lor..... rs2 is more cheaper but dunno worth trying anot but lots of good comment..... anyone can guide me which one to chose....... Edited October 7, 2007 by Marcng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 Tyre to tyre comaprison, R-S2 beats AD07 hands, legs & pants down in terms of wet dry. Many can atest to AD07 atrocious wet grip, they dun grip in wet = they dun grip in wet. No sure which part U do not understand. Use at own peril Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 (edited) Honestly, R-S2 is the obvious choice as all round tyre. http://www.xxxxxxx.com/idb/view_item.php?...&cid=121&bid=63 Dun even bother comparing with AD07 in the wet. No comparison at all. http://www.xxxxxxx.com/idb/view_item.php?...&cid=121&bid=21 Edited October 7, 2007 by Abba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Author Share October 7, 2007 Wah?! S03 for 15" really exp. Re001 seems good. It will be a year later something before I change to new rubber. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Author Share October 7, 2007 u r absolutely rite man. Wet or dry weather. Driver plays a pivotal role in vehicle stability and controllability. If car spin, no one to blame except the driver. But, bro, u know the sg culture is like, if things happen, fingers still pointing elsewhere instead of oneself. If its a mistake, it has to be someone else. Unless its an honest mistake, which does not result in any form of financial deprivation or disadvantage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vesfreq Neutral Newbie October 7, 2007 Author Share October 7, 2007 Ermm... u know something? I also want to know what he driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 Like I said, I m a conservative driver. The tyres are for track and sunny days. Even if I'm to use regular tyres, I still drive conservatively on wet weathers. Good tyres are important, so are good driving habits. AD07 for track?? U must have some deep pockets man! Well, enjoy your tyres and stay safe! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear October 7, 2007 Share October 7, 2007 Driver plays a pivotal role in vehicle stability and controllability. If car spin, no one to blame except the driver. ====================================================== No offence but honestly, equipment do play a part too lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 AD07not that ex lah. Try P Zero Neros, Mich Cup Sport, full slicks for track use. now that's ex Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferrari7 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 AD07 wet grip is rubbish, esp semi wet conditions. Be VERY ginger in the wet. I skidded on them but luckily nothing happenned to the car. I'm NEVER touching them again Yeah the AD07s are certainly not for novices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferrari7 Neutral Newbie October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Honestly, R-S2 is the obvious choice as all round tyre. http://www.xxxxxxx.com/idb/view_item.php?...&cid=121&bid=63 Dun even bother comparing with AD07 in the wet. No comparison at all. http://www.xxxxxxx.com/idb/view_item.php?...&cid=121&bid=21 To say no comparison at all is far fetched to me. In Car and Driver 2005, AD07 outperformed R-S2 in every performance aspect - both wet and dry. But lets move on shall we? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 (edited) Bro, you expect anything else to come from him? Anyhow, we all have our preference for tyres. I like AD07 in dry, not so much in wet, especially for normal street driving in heavy downpour. So far, quite happy with T1R for street driving. But wears quite fast for my front tyres, which is expected since my car is FF with 6-pot brakes. I suspect even wet conditions for testing may differ. For e.g. a set of tyres may be good in damp surface, but when faced with a puddle of water, it may not have sufficient drainage to push water aside. I suspect AD07 may be something like that, and if car and driver testing is on damp surface, it may be better than even the T1R. But I doubt it'll be able to slice through puddles. Edited October 8, 2007 by Vblaster_w211 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear October 8, 2007 Share October 8, 2007 Im just replying in general. I track frequently. And have tested my timing in different adverse condition at PG. Dry: AD07s and RS2s are pretty much ok. any difference is prob not too great to cause some big hoo ha. Light Drizzle: AD07s can feel that grip has started to degenerate. Timing shows a much slower lap. Maybe its due to slower drive cos driver does not feel confident anymore. RS2: still pretty good. i would say I am going at about 90% of what i can do in the dry. timing difference is excusable. Moderate Rain: AD07s are out here, i do not even dare bring them out. Each corner I take at about 50% of what i normally do. totally no confidence in them anymore. RS2s also almost no grip only slightly better than ADs. Heavy down pour: I didnt finish the laps. After 2 turns, i cruise all the way back to pit. We should be driving slowly in such conditions and shouldnt be testing the limits of the tyres. Over all, Having used 3 sets of AD07s and have sworn by them for their dry grip and wear rate, I have been won over by my first set of RS2s. They are priced quite near each other. RS2s i feel wear slightly faster but no concrete proof as there were other factors affecting it. But assuming it really wears faster, I am still willing to compromise that and the price difference for the wet grip. Solely for safety purposes. TracK Day Coming up on the 20th Oct at PG. Anyone Interested? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferrari7 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2007 Share October 9, 2007 (edited) Vblaster, I share your exact same sentiments. Just by observing the tread design, I think the AD07s certainly cannot evacuate water as quickly as T1R. Those big blocks are designed to promote aquaplaning. hahaha. And as compared to Eagle F1, I can feel significantly more tugging at the steering when I cut through puddles. The puddles aint that deep but the tugs feel kinda severe! So if there's alot of standing water, you can see me driving behind lorry, wipers permanently on Edited October 9, 2007 by Ferrari7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 9, 2007 Share October 9, 2007 I take Car & Driver with a bag of salt. The results in the wet are totally opposite in our conditions, some local conditions when tested must have thrown it in the opp direction; ie asphalt grain, temperature, amount of water, testing method etc many have given up on AD07 cos of it's poor scraily poor wet grip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abba Neutral Newbie October 9, 2007 Share October 9, 2007 PG track surface is rough, high grip track. Sepang is much smoother track surface and rated as a low grip track. Just check out R-S2 on Sepang on a wet track, a flend sent this vidz to me Many like yourself after trying R-S2 are convinced that the Korean R-S2 outperforms the Japs AD07 with good price to beat ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...