October round 1: Sales slowdown brings COE pullback

Ahyoo2002

Even if you broke even, you lost the DP. [dead] Will u keep repeating this cycle to get the shiok feeling of a new car, which is temporal? What car will you buy which makes you look good? Even you buy a BMW320i, which was a new model not long ago, now you see a 320i now, will you Wooo Waaah, feel so envious of the driver? After a while all cars will be INVISIBLE unless u drive a Ultracar like Lambo but even then if you drive a lambo & join the lambo club, one day you will feel lousy cos you got a old lambo when your club mates have a shiny new model.

When will this cycle end? Dont you think it would be better to invested & grow ur money instead of donating it to our rich garment?

1. There is no end to this as car is a liability. So long you don't pay car price in full, technically we're all in debt. So whether you take 7 years 10 years loans, all sama sama.i.e. " The 50 steps laughing at 100 steps story".

2. Not that I want to defend those that take 10 years loan, as I'm of the thought that if you manage your finance properly and know your limit, it should still work out fine. There are others that pay high DP, reject cash rebate and went on 10 years loan. Some of these people wanted very low monthly instalment and prepared to drive the car for a longer while.

Regards,

i think my cash rebate is lock-in period. my lock-in period have ended this mth already and if i have the cash, i can redeem my loan without any penalty loh.

A, I thought there is no benefit for terminating car loan with an early settlement? i.e. If you redeem, they still charge you interest(penalty) calculated till the 10th year.

Regards,

Yes, prioritise wad u wan in life first and den decide, just like the analogy of filling a jar.

Fill it with the big stones first, next the pebbles, and lastly the sand... U fill it with pebbles first and u wun be able to fit in the stones after tat [sweatdrop][laugh]

Wah, you so power in language one [:p] Well said [thumbsup]

Yeah correct. Its a debt created so that we will continue to take loans to pay taxes.

A sg car is typically 1/3 OMV & 2/3 taxes. This is excluding running cost like petrol, road tax, ERP, etc which are essentially taxes.

Now you know why the garment worry we not enuff money for old age right? Cos we spend most of our money on taxes when we are young [laugh].

yeah.. i get your point.

like u said, my ride is still running fine. Very good indeed. But wifey and me are intending to have our first kid next year, and my Getz is the 3 door one, so bopian, i have to change for the convenience, to a normal sedan with boot!

yup... it's a vicious cycle indeed.

To be honest, i still [inlove] my car. Though it's a low end entry ride, i'm proud i bought it with my own money. It has served me well and brought me to places like Redang in Terengganu where i proposed to wifey [:)] But like wat i replied to bro Friendster, the reason why i need to change is becos we're planning to have kids. Wouldnt be changing to something fancy... a normal 4 door sedan will do! [thumbsup]

Edited by Altivo

yup... it's a vicious cycle indeed.

To be honest, i still my car. Though it's a low end entry ride, i'm proud i bought it with my own money. It has served me well and brought me to places like Redang in Terengganu where i proposed to wifey But like wat i replied to bro Friendster, the reason why i need to change is becos we're planning to have kids. Wouldnt be changing to something fancy... a normal 4 door sedan will do!

1. Very soon, you find yourself looking into MPV. Just wait for another kid and a maid to use it as an excuse to drive a MPV lah.

2. I didn't have my own car when I have my 1st kid.Actually what is so inconvenience about your 3 doors? beat taking MRT right?

3. Anyway your money, you decide.

Regards,

a lot of time are just excuses to change car.

for example, people tell me Sunny eat a lot of petrol, so change. But the money use to change car, can pump don't know how many years of petrol for free liao [:/]