Rollerblading

Ultramega

U into recreation or freestlye?

I used to go long distance with K2 VO2 with 90mm wheels for speed n cruising...

now oso downgrade to Sebas FSKs for freestlye.

I always felt that K2s were more comfy cos the cushioning very thick

im doing spins peppered with slalom. more towards the recre side though.

slidings a big no-no coz I tore my two ligaments (PCL, LCL in the knee) during judo.

[shakehead]

k2s are comfy with their softboots but it hurts for a flatfooter like me. there's no arch support.

you can see my spoilt knee and skates in this vid anwway

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzlvrcmnBSc [;)]

I'm a novice... still practising too. Got a pair for fun in IMM (2nd flr) for $128. Comes with wrist and knee guard.

They also hv range from $200 to $400..... I cant recall their brand as I mentioned.... Im only novice... hehehe...... Maybe mine is low end one..... practise less than 10 times only..... still cannot skate smoothly [:|]

Yeah man totally agree...

There are ppl who do not tighten their skates and have probs balancing due to that.

And they were wondering why they find it so hard to learn in-line skating... [:)]

I've been skating since '93 and owned a few pairs of blades before.

I bought my current pair at Peninsular shopping centre's Skateline. Request for a 'test drive', you can skate 1 round (approx 100m?) which will give you a good feel. While I think price isn't the cheapest there, at least you won't get ripped off. Apply to be their member, their newsletter is quite good, they organise many skating sessions like saturday night skate sessions and beginner classes [thumbsup] There's a discount of abt 10% if I'm not wrong.

Find a pair you feel comfortable in. I myself like blades that are loose around the ankle area. Oh and most modern skates have memory foam that conform to the shape of your own foot once it has seasoned so don't share your skates with your friends.

Hi, its the Rollerblade Bladerunner series.

Costs me $200.

You can check out the skates at Queensway.

Your skates dun need to be too expensive, just make sure they are a good tight fit and comfortable.

the memory foam info is good info. [thumbsup]

btw, i found out from the Skateline website that they give discounts with certain cards and the best one is as follows:

The Family Card

Validity Period: Till 30 Jun '08

- 20% discount on any purchases

(Additional 5% discount based on RRP on any purchases for customers who make payment via Citibank Ready Credit Card before hand)

i wonder if there are any gimmicks? looks like very good deal... a $200 pair will cost just $160 after discount!

But the family card is S$20 per year (http://www.thefamilycard.com.sg/) which is ok to me cos i'll be buying 2 pairs.

how come flat footed will painful when skating?

Because the inner part of the feet has a bone protruding out ... and for roller blade should be tight fitting ... so end up it'll press against that part .... so cannot roller blade for too long ... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

hmm.

usually they have selected skates for which the discount is applicable.

personally, i didn't have that good of an experience with skateline. there are other shops with better deals. have got to look around.

I'm a novice... still practising too. Got a pair for fun in IMM (2nd flr) for $128. Comes with wrist and knee guard.

They also hv range from $200 to $400..... I cant recall their brand as I mentioned.... Im only novice... hehehe...... Maybe mine is low end one..... practise less than 10 times only..... still cannot skate smoothly [:|]

The key to blading IMO.... make sure your head is always further forward than your knees. Since I learnt that trick, my blading became more enjoyable! [scholar]

Paiseh bro I'm not very familiar with this familycard thingy [:p]

Like another bro said do look around for better deals. I chose to buy mine there due to good service and can 'test drive' the skates which I feel is very important.

Gd luck with your purchase and skate safe! [thumbsup]

Yeah as I had stated earlier, I got my pair as a replacement when I did not have much $ to spare.

Now, I feel that should have invested in a better pair of skates.

Don't get me wrong, the bladerunner skates are not bad, just that I hate those darn shoelaces cos tightening them is a real chore. [thumbsdown]

My previous skate, the Bravoblade GLX had 3 locking clips on it and it was very easy and fast to tighten the skates, just snap them on as u can see from the pic.

As so anybody knows of any skates that use this kind of technology anymore?

bravobladehd3.th.jpg

I got a pair of bladerunner too.. [;)] Didn't wanna spend much as i'm just learning and didn't know if I'll successfully learn how to skate.. [:p] Wanted affordable but also wanted reputable brand so didn't end up with much choice.. [laugh]

Actually laces are better than those 3 clips, cos tightened laces give a better fit. Personally I prefer laces, coupled with a metallic frame. [nod]