Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 1, 2007 Share October 1, 2007 when you buy a car in singapore, do you really know how much you're paying the actual car manufacturer/distributor and how much goes to the government, even without COE? http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...Cost_Update.pdf look at the 1st item, the Alfa Romeo 159. on the road price is $133.38K. only $36K goes to the distributor. the other $97K goes to nice items such as the Custom duty and Additional Registration Fee ($40K!!!!). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfrtuscani Neutral Newbie October 1, 2007 Share October 1, 2007 sad to say.... a BMW 320 only cost $21K pounds in europe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 1, 2007 Share October 1, 2007 that's motoring in sg for you. we have a marvellous road tax structure and the 10 yr COE as well but on the bright side, our spare/aftermarket parts, labour, mods, etc are considered cheaper than other countries. I've ever seen a bill for a job done at an authorised workshop in aus and its farking ex Only less developed countries are cheaper than us. oh yah, their petrol too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged October 1, 2007 Share October 1, 2007 (edited) To PeeAPee: Customs duties GeeA$$Tee ARF COE Registration fee Radio license VITAS application for batch approval Road tax Oh these add up to more than 50% of the total cost depending on make and model Edited October 1, 2007 by Porker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear October 1, 2007 Share October 1, 2007 Well, that's why buying new contis in SG is a choice of the heart than mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear October 2, 2007 Share October 2, 2007 eh pokey, you start an online MCF course on "HOW TO IMPORT YOUR OWN CAR AND SHOW THAT YOU'RE NOT A NATO" lah? knn, that fella who call you NATO now MIA liao... for months in fact. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 2, 2007 Author Share October 2, 2007 yeah i was calculating what car would i have bought with my $$ i've spent here (i drive a humble jazz). for $55K that choices in the UK are . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 2, 2007 Author Share October 2, 2007 yeah workshops for certain things are really ex in the US too. BUT there are those 'neighbourhood' ones you can go too. Not too bad. And the AD workshops here are pretty cutthroat too. recently at KM they changed my aircon filter (without telling me but charging me anyway), for a nice fee of $50 (that's AFTER a 25% discount????). I happen to know how to change the damn thing and it wouldn't take me 5 minutes plus maybe $20 to do it. Crap heads. Wanted to say something to the SE, especially because KM DIDN'T install the original filter in the 1st place (if they didn't install they can change and charge???). But dropped it. blood pressure already high from my work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 2, 2007 Author Share October 2, 2007 The ARF is the real nutcase lar. seriously. alone 110% of the OMV? that's nuts lar. sure we get back part of it if we dump before 10 years. but the whole idea of it being an ADDITIONAL reg. fee is stupid. the actual fee is $140??? want to tax just tax lar. have funny tax labels for what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched October 2, 2007 Share October 2, 2007 (edited) don't know correct or not the info....Opel Astra H 1.6 base price is $60,821..Agent price is $60,888...without COE...So it almost doing charity for AE.... Edited October 2, 2007 by Application9999 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bentwy Neutral Newbie October 2, 2007 Author Share October 2, 2007 the OMV is already more than the manufacturing/shipping costs lar. and the actual price/cost differential is not the only way they make money. also, how many people actually ONLY pay agent price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched October 2, 2007 Share October 2, 2007 the 2nd item is juz simply Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear October 2, 2007 Share October 2, 2007 The ARF is the real nutcase lar. seriously. alone 110% of the OMV? that's nuts lar. sure we get back part of it if we dump before 10 years. but the whole idea of it being an ADDITIONAL reg. fee is stupid. the actual fee is $140??? want to tax just tax lar. have funny tax labels for what. --------------------------------------------------------- ARF is 110% of OMV. You only get back 55% of OMV at end of 10 years. There is also 20% custom duty on OMV and 7% GST and the registration fee of $140 and radio licence of $18. To use the car, you pay insurance, COE, ERP and petrol tax with gst. If you don't use the car, you pay farking fee. If you don't pay parking fee, you pay summon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear October 2, 2007 Share October 2, 2007 They have to do this, or else everybody buy car den we will kpkb again as rd will be 24/7 jam. Now the situation already getting very bad, cannot imagine they gg to reduce car price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear October 3, 2007 Share October 3, 2007 I think its even worst with certain models. A M5 cost SGD150k in US but cost SGD450k++ here. No giessing who is getting a big bite of that 300k cherry Well maybe the moral of the story is if you drive a bigger/nicer car, you essentially donate more money to our alrdy wealthy garment coffers. To PeeAPee: Customs duties GeeA$$Tee ARF COE Registration fee Radio license VITAS application for batch approval Road tax Oh these add up to more than 50% of the total cost depending on make and model Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear October 3, 2007 Share October 3, 2007 The thing is that the garment alrdy collect so much upfront tax, why izzt we still have to pay roadtax?????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 3, 2007 Share October 3, 2007 Why make your car ownership miserable? Dun have to know so much in details lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gz0707 4th Gear October 3, 2007 Share October 3, 2007 (edited) Guys, no need to guess lah, use this eg I did last yr - see for ur reference. AD only collects profit margin, OMV is the car cost, the rest goes to who ah??? Update - 7 Oct 2006 Zafira 1.8 MTA 1800 OMV - $22,300 Excise Duty (20% of OMV) - $4,460 ARF (110% of OMV) - $24,530 Registration Fee - $140 5% GST $1,115 1/2 mth Road tax - $625 Dealer's Cost (no COE) - $53,170 COE - $10,000 (THIS IS 2006!) DEALER'S COST with COE $63,170 CAR SELLING PRICE - $79,688 PROFIT - $16,518 Profit Margin - 26% Edited October 3, 2007 by Gz0707 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...