Which Industry will pay an Engineer 3.5k?

Deathsythe

Which Industry will pay an Engineer 3.5k?  

54 members have voted

1. 1.

• Semicon
    • Oil & Gas
    • Aviation
    • Manufacturing
    • Automation

Got my Mechanical degree 2 yrs ago.

Would like to find out which industry is willing to pay an engineer 3.5k?

Let me know which compy and I can apply. Cheers.

got your degree 2 years ago but what have you been doing for the past 2 years?

if you are doing nothing or anything non-relevant, then no matter which industry you go, the chances are they wouldn't want to look at you.

if you are doing something that have enhance your value, then 3.5k is actually nothing to consider. it shd come naturally

Just saw your edited post with the added information of your degree being a Mechanical Engineering degree.

My earlier posts' stated fators still stands but frankly, I don't think manufacturing industry pays well.

Semi-con isn't as 'attractive' as in the past.

Oil and Gas would be a good bet.

Interesting!! I am from the oil & gas industry....I don't see many local grads applying to our company, or even our fellow competitors.. Most odf the bosses in this industry already accepted the fact that the local engineers who are suitable for this industry has extinct!! Only left those old ones or those who had no choice but to slog under the sun....

Paying $3.5K....I can pay this to any enginner who joins my team, but can he tahan the heat or not? No air-con office all the time, no chio bus as colleagues, most of the time working with workers.... This is the reality of Oil & gas....Unless a design engineer, which, lagi worse, Singapore has almost none.....

If you are willing to learn and has a positive attitude, I think our company can offer a better pay..

My current 02 new asst engineers (dip holders) have much higher starting pay and we gave them a increment only 03 mths once they were confirmed. Also, I will be increasing their pay to around s$1.8K, all within a year..They are 2 local Singaporean guys, young and trendy ones, just like those you have seen in Orchard road...But, eversince they were placed im my team, they have matured so much and learnt much abt our industry, they enjoyed their work and performed much much better than the local degree graduates..

Oil & Gas is not easy....pls bear in mind...

Edited by Nullbig

They are 2 local Singaporean guys, young and trendy ones, just like those you have seen in Orchard road...But, since they were placed under me, they have matured so much...

You sounded very scary, you actually managed to turn young punks into mature soldier within a short period of time. [sweatdrop]

Oil and gas industry like ExxonMobil and SHELL requires a good degree (must be a honors holder) from a good university will pay you well..easily 3k+ (fresh graduates)..unless you work in supporting industry to them..got pple help you to recommend in..and it will be easy but still need some interview..

The rest like EPC companies in oil and gas industry, unless u work under the sun, u can fetch 3k+ easily..if under air-con is around 2k+ - 3k...for a fresh graduate.

Those oil and gas terminals will be tougher as their headcount is lesser. Most of them work there till retirement...

Edited by Rangefighter

Just saw your edited post with the added information of your degree being a Mechanical Engineering degree.

My earlier posts' stated fators still stands but frankly, I don't think manufacturing industry pays well.

Semi-con isn't as 'attractive' as in the past.

Oil and Gas would be a good bet.

[nod] same sentiments

What is the possibility of a switch from an electronics manufacturing sector into the oil & gas industry... say for someone aged 40?

Would it be very difficult to re-learn?

Errr.... ok... I'm thinking of changing jobs lah. [sweatdrop][rolleyes]

What can u offer to the company to pay u 3.5k?

What type experience do u have and wat skills u possess?

A mechanical degree by itself is generic and not industry specific.

I am working in oil and gas industry as 3.5k is no big deal.

But looking at your post I see u have no passion.

You are looking at getting high pay with nothing to offer back.

Pls be more specific with ur experiences before asking for feedback.

depend on wking exp rite ?

can anyone quote how much is for a fresh poly grad with Higher Nitec and diploma after NS ???

is it $1.2K ? Cause i remember my ITE classmate workin @ shipyard her starting pay is $1.1-1.2k , freshie with no work xp some more.

also depend on MNC or SME. (no point mentioning Civil service as the structure is fixed......)

SME can pay darn well or vice versa, so also depends.

MNC, cos need to balance out & take care of all level, so the range is there.

For ur queries, based on a Jeepoon firm..... with techinical certification

Nitec - ~$1.1K++

Higher Nitec - ~$1.3K++

Diplona - ~$1.6K++

Frankly..you need to understand your experience for the past 2 years.....if you are not into that industry for the past 2 years...noone will pay you direct 3.5k per month...company can hired a diploma for 2K and also without the experience. A degree is a good thing to have for a start...but it all about experience that you gain and bring along to the employer.

You willing to go under the sun and manage men and projects or not?...like in marine and off shore engineering or are you the 'white..white' pale skin type that need to hide in air-con room or if in workshop also MUST be air-con?

If you can take the former then $5K or more per mth also no problem!..But if you are the latter than you'll hover around less than $3.5K lah with just 2 yrs working exp! [sly][laugh][laugh]