Kinetics Neutral Newbie September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 Hi Needing to top up coolant once a week, are these coolant leaking? Any idea where is the likely source? Is is expensive to repair? Am driving a Skoda. Thanks for the advice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfrtuscani Neutral Newbie September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 ur clip is loose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 once per week confirmed leakage, mine never top up for past 8 months reaching min level soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moeykf Neutral Newbie September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 bro, confirm tat is coolant stain, go check on ur hoses fast, it could be some hairline crack which leads to droplets of coolant escaping. rectify it early be4 the pipe burst. the same thing happens to me but im too busy to get it rectified early. in the end, the pipe burst and i need to change my water pump, gasket....etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 (edited) Go to a shop and request the mech to do a Cooling System pressure test. This is the fastest way to detect water leaking out externally Edited September 28, 2007 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie September 28, 2007 Share September 28, 2007 ned some system pressure test loh to see where got other places leak oso... can due to overheat of engine later if loosing more coolant check the spare tank if spare tank water gone oso top up tat oso, then go to yr agent or mechanic to quote for the damage for repair Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
p0023722 Neutral Newbie October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Hi guys.. need you guys advise on this. I am driving a 07 toyota axio for 2mths.recently Found out that my coolant reserve tank goes down till empty on one occasion. I open up the radiator cap to check. Inside its still full. I try pouring in normal water to the reserve tank and observe. The water level goes from max to empty after 2 or 3 weeks. Open the radiator cap to check again. I still found green coolant inside. Can any1 advise on this? Thankss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Hi guys.. need you guys advise on this. I am driving a 07 toyota axio for 2mths.recently Found out that my coolant reserve tank goes down till empty on one occasion. I open up the radiator cap to check. Inside its still full. I try pouring in normal water to the reserve tank and observe. The water level goes from max to empty after 2 or 3 weeks. Open the radiator cap to check again. I still found green coolant inside. Can any1 advise on this? Thankss My advice is: 1. Leak in reserve tank itself or hose 2. search first before starting a new thread Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Probably the coolant pump is leaking already. Go check for water mark at coolant pump. Is there steam coming out of the engine in the morning ? Hi guys.. need you guys advise on this. I am driving a 07 toyota axio for 2mths.recentlyFound out that my coolant reserve tank goes down till empty on one occasion. I open up the radiator cap to check. Inside its still full.I try pouring in normal water to the reserve tank and observe. The water level goes from max to empty after 2 or 3 weeks. Open the radiator cap to check again. I still found green coolant inside. Can any1 advise on this?Thankss Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 two to three weeks is not too short considering its an 07 car, you can take it as part of your maintenance regime and top up every few days. Or you can trace the leak, could be anywhere from the cover to the tank. I think the original coolant might help you see where it leaks better since it leaves some sediments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 (edited) Hi guys.. need you guys advise on this. I am driving a 07 toyota axio for 2mths.recently Found out that my coolant reserve tank goes down till empty on one occasion. I open up the radiator cap to check. Inside its still full. I try pouring in normal water to the reserve tank and observe. The water level goes from max to empty after 2 or 3 weeks. Open the radiator cap to check again. I still found green coolant inside. Can any1 advise on this? Thankss Check that your radiator fan and/or air-con fan is operating. If one of them not working it will results in higher evaporation of radiator fluid. A quick check is when starting the engine, switch on the air-con and both fans (if you car comes with two fan) must be running. But this only confirm fan working or not, further checks needed to confirm whether temperature controller or relay any problem. Edited October 20, 2016 by Octopus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 coolant leak (even though in reserve tank) dun play play, what are you waiting for? Instead of going to workshop, you asking strangers in a forum ?? If the COE dies Jan 17, then you can just continue to top up every few weeks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 (edited) Stop using water. There are plenty of pre-mixed coolant sold in many shops. I don't think you will want to waste money to fix the leak since the coe is going expire soon. It's a matter of are you renewing the coe. If yes, go to a workshop and get it fixed. If no, just continue to top up using pre-mixed coolant. Edited October 20, 2016 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 If you cannot find the leak, have a look at your exhaust for white vapor n also see your oil n cap is it milky. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Stop using water. There are plenty of pre-mixed coolant sold in many shops. I don't think you will want to waste money to fix the leak since the coe is going expire soon. It's a matter of are you renewing the coe. If yes, go to a workshop and get it fixed. If no, just continue to top up using pre-mixed coolant. ya lor, toyota coolant is one of the cheapest ard !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
p0023722 Neutral Newbie October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Thanks all. Morning no white smoke coming. Radiator cap looks normal. I have make an appt with my workshop for pressure test. Will update if found anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Stop using water. There are plenty of pre-mixed coolant sold in many shops. I don't think you will want to waste money to fix the leak since the coe is going expire soon. It's a matter of are you renewing the coe. If yes, go to a workshop and get it fixed. If no, just continue to top up using pre-mixed coolant. if going to scrap. why waste money on coolant. water is fine. even if some corrosion sets in who cares. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged October 20, 2016 Share October 20, 2016 Not radiator cap but oil fill cap. Coolant is about 18 for Toyota , but water is cheaper. If scrapping I will make sure it doesn't overheat n top up everyday. Maybe it's a cap leak but you can probaby tell better if it's coolant than water. The workshop suspecting rad leak? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...