Use Engine Brake

Jl1500k

For manual cars,can try this heel+toe shifting method nod.gif

no offense bro, i dun see the use of his 'heel', probably coz he's got a big feet

laugh.gif

They come from a big family....everything XXL [:p]

when on slope.. my car roll back.. so everytime i exit or stop on a slope, for me to get off without sliding back, i do brake/accelerator technique.. like half clutch like that..

ok,that is provided on slope.

actually i believe still have ample time to accelerate off before rolling back and hit another vehicle.

or is it because you can do a faster sprint?sly.gif

left foot on brake but right foot already depressing accelerator waiting for light to turn green.laugh.gif

Edited by Turbonetics

another thing.. try not to free-gear then brake all the way.. not recommended.

best is aways try to keep engage as long as possible.. that is what i know.. best for reducing effort for the brakes to work...

come to think about it.. need to change rear rotors liao...:)

Oh I was referring to the "taxi method". [sweatdrop]

Sometimes when rolling to a stop at red light if I'm lazy I will just put it into neutral and use brake to fully reduce the speed of my car.

Otherwise under normal circumstances I will be using engine brake to help reduce the speed. I find engine braking definitely more effective in reducing the speed of the car.

Depends how much space you have to break, if you approach a red light from a long distance and from a high speed you can gradually shift down and break by doing that,

but if you have a car in front of you and you don't have much experience you better don't concentrate too much on shifting down to break or it might be too late.

actually, when there's car in front(not too far away), shouldn't I just shift to neutral and brake accordingly, am i right? This is especially so for novices.

But if I approach red light from distance or anticipate I have to stop, how do I downshift or react such that car does not jerk or lurch? [:/]

Shifting to neutral is quite unsafe when rolling for long distance.

Edited by Redboy

when on slope.. my car roll back.. so everytime i exit or stop on a slope, for me to get off without sliding back, i do brake/accelerator technique.. like half clutch like that..

I'm still trying to master this technique. Most of the time I still use one leg to brake on a slope and quickly step on the accelerator to get off w/o sliding backwards...

IMHO, it's always good to leave the engine in gear in any situation to let the engine brake assist in the stopping, regardless of driver experience. What I do is that I use engine brakes until revs drop below a thousand, then I clutch-in to free up the gears.

Engine braking is OK, your engine can take the revs as long as it doesn't shoot past the redline.

To downshift without lurching / jerking, the technique to use is Heel-N-Toe. It's perfected by lotsa practice, and there's various ways to do it.

What I do is:

brake with ball / insole of right foot ->

then left foot clutch in and pull gearstick to neutral ->

tilt right foot and use the heel / outsole to blip the gas while ball / insole of right foot is still down on the brakes ->

when rev peaks on the blip, shift gear in ->

then left foot clutch out and right foot now just control either the gas or the brakes, depending.

Cheers!

by right, shd pull handbrake & half-clutch till biting point then release handbrake.

But a bit troublesome. [laugh]

For your method of using 1 leg to brake and quickly step accelerator, the reaction must be fast enough to shift leg from brake to accelerator. It also depends on how steep the slope is. So far, I have yet to use handbrake method cause either slopes are not too steep or I seldom encounter cases when I had to move off on a really steep slope.

I admit I do that sometimes. [:p]

Edited by Redboy

Hi, for those who drive manual gear do you often use engine brake to redure speed when cornering or stopping?

Mostly engine brake when doing a down slope bend, like those expressway filtering to another expressway kind of bend. Entering at the correct speed and suitable gear, no need to use brake at all thru out the bend.wink.gif

But when preparing to stop such as red light situation, usually neutral gear and brake intermittently till stop.

[reply]

To downshift without lurching / jerking, the technique to use is Heel-N-Toe. It's perfected by lotsa practice, and there's various ways to do it.

What I do is:

brake with ball / insole of right foot ->

then left foot clutch in and pull gearstick to neutral ->

tilt right foot and use the heel / outsole to blip the gas while ball / insole of right foot is still down on the brakes ->

when rev peaks on the blip, shift gear in ->

then left foot clutch out and right foot now just control either the gas or the brakes, depending.

For me i do it the simpler method...

release accelerator

clutch in and shift to lower gear (don't release the clutch yet..)

gives the accelerator a press till rpm rise to match the lower gear at that speed (agar-agar lah)

then slowly release the clutch

drivingcar.gif

wow. indeed heel and toe method needs practice. [sweatdrop]

I think I will just use the normal downshift method as mentioned by one of the bro here.

Probably, the jerk/lurch during my downshift is I release clutch too early.

Guess I need to practice on this first. [nod]