ITE help build car - Impressive.

Nus24

Seriously....is bolting up a car with performance parts really news worthy or to feel proud about?

Can anyone tell me which part is engineered or designed by local/ITE?

Is the race driver even local, at least?

Please don't flame me....I am just feeling blue this Monday and need to voice out my cynical mind!

ITE students help build rally car that wins at APRC

By Julia Ng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 17 September 2007 0035 hrs

ITE students help build rally car that wins at APRC

SINGAPORE: A group of students from the Institute of Technical Education (ITE) helped build the car that has been winning at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship (APRC).

Defending champion Cody Crocker drives the first assembled-in-Singapore Motor Image Subaru WRX STI.

The final leg will only be held in China in November, but Cody has gathered enough points to clinch his second APRC title.

Back in Singapore, at the Subaru Hub in Toa Payoh where the car was assembled, there is a great sense of achievement, especially for the ITE students who helped build the car Cody drives.

"I'm proud! Because we're just apprentices here doing these cars. We're not professionals yet. But we work together with professionals from New Zealand and Japan. They taught us how to do this car," said Mathan Haridass, ITE automotive technology on-the-job trainee attached to Motor Image Enterprise's Subaru Academy.

While other students on the ITE's industry-based training scheme only get to service the cars at their approved training centres, those apprentice at the Subaru Academy get to service and build sports cars.

Since Motor Image started assembling its own Subaru WRX STI Group N rally cars late last year, the students have helped build six rally cars.

Their supervisor said these student trainees are as good as any trained technician in the industry, and some even got to go to the APRC rallies in Johor and Indonesia, working alongside international automotive experts.

The student trainees also experienced the race against time to restore the machines to tip-top condition when their rally car pulled in for a quick servicing stopover.

Gregory Lim, head of Automotive Technology at ITE College West, said "The curriculum at ITE is very industry driven, so we work very closely with the representatives of the automotive industry to ensure that our curriculum is up-to-date, it's relevant and it meets the needs of the industry. We see emerging trends like F1 and motor sports. This will bring vibrancy to the industry."

"What Motor Image is doing is indeed a role model. We would like very much the industry to do what Motor Image is doing now - going beyond what ITE has to offer. We offer a very comprehensive broad based training. But it's good for companies like Motor Image to then offer additional opportunities for their trainees to grow in areas of motor sports like what we're seeing here," he added.

Glenn Tan, group chief executive of Motor Image Singapore agreed, "We were exploring the whole idea of using ITE students and I think the whole concept of getting them to have hands-on experience... They've contributed significantly to this project and with Singapore pushing on with motor sports, it's a good training ground for them so that when they graduate they'll be ready with specialised engineering skills."

"What's most important is that in motor sport, as you've seen, speed and reliability of the car are very important. So the precision of the work done, getting it right the first time, and the speed at which they do it is very important. So all these will contribute to the kind of standard to show that Singapore technicians can do it!" - CNA/ac

just a propaganda... just like the clipper uniquely singapore, whose captain is not fr singapore and most of the crew except 2 of them, and neither is a sailor by any count.

I knew ITE ex-student or others will surely berate me for posting this article.

Its ok....if you guys want to think that people are looking down on you that is fine with me. I got no further comments on that. Do not put words into my mouth that I look down on ITE or others ok. I never lah!

My point for posting this article is really to seek opinion on 'Whats so great about assembling a car in Singapore'.....and NOT about looking down on anybody.

Edited by Nus24

why not u post something like "FT winning medals for singapore in table tennis"? because u think its not worth posting or u simply didnt read enough to know that they are from china?

give u the same set of tools, do u think u are able to assemble the car? sorry lor i dun think they would even let u get near enough to tat rex they are working on!

What so difficult about Screwing around on a already well designed car.

You think got money to buy a good gearbox and bolt it onto the car is consider as building a car?

You think selecting a ready-made turbo charger and bolting it into the car is a real achievement?

You think hiring a FT to drive and win the car is an achievement.

Ok maybe the know how to mix-&-match the parts are considered as a skills, that I got no dispute on.

But are the ITE students involved to the selection of parts level? No one knows...maybe yes.

Honestly....I would consider it an achievement if the students also involved in programming the ECU or selecting the gear ratio/material or finite element analysis of the roll cage/ body strength analysis, etc.

There was a posting about this forum not talking much about cars anymore, so I thought this car article is worthy for some discussion.

I am not going to post about FT winning pingpong balls becasue its not car related.

wats so difficult? before u say that, ask urself u know how to do it or not? do u even noe how to remove ur air filter box and put it back? i seriously doubt so.

FYI, tuning of ECU requires courses overseas and not every tom dick or harry can do it.

anyway, why are u avoiding the FT table tennis topic? or is it really u didnt noe they are from china? lol. [laugh]

I knew ITE ex-student or others will surely berate me for posting this article.

Its ok....if you guys want to think that people are looking down on you that is fine with me. I got no further comments on that. Do not put words into my mouth that I look down on ITE or others ok. I never lah!

My point for posting this article is really to seek opinion on 'Whats so great about assembling a car in Singapore'.....and NOT about looking down on anybody.

I doubt that I had put words into ur mouth.... [shakehead] And why had u got so worked up....??

obviously you don't get the point the article is trying to put across, that ite students are able to assemble/build a race-worthy car that actually won something, compared to other teams who might have employed PROFESSIONAL technicians and ended up with nothing.

yes, it might be largely due to the efforts of the driver responsible for winning the race, but the fact still holds that students are able to piece together a working machinery of strict quality able to withstand the rigors of racing.

the min level of quality is there, despite the fact that they are afterall students and not in the trade for half their lives.

it's the same kind of recognition that a well doing dollar churning student-stocktrader has. you just can't simply rob him of his achievements just because of the slick trading software and excel spreadsheets assisting him in his analysis/work.

just for ur info i believe ite is the only edu institute in s'pore that have most awards ISO, S'pore quality award...etc... no matter wat i look u no up... i m from ite my eng sucks... so... i have the skills in the course i took.... [furious]

bid deal of having a degree.. you see people small is it...

people have the opporunity of travelling the world with a pro rally team, they are able to do wat they like, best of all enjoy their work.

Fixing things is 1 way to learn.. you crawl first before you run..

please crawl back into your hole