Things falling apart or failing on our rides

Beanoyip

Hi all,

This thread is to keep track of the failing parts on our ride. I'll start off with mine 1st.

1. Gear knob button loose, almost falling off

2. Knob for adjusting the driver seat back cushion cracked

3. Driver seat has free play while going over humps ( 1 yr still not fixed )

heres mine

1) gear knob also loose, so in the end i changed it to aftermarket one hehe !! now good 2 change gear

2) the auto up on my driver-side has gone crazy. sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt

and my car is about 1.5 years old this month arrrgh

Initiate a warranty claim for item 1. It takes around 6 weeks for the part fo arrive. The root cause for this failing part is inappropriate application of pressure on the automatic gear shift knob. If you have a tendency to apply pressure at the bottom right section of the gear shift lock release, the supporting mechanism of the lock will tend to loosen up with time.

The correct manner of depressing the lock: Press the entire length of your left thumb fully against the lock so that the pressure is more evenly distributed along the button.

I have no comments for items 2 and 3, but I suspect it could be caused by the leather upholsterer.

*touch wood* nothing major yet .. wink.gif

1. Screw Knob for Driver Lumbar Support cracked & dropped off. Wonder XZ have this or not ....

2. Yesterday start car, slight vibration. Exhaust also sound weird. After rev-ing for a while. Ok liao ........

My warranty expiring Dec ... hmmm, guys, change of ownership --> warranty still remains right ?

Hi all,

This thread is to keep track of the failing parts on our ride. I'll start off with mine 1st.

1. Gear knob button loose, almost falling off

2. Knob for adjusting the driver seat back cushion cracked

3. Driver seat has free play while going over humps ( 1 yr still not fixed )

Mine more shoik. Cannot take our ignition key, even after you turn off the engine. Had to use the spare key to lock the car.

Suspect the gear lever switch faulty. Car in Ubi now getting checked out.

Ya i did call Jaffer up in the morning, as usual no stocks for anything. I wonder what they keep stock.

6weeks? I wonder a few screws for my driver seat will take forever to come.

"...start car, slight vibration. Exhaust also sound weird ..." sounded like my engine sputtering problem leh ... tongue.gif

Look up the other thread about this sputtering issue. Mine just had the throttle body cleaned during servicing a couple of days ago (at least that's what CnC said they did). Don't know really clean or not but still monitoring the situation.

You may want to try that & also at the same time, check your MAF sensor. Make sure not dirty.

The cushion next to rite rear passenger seat broke (not supposed to come down together with seat) when i pull down the seat to make space for bigger items in the boot. Had it rectified by CnC but no reason was given.....but i din sent it in personally coz not in town.

Oooo... Mine will be a long list...

1) warranty claim for gear selector sensor kaput... Your whole gear display panel lights up. Cost plus labour $600 (FOC)

2) Charge pressure valve kaput (suspect this is the N75)... waiting for parts to arrive...this one came as a suprise to me as when I sent my car for "servicing" on sat to check on the cat clogging issue, they detected this fault...apparently this valve helps maintain your turbo boost pressure. (warranty claim...will report on cost in Oct)

3)Passenger and Driver reading light switch kaput. Jaffar removed the bulbs for me to prevent draining of car batt. waiting for parts as well....(warranty claim)

4) Both Driveshafts kaput...wear and tear item so replaced at CAG at a cost of $350 per driveshaft.

5) Clogged cat converter...still under investigation....may need to push a bit after they change out my Charge pressure valve.

Dont be suprised by the list of breakdowns for my car as I took a gamble to get one that has been sitting in the warehouse for coming 2 1/2 years for a nice discount.

Kinda interesting hor....with the amt of electronic components in our cars, we are no longer sure if one problem is actually caused by something else somewhere...The answer to your question is I'm not sure...will wait for AD to changeout the valve and then monitor again.

Btw...nice meeting Nets and Fluffy on sat at the service centre [:)][;)]