Solar Turbocharged September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 agree.. tunnel supposed to be a 'bypass'. btw, it looks like a tomb anyway, i also never use.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 (edited) Actually the most crap excuse is that it was mentioned the ERP would help to regulate traffic flow and prevent congestion. But so far, with more vehicles on the road, coupled with more ERP gantries and their rising costs, I dun see this serves the said purpose, but other agenda! Edited September 17, 2007 by Wanderer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 At times, it's quite crap. If you are already in orchard and want to skip the handy road one, got to exit at cavenagh and go by bukit timah road. tat way also need to pay to reenter the restricted zone.. i juz find tat 1 gantry after ps is redundant.. imagine i exit cte orchard, wanting to head towards bugis/suntec/chinatown tat direction.. i PAY again . if i rem correctly its either $.50 or $1 max Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Dunno what bypass is that suppose to be. last time, we can just go straight to Orchard and turn left up fort canning.. now it seems much difficult. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 if it's on weekends, no different. we have to pay 2 twice to go into the shipping belt and CBD. if it's weekend, then it make sense. anyway, if you want to siam orchard, you can exit Bt Timah rd or drive till merchant road exit at china town mar... you exit Orchard road only if you want to go orchard road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 See, you long time never go, so kena beeped.. if you go there often, you shd take stamford road, before the tunnel, turn right and hit up fort canning, siam the tunnel ERP. save you that 50cents. anyway, that tunnel is there for what I also dunno.. but I'm sure it doesn't save much travelling time or distance. only thing is that it's a waste to build this tunnel. Yeah...I also dunno the tunnel for what?!... and the existing library had to be removed because of it ... not that's stupidity on top of stupidity ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 The sad thing is....cannot claim ah....cos my place once you hit a certain grade....its one lump sum for you...which is ok lah..cos usually more than enuff...but company say we give you more a bit but your parking, ERP etc is own time own target lor. We chin chey hope that you will chin chey too lah. (not complaining here) Its not the amount I cow peh....its the stupid Orchard one that I really pay liao buay ke gian. Go into town pay LPPL lah...but PAP is really kuku lor....not that I belong to that group of pple that uses Orchard Rd to bypass to another destination. Next time meeting there I will schedule before noon liao...or I am taking a train there liao. Pay to listen to a Beep I rather use the $$$ to stir a cuppa of kopi !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 I share your frustration at times.. esp for ERP like this.. same with the one which they put up at BKE. Put at BKE is ok, then alternative route beside BKE also having one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Herk Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 each time i go pass the gantry after PS.. i will grumble,wander,question WHY did g0v have an extra gantry there.. like hey.. we are already in the restricted zone, why the need to pay again Its the LTA's point, dun drive unless u wana pay. If drive, then pay. U can own a car, jus pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viviobluerex Clutched September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Whenever we hear a "BeeP" sounds, somewhere in this island will hear a "Jink jink" sound. Make a count. at least 10,000-12,000 cars pass by Orchard Gantry daily during "Operation Hours". With the prevailing rates, its easy to count how much Garment is generating from us daily. Now take that figure and multiply by 7 days then multiply by 4 weeks and then multiply by 52 weeks. That amount is only private cars, before adding motorbikes, commercial vehicles and public transport. http://kcarclubsg1975.spaces.live.com/ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...