Hougang fire

So_nice

We cannot comment too much on how they work or their mistake else later pants drop [rolleyes][rolleyes][rolleyes]

Like the previous threads which we have discussed many times back, only 1 word 'Haiz'... [shakehead][shakehead][shakehead]

I hope the deceased would RIP [angel][angel][angel]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

What is the use of reacting after the incident happened? If they had been more proactive instead of just fining (which i think must be good income for the town council), this will not happen and 2 lives will not be lost.

heard abt e tragedy on radio tat dy.but wat caught my attn is e comment by tat mp yang(IC 4 e powerless & clueless CASe).Instead of tinking how 2 help e families n showin his condolence,he was quick to pt out tat they had serve summons n warnings 2 tat particular provision shop tat had started out e fire.It seems tat covering e TC & his own backside was his primary objective when e opportunity for a interview came along.Tis is v sad

Its unfortunate that the 1)accident took place 2)the fire result in 2 untimely death 3)the shopowners did not take heed of the summons recieved 4)the shopowner did not take sensitivities abt how his neighbour felt abt the state of his shop layout.

Yes the MP did mentioned abt the 3 summons issued but that did not state that that was his first concern. It seems that it does not matter even if the MP had showed his concerned for the bereaved family - you and others would have something bad to say abt the MP and the TC,whether it is the running party or opposition party.

In the same report, it was also reported that the shopowner also lamented "why did this happene to me?'. Why did you not take on this point? It is not obvious that this accident is just waiting to happen, all the shopowner's fault?

Can i check with you ppl... the siblings died because they ran towards the 'wrong direction'. What does that mean? There are usually 2 ways to go, stairs by the left and right. Why cant they see the fire? Or even the smoke coming up? Why did they 'run into the fire'? Its definitely a very sad incident and such things can be avoided. I cant imagine how the parents can cope with this.

Had they waited and brought their parents down that same way,it would have been more tragic. But then again I was wondering why they left their parents behind?

What is the use of reacting after the incident happened? If they had been more proactive instead of just fining (which i think must be good income for the town council), this will not happen and 2 lives will not be lost.

Why are you looking at the TC? What about the shopowner? Will this be a wake-up call for all shopowners who practice this act of displaying goods at and around their premises? Maybe initially but long term is a NO! This is not the first time this occurred.

The remark abt fine being a good income(in the midst of this tragedy) is ungentleman. Its a strike below the belt.

You are right! i was thinking how come got fire children run first? During a fire, even they cant see or cant hear, at least they can feel isnt it? Its just left or right... choose wrongly but can always reverse right?

This question should be directed to the shopowner rather than the TC. The shopowner surely do not want to be handheld.

Yup Bro [nod][nod][nod]

The shop owners have to bear responsibility for this sad incident [nod][nod][nod]

If the rules/law are harsh on these sort of things, i believe the shop owners like what you have said, wouldn't wanna be hand held [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

U realli think those neighbourhood shopowners will wake up after this incident? unlikely lor. Take a look ard sg, u will see loads of shops w goods blocking the corridor or staircases.

TC vulnerable???? [laugh][laugh][laugh] joke leh. If shopowner cant behave, the authority must step in to ensure they obey. Aint we taught to behave so?

U might say the TC can do only this much. There are much more they can do abt it, whether they want or dun want only

Edited by Kingcopa

Why are you looking at the TC? What about the shopowner? Will this be a wake-up call for all shopowners who practice this act of displaying goods at and around their premises? Maybe initially but long term is a NO! This is not the first time this occurred.

The remark abt fine being a good income(in the midst of this tragedy) is ungentleman. Its a strike below the belt.

Look. Issue 3 fines from 2003 to 2007? 4 yrs, 3 fines? So what next after 3 fines if the fire did not occur? more fines? Why don't TC take more concrete actions? Under the belt? hahaa... people would not have died in the first place. and you say i hit under the belt? mr. supporter, please reason with reason. dun anyhow support for the sake of support.

Have you been to the actual fire site? I used to frequent there in the past. The walkway is so congested with stuff from the shops, do you know? maybe you should see for yourself before you start saying i hit below the belt.

Edited by Zakuii