Solar Turbocharged September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 i'm sure when someone lease a shophouse, terms/conditions and consequences should be spelt out clearly. so, its either there is a loophole in the T&C, or what the shopowner is doing is 'legal' (ie. space is leased properly from TC), or TC simply bochap after issuing the summon. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Typical how civil servants works. "issue summon liao - got do our job what, they dun comply, what can we do." They will say. " We will look into it" will they? Well there are loads of thing u can do, just that they all cant be bother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Mr. Supporter? Who am I supporting? Please read through this discussion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 Mr David is just looking at the issue from another angle. Y get so workup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 kanna so many summon still blatantly flout rules.. whoever it was on the case, should have escalated higher up, to take further action, dunno, perhaps issue a warning to clear up or move out. sigh.. really wait till problem happen, ppl die, then start to move their butt. this off-topic come to my mind.. recent quakes shaking hdb flats. i've heard hdb flats are not quake proof, richter what scale also dun have. if this is true, our mr mah shuold start to do something before similar collapsing like hotel new world repeats.. we have 80-90%(?) population live in hdb.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 This is Sg mah. Nothing happen, everybody happy abt it. Just take a look at the Nicoll highway accident, if this does not happen, think MOM will be happy that their system is doing well despite the poor statistic compare to developed countries. Now Nicoll highway accident happen, whole system revamp, change this change that lah. To me LPPL. still got ppl die in industrial accident. Quake proof? i dun think any flat can be quake proof (mayb to a certain extend lor). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 so many times tio summon still dun heed the advice. should TC do something more drastic rather then TC-ss? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 you support the town council, no? 3 fines in 4 yrs. is that what the tc can do? i'm sure they can do more than 3 fines in 4 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 i'm not work up. i'm just stating the facts. the tc can definitely do more than 3 fines in 4 yrs. so because they do not act, 2 lives are gone now. if they can't do anything, they should involve civil defence so that CD can take more drastic action because of the fire hazard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 it will take a big exercise to mobilise all MP to work on this cos the shops are every where in the HDB estate, toa payoh, clementi, ang mo kio, you name it, are doing the same then the govt will set up a task force to look at 'how to manage you inventory' for all the shop owners Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ebit Neutral Newbie September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 For info, did you notice the yellow boxes that were drawn on the floor of the passage way? Shop owners were charged monthly fee for using them by TC. How then would you expect TC to take stern actions against something they are making an income from. Anyway, TC did serve notice to all shopowners to keep their wares/stocks at the end of their business day and no wares/stocks are to be left in the pasage way. The "Dead" Line for all to comply is suppose to be 1st October '07. Failing which they will be fined anything from $500 to $1K. However, the unfortunate event was just waiting to happend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 You are simply bashing authorities. You are not arguing about points. You persistently ignored 1)the shopowner blatantly ignored the summons and thus warning of placing goods in a hazardous manner and illegally 2)disregard his neighbours complaint about his layout of the goods along a public areas 3)that the sole responsibility of this fire and the untimely death lies with the shopowner and nobodies else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 17, 2007 Author Share September 17, 2007 who is tat gal in ur pic? dawn yeo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 It was indeed a sad case. It was something that might have been avoidable. Sometimes, such tragedy need to take place for people to start thinking on a certain issues. I hope everyone, not just the authority, will start thinking about fire safety and other issues...and not wait till a tragedy happens and start their finger pointing. On the death of the siblings. I was talking to some few friends and we were puzzled as to why they ran towards a place with more smoke and heat...and not like everyone else who ran away from it? Maybe they were completely overcame by fear and lost their instinct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 (edited) Put yourself in the victim's father position. he went on tv to complaint about the situation. so what did the tc do? just fine the shop owners. why dun they take more effective measures like involving other parties like CD if they do not have the authority to do anything? CD will definitely take physical actions against the shop owners for violating safety issues. Just like they always show in the news how CD spot check those night spots. of course the shop owners have a part to play. but being human beings, if they are not being pushed harder or forced, they will not do anything. just like erp, 50c, $1 to use erp. lta wants drivers not to use certain roads by imposing erp. but the cost to use is so insignificant, every drivers still continue to use. so in the end, lta pockets lots of revenue, but the traffic situation still did not improve. am i bashing the authority? no i do not think so. the authority is given a job to do, so do it. dun give excuses. you tell me truthfully, is 3 fines in 4 years sufficient, if the tc seriously think it is a fire hazard? Edited September 18, 2007 by Zakuii Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 in singapore, authority only acts when someone dies. like the little child got crushed by the reversing lorry making delivery near a mrt stn? this could have been prevented in the first place as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 Put your goodself in the shoe of the shopowner if I am not asking too much. If that is a little tough, let's try being a driver/owner. You may have been fined, summon, chased away, warned but there are still times you would repeat what you are not suppose to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 That mean they need to walk the ground but when they walk the ground, they onli see good thing. the grassroots guys clear the path gd gd before the walkabout ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...