Kelpie 2nd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Ok, since we touch on Fraser Hill, here is a good link http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Asia/...kit_Fraser.html, enjoy. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 5, 2008 Share May 5, 2008 anyone been there? cameron went until.. abit too familiar. genting too commercialised. wifey n i just want to CHILL. literally and figuratively get some rest, bonk, walk abit, shoot some couple pix with nice backdrop, bonk somemore.. stuff like that. the good thing abt fraser is that it seems to have nothing much of interest to most city folk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 (edited) I have gone to Fraser's hill 2 years back with my family. The road up is like the old Tapah road up to Cameron. Great for small cars like your manual Getz. I gone up in my 1.3M accent (+ strut bars) and it was fun . On weekends, locals also gone up to Fraser's for their break. There will be a spot that that hawkers will come to sell goreng pisang etc. Come week days and it is a nice quiet place. My son remembered the archery and horseback riding in Fraser's. He did not mention much of Cameron which we gone up last year. Some pics of our Fraser hill trip here http://hjteo.multiply.com/photos/album/10/...17_Frasers_Hill. AAS had a write up of Fraser's as well (http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/cargo0804.htm) Cheers Edited May 6, 2008 by Hjteo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 Yah man... go CH until sibeh sian already. In fact, I cut short my 4 nights trip and left after 3 nights at the Equitorial. Basically nothing to do and its was heavy jam everyday last Thursday to Sunday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 (edited) get some rest, bonk, walk abit, shoot some couple pix with nice backdrop, bonk somemore.. stuff like that. Wahhhhhhhh....what a life. I wish i could do the same. But i go MY holiday drive, machiam like move house. Must take milk powder lar, portable DVD player lar, the kids pillow lar, portable cooker lar, tons of clothes and pampers, thier story books/some toys, medicine, shoes/slippers....blah blah blah. Last trip to genting, i had to shift everything from car park to hotel in 3 trips. Edited May 6, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neoscan Clutched May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 fraser hill got timing one.... On certain times it will be one-way upwards...certain timing is one way downwards And the roads are damn narrow , steep & winding as compared to the genting one, so you never want to meet a track that is coming downhill....sure whack your car... Also at the top it's quite cooling and relax, not much activities to do except to sleep, makan, enjoy hotel facilities... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 nice pics . is the road as dangerous as camerons, or worse? camerons was not all out fun for me for the driving aspect, unlike genting. anyway, thanx for the link. it's pretty much good enuff info (coupled with the malaysian map i bought recently from an MY popular) one thing to ask. book by internet or go there n look see? i dun mind paying a wee bit more to choose on the spot, but if big savings, then book onlne lor . i pretty much certain going up on fri . leaving sunday morn. just did high speed balancing, alignment and engine oil change Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 well, i hope we dun have "accident" who knows? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 i still think CH is the best overall hill resort. fraser no matter how nice, wun be as complete (dun have farms etc etc, while cameron also has waterfall n nature) but this time, we want more ulu location. so must try fraser . genting is only good for the weather and the drive, but we dun dig casino, theme park, or golf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear May 6, 2008 Share May 6, 2008 which hotel do you recommend? I maybe going this June holiday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 Personally the roads is like the old road up cameron, some parts you really need slow down so if we follow the speed indications, it should not be a problem. Just give way to the malaysian lorries and then follow their lines . Switch off the air con compressor for 'extra' boost - that's what I did . The gap is now one way so don't have to worry about the timing. But fill up at Rawang or the smaller towns as there is no petrol station at Fraser Hill. The last time I book the Pines resort directly as we book a 3 bedroom apartment and there was a promotional price. Maybe check the price before deciding but if you are going during Vesak holidays, that date is hot (I postpone my plans as rates are up and most rooms are taken up) and it may be advisable to book earlier thru internet. We drive up to Silver Fraser and the rooms looked like Strawberry Park in Cameron. Silver Fraser is also at the peak of Fraser hill. Plan to drive to Jeriau waterfall but you will need to close one eye on the litter left behind. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 i drove up to cameroon only recently alone... act playout by frens. thus dun care jus wack went up... i went up the new simpang way and back the old way... i would say its easy to drive if no jam and no speeding up. it will be quite alrite if going day time ... can check out my pics if u dun mind, some repeat pics. due to nv sort :P http://www.friendster.com/viewphotos.php?u...251&a=573808877 hope u enjoy ur trip ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 so e bottom line is...... izit a great pl 2 bring kids for holidays? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 Hi Multi, In Fraser hill, we stayed at the Pine Resort and got a 3 bedroom apartment. The condition was quite ok as we weren't expecting 5 star quality. We had a chance to view a Silver Frasers room and it looked like the Tolga apartment in Strawberry Park in Cameron. Silver Fraser seems to be situated above the rest of the hotels. That day we visited, we were among the clouds. Silver Frasers seems colder than Pines Resort. Pine resort seems closer to the horse back riding area and the town when compared with Silver Fraser. There is Archery in Pine resort. Not to sure about Silver Fraser. If I am going up Fraser's Hill again, I will probably try Silver Fraser. If not, I will probably stay at Pine's resort. Hope this help. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hjteo 1st Gear May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 Bukit Fraser offers nature walks, horse back riding, waterfall, simple makan. It is a nice quiet place as a retreat but can be a little 'ulu' and boring for some . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 7, 2008 Share May 7, 2008 anyone been there? cameron went until.. abit too familiar. genting too commercialised. wifey n i just want to CHILL. literally and figuratively get some rest, bonk, walk abit, shoot some couple pix with nice backdrop, bonk somemore.. stuff like that. the good thing abt fraser is that it seems to have nothing much of interest to most city folk I've been there.. Find nothing much to do and see..good for relaxation and to enjoy the cool weather but if one is expecting nice scenery or things to do, they will be disappointed. its purely for a quiet and laidback retreat one can look forward in the midst of a hectic working lifestyle..other than that, nothing much except if you are a keen golfer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear May 8, 2008 Share May 8, 2008 Thanks HJteo, I'll try booking Fraser Silver...will be going on the 12th June. Anyone going too? Maybe we can go together....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Palin 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 I be gog up fraser during this vesak holiday, staying at fraser silverpark....book fm internet 2-3 days ago at RMB356 for 2 nites (eerything in)...any1 gog cn pm me and we cn arrange to go up tog?.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...