How do the red light cameras work?

Quantum

So bad, this morning on my way to work, I beated a camera red light [smallcry]

driving on most right lane, approaching to a junction with red light camera, saw light was green, but found after the junction the cars already tailed back to near the junction on most right lane , and middle lane still was empty, so intended to switch to middle lane, but there was a lorry at my left side middle lane and a bit lead of me, I speeded up to overtake the lorry, at this moment the traffic light turned to amber liao, about 40 to 50 meters to the junction, at speed about 70km/h, chiong or brake [confused], hesitant a splited second... chiong, but my poor power engine didn't help me[sly]

shi*t! 5 meters to the stop line, the light turned red liao... [bigcry]

did the camera work??

if work, 12 demerit points lah[bigcry] [bigcry]

any fine?? [bigcry]

I heard that if you crossed the line during amber and u are somewhere in the middle of the yellow box when the lights turned red.. you should be fine..but if u cross the line when it was red..then i dunno...

dun b sad 1st ba, jus wait 4 letter, but seriously i doubt there r grace timing of 2-3 secs, cos i also same situation as u once in woodlands area, but it was nite time lah, damn strong flash x 2. at that time i tell myself die liao..............................but then after 2 yrs now, no letter [:p] but my fiend who was a ex tp told me that sm camera r there 4 show only, no film inserted. for my case, i tin its quite true [:p]

ps: dun tell me thats lighting, cos my wife turn her head to c after my car pass the stop line when red n she saw light flashing fr there [:(]

I heard that if you crossed the line during amber and u are somewhere in the middle of the yellow box when the lights turned red.. you should be fine..

Yup Bro [nod][nod][nod]

Have done it many times and confirm that Bo Dai Chi one [;)]

but if u cross the line when it was red..then i dunno...

This one must 'Pai Xin Por Pee' [laugh][laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

Then high chance you should be alright [nod][nod][nod]

Mai worry so much [;)]

Touch wood lah, even if tio there is nothing much we could do about it except maybe appeal and end of the day, pay up the fine [;)]

Mai stress out and keep thinking about it [:)]

Life is stressful enough liao [sunny][sunny][sunny]

Me got fine S$200 with 12 points demerit 27/Jul. Didn't notice flash at all.

I was told that traffic cam works on sensor(before stop line)...red light-up, car pass will activate cam...kenna. If you already passed the stop line before light turn red, u should be safe.

The traffic lights cameras are actually hazards to road safety...and if it's true that some of the cameras don't even work, then I really question the Gov's decision to use them over the use of timed traffic light junctions (like those in JB). Cameras don't help drivers make better judgments about their driving..in fact, they create doubts in drivers' minds about whether to stop or go in situations similar to yours..I am getting increasingly disappointed with the Gov's treatment of its citizens as idiots...because they give ridiculous reasons for implementing the traffic light cameras... I hope some minister sees this post and do something to rectify the situation...soon...

I heard sometimes even if there are flash and you got caught.. the TP will have to review the photo. If your number plate is ambigious, e.g. number is not clear or a bird was flying past your number plate [laugh] ..then they cannot prosecute you, so you are safe..

I saw some car plates very reflective..i think they did on purpose, if camera flash..only see bright reflection..if TP bikes catch them..i wonder how much fine... in USA, the reflective licence plates are legal i think..saw in car magazines (USA) before...

Edited by Josephteo

i have cultivated a habit of always looking out for Redlight camera near traffic lights.. and i also have cultivate another habit of slowing down when approcahing redlights. either habit wil supercede 1 another depending on whether rushing for time or not.

har? it's another form of revenue leh.. [lipsrsealed]

That what a lot of Singapore citizens perceive..which basically nullify's the Gov's given rationale of road safety.. [gossip]