Redboy 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) Hi all, I just want to share a rather unpleasant incident this morning. As shown in diagram, I was turning into a carpark which has a 2-way road. Halfway through the turn, I saw this stationary van at the side and a lorry wanting to exit in opposite direction. In order to do so, lorry has to eat into other lane. When I was in that position, lorry high-beamed me, as though it's asking me to reverse to give way. Normally, in such scenarios, the other party will give way, so i just inched forward. Lorry had no choice but to reverse. But after I passed, I already waved to say thanks but lorry driver just glared at me. Ok lah, maybe lorry reached slightly earlier(abt 1-2s) but is lorry right to insist I give way? Did I do anything wrong to warrant such a reaction? At that time, there are no vehicles behind me or lorry. Comments welcome. Incident.bmp Edited September 13, 2007 by Redboy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 It's that van fault Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Author Share September 13, 2007 (edited) Maybe it's just me. But I'd think any driver in my position would expect other party to give way, right? Edited September 13, 2007 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 since the lorry already got there before you, by courtesy you should let him pass first.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluenuts Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Simple!! Vehicles (regardless what kind including M/cycle)) in minor road must give way to vehicles (regardless what kind also) in major road. In your case, i presume you were on the major road turning into the minor road of the carpark and the lorry was in the minor road of the carpark approaching the major road, therefore you have the right of way. Unless it's unsafe for the lorry to reverse at the point of time (eg. BIG lorry, poor visibilty), then with safety 1st in mind, you can give way also. Right of way is merely a guideline for safety, if safety is compromise even though you have the right of way, then it's definitely the wrong way. Damn i'm getting too long winded....pai say pai say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 try driving a lorry and see if it's easy to reverse compared to a car at times, it's not a matter of right or wrong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 The fault lies with the van. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nighthawkcity 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 true true.. if possible, let them go first lor.. they reverse, high risk cos their blind spot is big area.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 If you'd approached the bend with more caution (because in your diagram, you should've been able to see the stationary van while approaching the bend) in expectation that vehicles might be eating into your lane to exit, would you have been able to stop in time just as you noticed the lorry, and leave just enough gap for the lorry to squeeze between you and the van? Think about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 he only glared at you and did nothing else right? you did turn in and he gave way right? so ok lor, don't need to feel anything unpleasant lah. the lorry reacted angrily thats his problem, and he gets worked up, why get worked up together with him? in your case, you have the right of way...lorry must give way to on-coming traffic. if the van is blocking your lane, then you have to give way..thats what i've learnt in BBDC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redboy 1st Gear September 14, 2007 Author Share September 14, 2007 (edited) both of us are already within MSCP. Just that i did not expect lorry not to give way. Even high-beamed me to give way which is rude. If lorry had requested politely to ask me to give way, I would give way. Edited September 14, 2007 by Redboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) There's lane markings on the floor? If yes, I really think that no matter what, you have the right of way. So the lorry should only blame the van for blocking his path. If there's no lane marking, it may be subjective. But personally, I will still feel that it's more correct that you be allowed to turn first. Because the entire space is for 2 way traffic and the traffic flow in the lorry's path is obstructed by the van. Your traffic flow should not be penalised because of the van's inconsideration Edited September 14, 2007 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Both sides are in no wrong Jus practice a bit road courtesy then everything would be alright liao The one sala is the van Don't let this incident spoil your mood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 (edited) as our governement would say: move on Edited September 14, 2007 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey02 Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 No right or wrong. Just that its harder for the lorry to backup. Its just a matter of a few seconds of giving way. Most importantly, must say thank you after that. I cannot stand those drivers who feel that its your responsibility to give way to them and just drive off with a ya-ya face despite you taking the trouble to let them pass first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 Agree... a bit of road courtesy goes a long way. We all live rather high stress lives now, no need to make the heart overwork further by giving each other the long face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 i think u should have give way: by doing so, the lorry driver may waved his thanks to you instead of glaring at you, then u will not feel unpleasant. then u will feel happy and need not waste time coming up with that disgram and writing this thread to gather some views or express yr unpleasant feeling. so base on the above, give way, n u may feel happier than not giving way. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...