Complaint:: Accident and claims system in Singapore?

Spurman

2 week down time labour 5K!?... mine was quoted to be ~5days and labour ~500. But of course, this is for the 'minimal' package and not the 'final' price.

Still, don't think I will be able to afford this if there's no insurance coverage ... shheesshh [dizzy]

Agreed, need not to entertain any investigators or the other parties insurance coy.....everything refer them to your insurer, that's why we pay for our high premium for insurance cover....even if one switch insurer and after couple of years still receive letter from other party just refer them back to your ex-insurer, no need to be bother with the so-called lawyer letters..unless previously u counter sue the other party for more compensation and the other party decided that they want to fight against the personal claim then different case...if just a normal accident both parties claiming each others, leave it to the insurers to sort out among themselves....

Hmm... I have a question:

I was involved in a chain collision long time ago. The matter was referred to the insurance company. I received a letter from a law firm asking me to go for an interview of the accident about 1.5yrs after it happened. Am I correct to say that unless it's from a law firm that's representing ME (or my insurance company for MY case), I can actually ignore them and tell them to follow up with my insurance company?

I cannot remember whether the law firm was representing me or another of the other parties involved in the accident. I remember that the questions were not too friendly... but objective enough. Also, I got to 'counter' one of the wrong claims of one of the other parties...so...

Just check with the law firm if they are representing your insurance co. My guess is they are.

Otherwise refer them to your insurance co and you follow up by call your insurance co about it.

Just got into a accident. Stopped at a zebra crossing for the guy to cross the road. After about 2-3 sec just when the guy had completed the crossing, was banged by a toyota wish from behind. Damages includes a misaligned bumper and misaligned boot.

Qn now is should I send it back to AD to repair or send it to my own workshop.

Am driving a nissan sunny less than 2yrs old. Got the other party to sign a drafted statement that he was the one at fault. My original agreement with him was that I will informed him what I will do next. Discussed with my father and we decided to bring it to our own workshop (not AD) and told him about it. Then he was quite insistent that we bring it to his workshop as he is afraid our workshop will inflate the claim.

Told him that he can come along to get the quote if he want. Initially agreed, then he changed his mind again and insist to go to his workshop. Getting pissed off now, felt that I should just jolly well sent it back to AD and claim his insurance.

Any advice what I should do? Go back AD or go to my own workshop? no way am I going to his.

Go to your own workshop & get your workshop to invite the other party's insurer to survey your vehicle before repair.

This way, there will be no dispute on repair costs if your car is surveyed by his insurer.

He raped you from behind and still made so much request and u still so kind to him?

Straight away go AD. Like that he no need scared claim got inflated. Anyway car still under warranty, AD may do a more thorough check.

I know the feeling sucks...but dun forget part of the inflated claim also used to pay the lawyers for sending you the letter. I dunno how much they charge for this kinda thingy...but you can call your insurer to tell them about the inflated claim amount....

A reverse sensor, bumper plus signal lights should not cost that much. Tell them you dispute the charges and the 180 per day lost of use is too much....unless that car you bang is a BMW or Lexus. My ex BMW also claim 120 for lost of use only.

If you keep quiet then they will whack lor...but your insurance com also a bit jia sia one....based on your report and their report....cannot be so much diff one mah.

Ermm, another carrot cake workshop

my friend too had an accident

he kissed the backside of Cefino

Everything look ok

no dent nor anything

Particular exchange

Took some pic

6 days later he got a lawyer letter and idac report

mentioning that his weekend car number plate lock nut cause a dent in the Cefino bumper

the pic show the dent on the left side however his Sirion nut is on the right side

In the idac report the other party was so blur to mention his car as Kia Picanto

Guess What !!!!

Indeed Kia Picanto number plate lock nut on the left side and it was exactly the position where his dent was by his description of the accident in the report

Then insurance investigator called and just keep persuading my friend to agreed to the claim of 6k

But my friend told him that it was impossible that his nut cause the damage as it was a direct hit

thus dent should be on the right instead of left and ask him to refer to the pic in the report

But the fella can even ask my friend is there any pic ???

[shakehead]

Wonder if the cefino owner does the damage himself and that dumb AIG investigator got accept kopi $ if the cliam goes thru [lipsrsealed]

Lastly I belive in Karma [nod]

Hmm, small 1 coin dent, claim insurance.. hahahaha......

Hmm... I have a question:

I was involved in a chain collision long time ago. The matter was referred to the insurance company. I received a letter from a law firm asking me to go for an interview of the accident about 1.5yrs after it happened. Am I correct to say that unless it's from a law firm that's representing ME (or my insurance company for MY case), I can actually ignore them and tell them to follow up with my insurance company?

I cannot remember whether the law firm was representing me or another of the other parties involved in the accident. I remember that the questions were not too friendly... but objective enough. Also, I got to 'counter' one of the wrong claims of one of the other parties...so...

As what some of the bros mentioned, call up your insurance agent and check whether the lawyer is from them to represent you, if not just ignore them and highlight to your insurer......

Based on your description, I believe u r resonable enough and since the other party is not honoring his words, just forget abt your initial approach and send it to your AD and claim his insurance, no need to negotiate with him....wasting times with such pple..

At most ask him what he prefer:

1. Go AD and claim insurance

2. Go AD and he foot repair costs or

3. Go to your workshop and foot repair cost

Think all of the above are very fair to him already as he is the one at fault. [:)]

aiyoh.. should give a tongue-lashing to that guy.

just tell him off: since he refuse to survey your vehicle, send it to your preferred workshop (either AD or own workshop) and make TP claim against him. what should you worry about since you already have a drafted statement that he's wrong? Claim him jialat2.. let him learn a severe lesson.

It's his mistake that you gotta go thru a lot of hassle, yet he's being difficult.

Edited by Mdfaz