Complaint:: Accident and claims system in Singapore?

Spurman

Sebeh sway!!...

Just kene a minor accident. The other vehicle reversed into my stationary car. [mad]

As mine is just passed the 1 yr mark, think it's more logical to make a claim... any advice?

Edited by Scoots

Err, bro, is your vehicle damaged??

Got take particulars or other driver??

But then hor, if small paint jobs hor, then just go spray back la, cheap cheap

Yo bro,

bumper bent. Hood corner dented and paint job cracked. For the other party, his rear bumper dented.

Took out my driving license to 'force' the other party to do the same so as to be sure that I get the correct info. And for contact number, after him giving me his number, I called him to 'give' him my number so contacts are good.

I am insured under AIG via BM. Just 1yr+. The other party is ~3yr+ car. Any advice on affect on NCD? Also, if go external workshop settle myself, how much do you think these works costs?

Thanks in advance

Experiencing the same thing as above. Many workshops are very unethical and anyhow inflat the prices.

BUT at the same time, some people whose car kena bang by others are also in cahoot with these workshop. They let the workshop repair their car and inflat the claims and than the workshop will give them some "rebates" [thumbsdown]

Another time, I banged into a female driver, initial cost of repair 2k plus... to my surprise a few weeks later i received a letter from her lawyer stating that she suffers from mental stress after the accident and is claiming a total of 12k! WTF!!! BITCH!!!

In the end, the claim amount was 3k+.

ay... claim double the amount from the laywer saying that are suffering extreme mental stress after receiving his letter ... [sly]

Wtf, why are there so many cases of people wanting to 'makan' others. Life stressful enough as it is... can't we all just go about doing the right thing

Err, I tink can just claim from the other guy insurance lor.. U repair your car, he repair his, and claim all against him if I not wrong.

And no need to say head pain all this, makes me wan2 laugh... Hee...

Try to find reliable workshops, cheap n good ones... BAn this shop called H Auto in Sin Min... hes a "tok cai tao"... Say today damages 1k, then inlat it to 3.5k the next time, together with lawyer letters...

I feel your pain. I was also involved in an accident a few months back and i just renewed my insurance two weeks back. The next time you renew your insurance, the companies will look at your total claim amount. It goes by tiers of $5k meaning 0-5000, 5000 - 10000 and so on.

My Story:

My total claim was $4k plus (3rd party and my own damaged). Upon renewal i was charge 55% more than my previous quote.

20% is from the loss of my NCD

15% due to higher premiums this year compared to 2006

20% loading to premium due to the accident.

Looking at your claim amount, be prepared to pay about 70-75% more premium upon your renewal.

Hope this helps

Thanks for the heads up bro.

My car is still under warranty with BM so I guess I will be going back to BM workshop.

Also, this is my just the beginning of my 2nd year. So claiming insurnace will just reset my NCD. So if I really sway sway end up being made the scapegoat, then LL. But at least I cap my (potential) losses . . [:/]

Edited by Scoots

Woh!!

Can explain the difference between the 15% higher premium and the 20%l oading to premium due to accident?

I can guess that the loading is because you are assessed to be a 'high risk' customer so there's a increase in premium, but how is it that the 'base' premium can increase?

Can share insight?

Thanks. Did think whether this was possible... now looks like very probable ... hehe

Anyway, I have almost 9months to go figure out ... [laugh]

Edited by Scoots

yup. P-plate. the driver was on the phone.

eh... cuz i got a quote from AD that says it cost about 4k. as my car was less than 2yrs old, i insisted to get quote from AD if i am gonna do repairs. and not some outside workshop.

let me guess:-

in the end, you didn't go back to your AD to repair... [sly]

edit: just read that you have pocket the money and repair outside. So in this case, I guess your degree is cheapen by the effect of this 4k... what a pitty... [:|]

Can I say that if you have settle with insurance claim directly during that incident, it would less of a hassle and that you might do better in your paper? anyway, no one knows the answer to this except yourselves.

nah i dun think it was cheapen, with or without the 4k it will still be a hassle. The difference being who is the person earning. workshop or me?

is insurance claiming really absolve of a hassle? i will still need to go IDAC, etc.... i So instead of idac and going to the insurance company, i went to AD and the fella company... so what diff is there? I been through insurance claim before, it aint as smooth as thought so, final straw being a lawyer's letter after 2yrs from date of accident cause my insurance company has not settled the claim.

so what lesser hassle is there?

like i say, a different perspective. [:)]

my friend too had an accident

he kissed the backside of Cefino

Everything look ok

no dent nor anything

Particular exchange

Took some pic

6 days later he got a lawyer letter and idac report

mentioning that his weekend car number plate lock nut cause a dent in the Cefino bumper

the pic show the dent on the left side however his Sirion nut is on the right side

In the idac report the other party was so blur to mention his car as Kia Picanto

Guess What !!!!

Indeed Kia Picanto number plate lock nut on the left side and it was exactly the position where his dent was by his description of the accident in the report

Then insurance investigator called and just keep persuading my friend to agreed to the claim of 6k

But my friend told him that it was impossible that his nut cause the damage as it was a direct hit

thus dent should be on the right instead of left and ask him to refer to the pic in the report

But the fella can even ask my friend is there any pic ???

[shakehead]

Wonder if the cefino owner does the damage himself and that dumb AIG investigator got accept kopi $ if the cliam goes thru [lipsrsealed]

Lastly I belive in Karma [nod]

If your friend have photos of the accident and the point of contact between the 2 vehicle, forward it to his insurance company and let them deal with each other.

Dun have to talk to the investigator. the moment owner say something wrong, they will pick it up and bring it against your friend. Let the picture do the talking.

Woh!.... I'm bringing my car down to BM tomorrow .... will share the 'bill' with all later

Ok. I sent in my car to BM this morning (my car still under warranty and BM is an authourised workshop under my AIG insurance plan)

The minimal repair cost: slightly less than 3K

A full repair would be <5K

When I state minimal refers to panel beat back the hood and sticking to existing bumper. Full repair means replace all.

*sigh* ....

BM'q uote looks reasonable for a AD. My mum's car was repaired by BM and the bill came up to over $10k. It was just a slight knocked on the rear. The one at fault told my mum to send it to BM and claim from his insurance [hur][hur][hur]

Things repplaced:-

- Rear bumper = ard $2000

- Rear bumper crash bar = ard $1000

- boot lid = ard $2000

- spare tyre well (cos of a $0.10 coin size, very sallow dent)= ard $2000

- reverse sensor ard$400

- badges ard $300

- Labour = ard $5000

Down time = over 2weeks [shakehead][shakehead]

I know the feeling sucks...but dun forget part of the inflated claim also used to pay the lawyers for sending you the letter. I dunno how much they charge for this kinda thingy...but you can call your insurer to tell them about the inflated claim amount....

A reverse sensor, bumper plus signal lights should not cost that much. Tell them you dispute the charges and the 180 per day lost of use is too much....unless that car you bang is a BMW or Lexus. My ex BMW also claim 120 for lost of use only.

If you keep quiet then they will whack lor...but your insurance com also a bit jia sia one....based on your report and their report....cannot be so much diff one mah.