Complaint:: Accident and claims system in Singapore?

Spurman

U still want the contact?...this is consider cheating liao and may land u in a very sticky situation...if what he claimed was true,posting openly on it, just matter of time, the authority will knock on his door.....both parties can be charge...

Err, bro, may I know if your insurance company pay this? Do we have to contribute any $$$ from this cost?

Left everything to the insurance company. 4-6 months past already, still have not heard anything... To be honest, I also dunno if they settled the claims, or if I need to come up with more $$$. [blush]

First time received this kind of letter. I'm blur like sotong. Also, very sian to go and find out more. In fact, didn't talk much about it to anyone... until now.

Any experts like to share what they know?

TIA.

If u r under comprehensive scheme, leave it to your insurer, whatever letters u received just forward to them....in such situation, comprehensive insurance really does help...

if the authorities wake up.. they can catch maybe 1 or 2.. these people are always a few steps ahead.. they eat oreadie know how to clean backside. so how to catch ?

which doctor dare to say you not injure.. neck pain and back pain are some of the hardest thing to prove.

Facts of life..

* workshop, lawyers and doctor will profit at the end of the day. We drive altis and honda, they drive mercs and beemers. *

fair or not

Guest Julio369

premium loading makes a mockery out of NCB.

They can mark up your premium loading until with NCB also useless.

ppl always say, new car better don't get involve in serious accident whereby car beyond repair, you'll be in serious financial loss.

Guest Julio369

better ask around for many quotes, your case not settled yet & insurance companies are very wary.

[reply]Rear bumper might appear ok but the reinforced beam behind the bumper might have taken the impact and bend. You need to open up and look at it.

Agree. Some damages cannot be seen with just naked eye. That's why people tot cheap cheap only when they see no damages or minor damages.

Some insurance have zero excess, some have $500 limit.

I mean as long as one pays up the excess $$, the remaining costs will be handled by the insurance compaines. The inflated repair costs matters will be handled by the ins co.

Regarding the NCB, if one is already at 50%, then it will be reduced to 30% the next year? 20% more will be like how much? About $300-400, depending on your car type.

So in conclusion, if kena an accident, the out-of pocket cost of $800 onwards is expected.

Am I right to say, in most accidents....if the other party as for private settlement of more than $800, I can safely ask him to fly kite and claim from my ins instead?

Firstly, the excess is only applicable for OD claims. For TP claims, nothing to do with excess. Insurers will have to deal with the very first dollar the other party w/s charge.

There is no general guideline for $x den you claim thru' insurance will be worth it. Some people may even feel $300 is not worth paying for & rather claim insurance. Depends on one's threshold.

i think if really insurance claim, the amount fron the workshop will be much much more and most importantly, none will go to my pocket but the workshop pocket [:(]

True

I also had a similar bump, resulting in a small crack in my number plate. The vehicle infront bumper slightly mis-aligned. The other driver made a claim against my insurer (a 'famous' one 'affectionately' known as Aunty). Amount was $5000+shocked.gif. I confronted my insurer as there was no possibility that the damage to the other car would require that much to repair.

They showed me photos of the damaged car as taken by the other party's workshop. Best part is, they actually priced in things like damaged exhaust system with photos of the blardy exhaust dented and RUSTY. 3 days since the slight bump and the exhaust all bent and rusty ! I told the claims manager to open his eyes big big at the photo...how can they charge these damages to me when it is sooo obvious that these were damages occured long ago and totally not related to me !!furious.gif

The claims manager told me that they have certified it with their claims assessors and are satisfied that the 'damages are consistent with the accident involving my car'. If i want to dispute, they will discharge their obligations and let me engage my own lawyer. The claims manager also say that because mine is a conti car, the damage to my car is very minimal as compared to the other jap car. What nonsense !! True mine is conti car, but not a blardy armoured tank crazy.gif. My 'conti' number plate stronger than the jap's chassis causing his whole boot to crumple and exhaust system to be bent?!! This 'famous' insurance company trying to re-write the laws of physics ar !

when i went to IDAC the assessors only took photos of my number plate and bumper. I asked them why no need to check inside the bonnet and they replied :"very obvious only superficial damage to exterior". You see...even the big time insurer don't give a hoot to IDAC's assessment..

Bro... some damages cannot be seen just by the exterior.

Analogy:

If you feel sick, you go to consult a doctor rite? So if the doctor examine you & declare you are sick, you will accept the findings rite? Why? Becos the doctor is a qualified professional.

Likewise, if the claims surveyor says the car damages costs $X whereas you say the damages should be only $Y (from what you see as little damage), you think the judge believe who? You or the surveyor?

Err, bro, may I know if your insurance company pay this? Do we have to contribute any $$$ from this cost?

Left everything to the insurance company. 4-6 months past already, still have not heard anything... To be honest, I also dunno if they settled the claims, or if I need to come up with more $$$. [blush]

First time received this kind of letter. I'm blur like sotong. Also, very sian to go and find out more. In fact, didn't talk much about it to anyone... until now.

Any experts like to share what they know?

TIA.

If u r under comprehensive scheme, leave it to your insurer, whatever letters u received just forward to them....in such situation, comprehensive insurance really does help...

It doesn't matter if you have Comprehensive cover or not when it comes to TP claims from others. Even if you have TPFT or TP cover, insurers must still deal with TP claims from the party you hit.

yup. P-plate. the driver was on the phone.

eh... cuz i got a quote from AD that says it cost about 4k. as my car was less than 2yrs old, i insisted to get quote from AD if i am gonna do repairs. and not some outside workshop.

let me guess:-

in the end, you didn't go back to your AD to repair... [sly]

edit: just read that you have pocket the money and repair outside. So in this case, I guess your degree is cheapen by the effect of this 4k... what a pitty... [:|]

Can I say that if you have settle with insurance claim directly during that incident, it would less of a hassle and that you might do better in your paper? anyway, no one knows the answer to this except yourselves.

Edited by Sony

I find it strange that the other party is willing to pay you 4k in cash when it's actually cheaper to claim their insurance.

have you check the license of the person who knock you at that time?

if i knock onto someone i also wanted to pay as long as lower then 4-5k...

why? cause my ins ncb 50% now, but if i claim, that will reset to 0% and for my 2.4l car it will cause me $800-900 more (for the 1st yr after accident, i think, not into calc) every yr, and then %600-700 for 2nd yr and so on... so total loss may be more then $6000+ for me! with the excess!

so the bigger my car, i will wanted to pay more to settle!

my friend knock by a merc he wanted $5000 or report after take photo, and that guy ll got to pay for a small knock!

You need to work out your sum whether it's worthwhile to pay this lump sum or wait for your insurance premium to go up. take it as $1000 for 1st year without NCD. You reduce it to 50% to the fifth year and see if it's really as much as you work out. Moreover, Premium tends to reduce as you add more years to your age as well.

BTW, have you heard of NCD protector as well?