Complaint:: Accident and claims system in Singapore?

Spurman

after reading the posts here, one can make a simple conclusion. when other party goes to his workshop, the bill goes sky high.

tats why i like ntuc. go idac. get neutral party to assess. go workshop, the workshop gets a so called "independent assessor". wah where got such thing one since workshop is paying for the service.

if u r with ntuc, they will give the workshop a hard time to claim inflated amount. if u kena knock from a ntuc insured car, go to any workshop. see how their face changed when u tell them the other insurer is ntuc. they oso know cannot make too much liao.

i also did told my s.i.l. to not waste any time to go and settle the amount... but she was in meeting and only free to go down in the night which by then the workshop would have closed... i then advised her to sms the owner and ask him for his confirmed amount and that she would be glad to come and pay him the money to pay to the workshop guy followed by a letter of settlement, but the owner did not reply her sms or even picked up her call until the next day when everything started to fall into place... by that time, she realised she was already on the chopping board... well, i personally have encountered bang and kanna bang before... so i only have one word of advise for my s.i.l. to tell that owner... karma exists... what goes around, comes around...

HI there,

Can I suggest that when this kind of accident happens.At once make use of your

handphone digital camara & start to take as many pictures as possible.

And then keep the pictures as evidence for this kind of stupid claim. maybe

bring it to the CASE to vertfiy the actual repair cost.

And see what can happeds then>>>>>>>>>> [rifle]

Yes!! I totally agree on this move. And do keep the pictures on your PC somewhere, you never know when they will get back to you.

I was involved in a chain collision along TPE a few years back. All parties exchanged particulars and went on to proccess their respective claims and such. I was hit by a taxi(A) that puched me forward and hit the taxi(B) infront.

After 1.5yrs, I was contacted by a law firm with regards to this acident because taxi(B) is claiming that I knock into him. Expected. But guess what? The statement given by Taxi(A) to the lawyers claimed that I had hit into Taxi(B) before Taxi(A) hit me. What a piece of crap!

And both taxi'd were from the same company ... hmmm [sly]

Some insurance have zero excess, some have $500 limit.

I mean as long as one pays up the excess $$, the remaining costs will be handled by the insurance compaines. The inflated repair costs matters will be handled by the ins co.

Regarding the NCB, if one is already at 50%, then it will be reduced to 30% the next year? 20% more will be like how much? About $300-400, depending on your car type.

So in conclusion, if kena an accident, the out-of pocket cost of $800 onwards is expected.

Am I right to say, in most accidents....if the other party as for private settlement of more than $800, I can safely ask him to fly kite and claim from my ins instead?

lets try from another perspective,

a car bang my side while turning out from small road.

i claimed about 4k cash.

repair cost at most 1k

Reason:

1) rich enough. Father and son drive diff car both ferrying partners

2) P-plate and was using handphone

3) accuse me of in yellow box when he turn out, knn green light leh of cuz move straight into yellow box mah

4) their other relatives tried to pressure me but the dad was [thumbsup]

5) i had a exam coming up a couple of days later and i still have to run around ask for quote and go collect the money from the driver's dad office.

6) loss of use of car especially i stay at east and i study at west. And i was on leave to study not run around leh

Why should i not be granted that extra 3k?

that accident may have caused me to fail my exam which results in a lousy cert and the incovienece of travelling w/o a car...

Hmm... let's imagine for a sec that I can foresee the future:

So if this accident may have prevented you from being involved in another accident had you carried on as per normal which may have resulted in your fatality, then would you be saying that you will be thanking these father and son for hitting your car at this time? Since they have probabaly saved your life, maybe you should be paying them,, what 10K? 20K ..100K as a token of appreciation for allowing you continue with your life so that you may get a cert and contribute to Singapore's economy by working hard, pay taxes and lock your CPF away in the min sum? ... [laugh]

Now seriously:

1. I cannot foresee the future.

2. Neither can you.

3. Punishment should fit the crime, and not what we THINK is a justifiable punishment.

the crime was easy.... driving and using hp + P-plate = revoke of licence? i think 3k has been a let off [:p]

anyway i usually claim extra when i know they are well-to-do.

on 2 other occasions some company van knock into me causing dents and scratches but i did not claim them because i can see they are quite pitiful and just trying to earn a living.

the 1st time was when my new car less than a month old. heartbreak but den afterall it is only a car

the thank you in appreciation is much more satisfiying then the few hundred dollars.

to these people few hundred means alot. but to some others a few thousands mean nothing so is case by case basis... [laugh]

Edited by Galantspeedz

I was looking at the car damage aspect. I believe that the compensation should be for the damage to the car only.

Regarding the use HP+P-plate thingy, I wouldn't 'factor' it in at all.

I would, however, have made a big fuss at the scene of the accident with something like: "How could you be driving and using the HP at the same time?!?!?!... Don't you know that it's illegal?! YOur license could be revoked, know?! and you P-plate somemore?! ... wah lao eh!"

Let the guy offer to make it up to you ... heheh [sly]

ya the guy offer to send to his workshop and he absorb all costs...

will you agree? i won't especially when my car was still under warranty...

sure claim from insurance is car damage + loss of use but bear in mind this is not a insurance claim but a private settlement..... and for him to be willing to pay this additional i think he knew somewhere along the line he has lost the case...

well.. i did tell him something, i got my exams to care for, if the amount is not agreeable then i make claim lor.... dun waste my time. so he took the pvt settlement amount instead...

when i do something i will factor all things in regardless small or not before i make a decision....

fren told recently... agent warranty is for the engine and gearbox.. they threaten to void it if you repair elsewhere for body parts.. but ask them to put in black and white they cannot. not sure how true is this.

eh actually beside the free servicing, i never went back to AD for servicing but i still got them to repair my gearbox for free after the warranty period is over... [:p]

sometimes u just got to know what to say... [;)]

I also had a similar bump, resulting in a small crack in my number plate. The vehicle infront bumper slightly mis-aligned. The other driver made a claim against my insurer (a 'famous' one 'affectionately' known as Aunty). Amount was $5000+shocked.gif. I confronted my insurer as there was no possibility that the damage to the other car would require that much to repair.

They showed me photos of the damaged car as taken by the other party's workshop. Best part is, they actually priced in things like damaged exhaust system with photos of the blardy exhaust dented and RUSTY. 3 days since the slight bump and the exhaust all bent and rusty ! I told the claims manager to open his eyes big big at the photo...how can they charge these damages to me when it is sooo obvious that these were damages occured long ago and totally not related to me !!furious.gif

The claims manager told me that they have certified it with their claims assessors and are satisfied that the 'damages are consistent with the accident involving my car'. If i want to dispute, they will discharge their obligations and let me engage my own lawyer. The claims manager also say that because mine is a conti car, the damage to my car is very minimal as compared to the other jap car. What nonsense !! True mine is conti car, but not a blardy armoured tank crazy.gif. My 'conti' number plate stronger than the jap's chassis causing his whole boot to crumple and exhaust system to be bent?!! This 'famous' insurance company trying to re-write the laws of physics ar !

when i went to IDAC the assessors only took photos of my number plate and bumper. I asked them why no need to check inside the bonnet and they replied :"very obvious only superficial damage to exterior". You see...even the big time insurer don't give a hoot to IDAC's assessment..

I got an small accident, someone knock my back, my car got small crack, and a guy come up and offer help to take photo and ask me to go SGH to see doctor, even i got nothing wrong, then he make me sign a lawyer letter, for them to claim everything.

but end up they claim $14,000 extra!!! but i just want my car repair! and end up they claim $21000 ($7000 for repair and $14000 for my neck!) hahaha

Agreed, it is how one put across his claim for warranty from AD [:)] ....anyway, if u laga someone, just leave it to the insurer to settle among themselves, no point getting involve just leave it to them, impt is your own ride being repair properly....even the other parties send whatever lawyer letters also no use, just fax it back to your insurer..that why we pay so much for comprehensive coverage...the most next yr quotation is higher....sometime I wonder why those lawyers want to waste papers sending the letter to the motorist, my ex insurer told me not to be bother with such letters, just forward it to them and they will sort it out.....