Nolicense Turbocharged December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 (edited) Yup, there is a lack of manpower. I can say so for the Navy. They have laid up two vessels due to lack of regulars and now on a push for recuritment. And hearsay there is not enough manpower for the last frigate. Join the navy, young man out there!!! The Navy needs U!!! Wow!... shouldn't this be some kind of state secret? oh well. we knew this when we under man our units anyway. are the defence planners just sleeping just like HDB? at first they build like no tomorrow, then they full stop until deficit. so is the defence ministry dusting off the plans to read again? Edited December 26, 2009 by Nolicense ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 I think its the pay factor and also the benefits involved that people are avoiding. Being in the uniform service is no joke as they are 24hours standby, not to mention duties that burn their weekends and holidays. Not to mention that whatever they learn in the army, most of them cannot be related to the private sector, those so call management are bs in the private sector. If they seriously wanna retain people and attract people, they should bring back the old pension scheme, with that they have no worries in getting people and they can select the best out of so many people' The recent scheme they launch, we shall see if it will last or will it flop again.. So many scholars but cannot come up with a good scheme to attract people.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UltraLiving Neutral Newbie December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 Hi All, I would like to tell my side of my story to deter those who intends to sign on, In 1998, my dad was retrenched affected by the 1997 asian crisis, he was jobless for 1year plus and i was having my N level that year. At that time, the SAF send a letter to my house stating they had this LAYE scheme, Learn-As-You-Earn. They stated if i sign on i would get a bonus of $4600/= this was not included in some of the vocations like Commandos which i decided to sign on as. I told myself since if i want to sign on... might as well sign on in the best unit and try 1st... So i joined the army after completing N Levels and went into SAFEC (SAF Education Centre) where i completed my O Levels there for the whole of 1999. In the olden days, it was known as SAF Boys Schools... After completion of my O levels, i was posted to my chosen vocation in 1st Cdo Battalion... i suffered physically and mentally for 2 years with 1 year being a recruit in SAFEC and the 2ndyear in commandos... After my ATEC i was posted to HQ where i served the remaining 5years contract... In 2004, I was a 1SG and I was caught by a TP (Corporal) for a careless mistake i made (Speeding) at Lim Chu Kang 40 lamp post... IMAGINE YOU ARE BEING CAUGHT BY A NS CORPORAL WHILE HOLDING A 1SG RANK who is a regular??? I decide not to elaborate much on this since it was a silly mistake and i have moved on in life... In the end, i just had a $200 fine and demerit 12points... This affected my career as i had a civil court charge... In 2005, i decided to sign on the 10years Premium Plan but my officers did not approve... All did not give me a chance... That same year, my late father passed away in sleep... You can imagine the tremendous stress and pressure i had prior to the end of my 7years contract... In 2006 march, i left the army getting a $10k gratuity amount, now this 10K was actually deducted from my 7years salary and they saved up for me... Its not a Bonus for me to leave... I was jobless for 1year plus and i used up that 10k plus my entire savings... And i had incurred alot of credit card debts though i spend thinking thrice... It was really a hard time for me as i only had 2 O level credits... Who in this corporate society would hire me??? They dont need me to jump parachutes, shoot with a M16 carbine, run SOC and get IPPT gold... All the sales job i interviewed need me to earn MONEY for them... As i lack human relationship skills and i had a straight forward character built into me during my army days... i couldn't get a job... Finally mid of 2008, i met some kind souls, good friends and also mentors who taught me lessons in the corporate world and guided me through my hardship + the never give up mentality i had taught myself... I finally adjust myself to the social world and now i am on my way to making big money... For your info, alot of my good comrades, with good characters and good leadership whom have contributed alot to the unit also left because of silly mistakes they made like drink driving, accidentally touching a girl while clubbing , speeding, etc etc all have left... alot of my ex colleagues saw all this all got demoralised and left the army altogether... Army is 90% sai kang, 10% realistic training... from what i have observed.. . Recently i went back for reservists, the same old culture is still the same, "rush to wait", "wait to rush"... wasting tons of taxpayers money... Now the white collar people are actually controlling it... not the uniform group... I might as well become a civillian, earn tons of money and become somebody in the society and let the army indirectly protect my interests... Not worth my life to earn that puny salary, sell my life to SAF... PUI!!! PS: Everybody deserves a second chance don't they, but SAF does not seem it this way... Only people who knows how to carry the TRIPOD survives... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 High 5 bro, I also left the navy unlike your case. I also saw this coming hence quickly left while I had the chance, although I suffered initially but now at least I feel my life is much more better knowing that I am not going die for some stupid ass who cannot lead properly and only know how to NATO. I believe there are lots of people like us out there who left because of the way it was managed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 wah...really sad...but that is not only ARMY...whole civil service like that...unless u got strong backing or "white horse". just one or two month ago, received some mailer from Army Recruitment Center recruiting for mid career people who want to look for "Challenging" career. I think it is in alignment for the new WO scheme... seems like they really can't attract good people or retain them..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 Maybe next we will see is FT taking up our military positions... Think by than the rich will wanna leave Singapore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UltraLiving Neutral Newbie December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 It is really happening already, ive seen some foreign talent in tekong during my last ICT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 Maybe next we will see is FT taking up our military positions... Think by than the rich will wanna leave Singapore... They are already here for ages. Where do you think Gurkhas are from? Pulau Ubin? Or maybe Sentosa? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icyfreakass 1st Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 I only know alot of cheena ppl in driver posts. Lol, some cant speak english. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 I only know alot of cheena ppl in driver posts. Lol, some cant speak english. Whenever I go back for ICT, I'm confused with the commands used. Sometimes in Malay and dan out of nowhere in the lecture theater, there's the "sit eazy!" . Machiam like the American's command of "stand easy"(I think most likely came from the scholars who came back the US war college). Maybe the FT will intro new commands from India & China into SAF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 They are already here for ages. Where do you think Gurkhas are from? Pulau Ubin? Or maybe Sentosa? Gurkhas are in the police, not military, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 sad sad stories. signing on is really that bad huh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear December 26, 2009 Share December 26, 2009 sad sad stories. signing on is really that bad huh.. I think most of the people you talk to will tell you that, unless you are an A star scholar, than that is different story.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 27, 2009 Share December 27, 2009 last time when i was doing my NS, the way we go fight 'enemies'... i was like thinking: "wah.. like that also can ah? sure die lor." The drills' effectiveness is seriously iffy.. so i wonder what gave the top the impression that the army at least, can do a good job when needed. I always get the idea that its all a wayang act, i cover you, you cover me.. as long as Atec looks good can liao. The top brass mostly stay in the command/war game room moving arrows... but the ground is totally another matter. I only get the feeling that our Air Force is darn good.. the others.. hmm... can only tell if the button is pressed. (hope never) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear December 27, 2009 Share December 27, 2009 it's a total waste of youth to join army. poor pay.. long hours...once you over the hill...what can you do outside. when ppl talk business sector and finaces...you will be telling ppl abt bullets and mud That is if you suxs in studies for scholar go see how much and how fast a SAF or President scholar earn and rise in rank Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged December 27, 2009 Share December 27, 2009 last time when i was doing my NS, the way we go fight 'enemies'... i was like thinking: "wah.. like that also can ah? sure die lor." The drills' effectiveness is seriously iffy.. so i wonder what gave the top the impression that the army at least, can do a good job when needed. I always get the idea that its all a wayang act, i cover you, you cover me.. as long as Atec looks good can liao. The top brass mostly stay in the command/war game room moving arrows... but the ground is totally another matter. I only get the feeling that our Air Force is darn good.. the others.. hmm... can only tell if the button is pressed. (hope never) well, modern tactics is about combined arms, like in vietnam war they have call in plane to bomb and even Broken Arrow codeword. but if airforce good but army CMI, will army misdirect airforce and bomb salah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryosuke 1st Gear December 27, 2009 Share December 27, 2009 last time when i was doing my NS, the way we go fight 'enemies'... i was like thinking: "wah.. like that also can ah? sure die lor." The drills' effectiveness is seriously iffy.. so i wonder what gave the top the impression that the army at least, can do a good job when needed. I always get the idea that its all a wayang act, i cover you, you cover me.. as long as Atec looks good can liao. The top brass mostly stay in the command/war game room moving arrows... but the ground is totally another matter. I only get the feeling that our Air Force is darn good.. the others.. hmm... can only tell if the button is pressed. (hope never) haha..air force good? there was once we were waiting for heli troop lift, already there waiting for 2hrs then got radio in from them say engine failure not coming liao. the whole fuxking coy wasted time and effort to go there and they can just fu*k it up by sending in a message 'engine failure'. they didn't even bother to send a backup bird to pick us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear December 27, 2009 Share December 27, 2009 the damm thing about army is the waiting time. if we are informed what we are waiting for, it is still ok. the thing is most of the time we dont know what we are waiting for and why we are waiting. i still enjoy reservist coz its really the time for me to leave from work, rest my brain and become a stupid man in green....dont need to use brain, whole day just chit chat, eat, wait. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...