Xxtreme Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote Non-combat vacations are very very limited liao. Garman just did a on these group of people so called Service support group last year lah. You can't just convert a combat vacationlist to a i.e. vehicle mechanic/ technician because these group of vacation need special training to become one. Somemore, these non-combat group of people are being slowly out-source/ taken over by external and civilian agencies liao lah. So, this is just a so call smoke screen to showcase the civil world lah. So many of them ask to leave and now they do a recuiting SAD lah. PRIDE 10 years ago Pride current Those external and civilian agencies all own by those MIW, so they earn the $ and the regulars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weichien Clutched September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 8 out of 10 regret signing on the army. unless got business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) It is nothing new....been doing this to entice entrance of diplomas (aircraft engineers) for more than 10 years Edited September 13, 2007 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote Sell your soul to the devil for six years....not worth it. Two and a half years of NS is way too long enough for me already. I want to live my life as a human-being, not a dog. Actually depend on how you see it ... you see ns as a life of a dog, you will feel like one. If you enjoy ns life as it is and accept the pro and the con, you will see it differently. If you are those lazy and self-centred type... you won't survive anywhere anyway, regular or outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 You won't survive long in the SAF unless you are scholar... Unless you are contented with an average pay and doing lots and lots of things and duties other than those you signed up for... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote 1) Pilot2) A/C technician 3) Air Engineering Officer 4) Navy officers -> MPA/PSA 5) SFI -> hawker 6) MO --> NUS lecturer or Private practice or Public consultant The medics of the field! How could you forget the most important vocation the SAF. Heck, we medics got real paramedic certs and life saving certs compared to the skills of my CSM who can barely speak english properly and gets a kick out of conducting FBO stand by beds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 (edited) Wow FBO standby bed..... happening sia Edited September 13, 2007 by Kingcopa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote Last time they do this, the new recruits comes in driving brand new car. They have to report to grumpy seniors who did not get a bite of the bonus. Guess, how's that for morale? Of coz, the more knowledgeable seniors left with a nasty taste on their mouth when their time is up. You really reminds me of the time when they drove their spanking new cars (Rover included) into the air force school. Those instructors of mine (I also OJT then) can only drool from far. I dun blame them for taking up the job for the money. 60k is a lot of $$ for those straight out of school, I always blame the policy makers, not the ones who took the bait. Thing is, many came for the $$ and not for the love of the job thus they dun tend to go far. Not to mention all the monkeys that you tends to attract if you hurl out a big bunch of bananas. 4 years after leaving the Air Force, I never had a single thought of regret. I found a job with 30% pay cut, married, had a house and a kid. I am a happy man. Reservist is good coz its a holiday from work, read newspaper, watch TV, tea breaks. All the senior guys I knew who can really work left the force. Good workers tends to clash with the management for one reason or another. Imagine a fresh grad Capt with no sense of reality being your boss. The Force is weak (Adapted from Star Wars) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 How true... Just ORDed this Jan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 congrats to those who want to leave... but during the bad times, alot of guys preferred to sign on. sg cant support such a massive public sector debt in my opinion. not healthy. if we can pay and sustain $25k for each new sign on person to serve army, then alot of other impt policies should be sustained as well. restore cpf cuts, housing and taking care of aged, etc. however, this is not happening, thus remains 1 sided. we pay for new, but we dont really put the same importance on the old and current. sad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Sama..sama.. but mine was in the Navy. When I went back for reservist, my good friend was then a WO2. He had to go down to ship to work. I asked why? He said his new recruits all very rich, but cannot work. WO2 must work, while the now corporals look and watch. A couple of years later he left. All the technical work is taken over by ST. So we are left with a bunch of rich idiots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Congrats bro! You leave at a good time where the economy is good. I had some seniors who left during the crisis and they really had to struggle for a while, they are now enjoying the fruits of their labour. The lousier ones will be automatically weed out of the system unfortunately. Of coz, some other seniors choose to take the easy way out and stayed in the force coz they are automatically transferred to the PP2 plan when it started. There are many reasons to sign on with the various military. What I firmly believe is once you take the $$, you gotta do the job with integrity. Those ppl whom I worked with in the airforce still have good impression of my past achievements when I go back for reservist. There are things to learn in any company, be it private or civil. Dun waste your 7 or 10 years in the civil service, its something you cannot buy back with $$. I know friends who left the force with debts while others with 50-80k in their pockets (not the 60k batch) or even a double-degree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Isn't it scary that our Almightly thinks money can makes the world go round? You definitely can't buy patriotism with dollars and cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Thats why ST is so strong mah. Sub all the gov job. Maybe in the older system, your friend may be only a staff sergent. can't blame him lar. Inflated rankings if you ask me. I dun think any regular would mind if SAF pays them $4000/month for a sergent rank, just a wayang show and lots of hot air. $25k is really cheapskate compared to the payout they gave 10 years ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 True. ever since most of the technical works are sub-contract out and the senior and skilled tech left, the young ones are really technically incompetence yet they are drawing higher pay and better promotion prospect this is probably called 3G Army Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 3G army - u dun need human to fight war......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 It was good that I left... On my side I see the good ones being "weeded" out and the lousier ones staying on because they have more "PR" with the management... Sigh... I guess this is the reality of working life, regardless whether you are in the private or civil service... I was told before I left that in civil service, you have to work hard. In the outside world, you'll have to work even harder... But if you work hard outside, you will reap the rewards... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 $25k sign on fee for a 3 yr contract? hmm... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...