Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 SAF lor. Rem an incident which i still rem cleary. During my NS time, a aussie battalion having training in LCK and had to spend a few days in my camp as there are some empty blocks in my camp. 1 Nite i was the Guard Comdr and there is 1 ang mo came up to me when he return to camp from nite off and had a chit chat w me (i was manning the gate). Then he ask me how long it take for us to obtain our 3 ikan bilis, i told hime abt BMT, BSLC and ASLC and till now i cannot forget his expression. "sxxt sxxt sxxt so fast!!!!!!!! In aussie, sometime we take a few yr to get Sargent rank. sxxt sxxt" Make me so pai sei...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote I don't think the youngsters will just sign-on blindly. Will most probably seek advise from others or even those in the army. When times are bad, more pple will choose Army as their career. when the economy is doing well, they usually have a hard time attracting and retaining pple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Quote This thing can attract those poor family background youngster to sign on. My friend sign on during army bcoz his family all waiting for him to feed. If no army, he will go outside and work to feed his family, the 2.5 yrs army life force him to sign on the dotted line. Imagine remain as NSF for his 2.5 yrs with a few hundreds dollar monthly, how to feed his family?? Yup, some will even signed a bond with the army to sponsor their 3 years study in poly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Yes dun say US army like my previous posting on Aussie army can liao. 3rd sargent like uncle like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 If u can tahan army life, i dun see y not. Pay for ur study service finish the bond and come out. But frankly hor after finish the bond, u come out also difficult to find job. No experience at all. Most will continue to sign. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 for my case still all right. maybe i'm young. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Taiwan also the same. join the army as private and leave as private. but their private got 1st class, 2nd class & 3rd class. a LCP there is like an officer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Their Sargent is alreadi big fark. Our sargent is like dirt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Most university graduates prefer to work in banking, finance sector. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../299386/1/.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Their Sargent is alreadi big fark. Our sargent is like dirt. Very true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Last time after BMT gong gong posted to SISPEC. Thot Sargent not bad also leh. After pass out posted to unit, KNN Sargent worst then my men. Everything is 3rd sargent and above or 3rd sargent and below. Either way we kena. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 i am a regular in airforce..looking forward to ord in 1 year plus time...pink IC here i come Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Everything is 3rd sargent and above or 3rd sargent and below. Either way we kena. True. i also kenna tat until promoted to 2SG then slightly better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 Even in reservist also like that. End up Sargent doing the fatigue job like draw store, return store. KNN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 I think the problem is we have too many ranks in between, not enough pte below, so the 3sg also got to do sai kang. inflation of job titles in pte sector also, make pple think they big fark but still do same job. VP=manager, education officer=teacher?, salesman=sales executive.. we all have nice sounding job titles, but job still the same but with more responsibilities Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moeykf Neutral Newbie September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 bro, dun forget how they fried those regular who reach the end of pp1 and now they are paying this amount of money to get fresh blood. this is how they spend the tax payers money.....i've seen enough of this shyt and decided to leave. after 13 yrs in the armed forces. i finally see light in 2006. suffered massive 60% pay cut but i feel shiok, happy and carefree. congratz on seeing ur pink IC soon. all the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 me also last time during oversea exercise i'm also in charge to drawing and returning stores. i tried to arrow pple to do it until all went hiding. in the end i had to do it myself with a handful of pple. sian... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Share September 13, 2007 I think the problem is we have too many ranks in between, not enough pte below, so the 3sg also got to do sai kang. inflation of job titles in pte sector also, make pple think they big fark but still do same job. VP=manager, education officer=teacher?, salesman=sales executive.. we all have nice sounding job titles, but job still the same but with more responsibilities True. in the banking sector AVP sounds great but there are tons of them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...