Army so desperate?

Christan

Last time they do this, the new recruits comes in driving brand new car.

They have to report to grumpy seniors who did not get a bite of the bonus.

Guess, how's that for morale?

Of coz, the more knowledgeable seniors left with a nasty taste on their mouth when their time is up.

air force tech? If you willing to take a deep pay cut....sure can find a job...from 3k plus...to 1K+. Can u handle that? Don't ask how i know...am one of this tech..10 years ago.....treated like sxxt by interviewer when going for interview...but am glad to say that i make it up after 10 year in the private sector...never regret leaving that sxxt hole...

2 years ago when I went for ICT. the trainer were just 2nd sargeant. When I went back again for ICT, he has become staff sargeant and he was just ~27 years old. Wonder how the army can promote a person so fast. Scared that the regular might leave after serving his 6 years. By the way the contract now is for 8 or 10 years. These are what I gather from speaking to the regulars in my ICT

So to those who might even have the slightest idea of joining, pls THINK TWICE that is all I can offer.

Nowaday..''struck (staff) segeant is nothing lah....cheapo..first contract sure can get to that rank.

Now ur frd 1 2 stay there till retirement oso he got no say liao..its not like last time iron rice bowl..

if your performance no good or cxxk up or something,they will kick u out after your 1st contract.

i think he performance ok, got promote until cannot leave liao. balls tied to them.

do you notice the army and airforce TV serial from 1980s now show again on ch8? wah kaoz, another media blitz.. like shipyard no sg want to join must make TV show to attract. now army airforce no sg need to show TV to attract pple. next show they will drag out on TV will be the Navy one.. each one take turn to psycho sg to sign on

Bo pian, now the economy has picked up, every disheartened regular less scholars want to leave. So the scholars are scared next time end up they do all the sai gang, so now quickly entice people to gong gong sign on.

This cycle happens everytime the economy is doing well and people start leaving the force. Nothing new or surprising.

Yes agree totally

SAF only for scholars.

My ex colleague who is a president scholar. he got downgraded for 1 year. the next week, he got promoted to captain while still being a trainee.

got such thing? i tink he also feel paiseh receiving the rank.

25k onli..

i remembered in mid 90s..army offered up to $60k (including CPF) + sponsoring of poly education. Some of my friends took up the offer.signed on for 6 years. After 1st contract,all got kicked out...

I nearly signed on as a guards officer/specialist that time.. [sweatdrop]

1) Pilot

2) A/C technician

3) Air Engineering Officer

4) Navy officers -> MPA/PSA

5) SFI -> hawker

6) MO --> NUS lecturer or Private practice or Public consultant

Last time when i was in army, i always take taxi to camp, and those taxi uncles will chit chat about army life.

I kena alot of uncles saying, i used to sign on with army, from CSM all the way to Major.

Sigh, Major driving taxi.... i thought in army, officer ranks go for manpower, intelligence or logistics course so that they can find work outside. (maybe he likes it cos more free time to spend with his family after serving for so many years)

But for Specs, is really die, most of teh courses they attend even for tech is irrelevant to the outside world.

Long time ago (under the pension scheme) that might have been the norm. My uncle who was an air force major drove a taxi to pass time if not he said he would be bored at home.

25k only...want ppl to join and probably ruin thier career path.

Want to be sincere...offer 200k straight lar. Not say the govt cannot afford. [:|][:|][:|]

200k is better to use to feed somebody's wife (most often disastrous) investments plan. Give money-wasting army 25k is considered alot already... [laugh]

SAF only for the scholars lar, peasants get no where. my friend is a technician, tells me come out also no job, since inside so long, better stay there, if can come out can find outside job would have done so long ago.. bo pian.

many fear trap inside no skills and no value, who want to employ some one who only know how to chiong sua and shout puseng puseng.

only white horse want to be ministar then got fast track to one star and cabinet

I was also an army technician who choose to leave after contract ended. in fact there were 30+ of us who left at the same time. most are doing well outside. Advise yr friend to take up some part time course to upgrade himself, sure can survive outside

2 years ago when I went for ICT. the trainer were just 2nd sargeant. When I went back again for ICT, he has become staff sargeant and he was just ~27 years old. Wonder how the army can promote a person so fast. Scared that the regular might leave after serving his 6 years. By the way the contract now is for 8 or 10 years. These are what I gather from speaking to the regulars in my ICT

So to those who might even have the slightest idea of joining, pls THINK TWICE that is all I can offer.

True, promotion getting faster. during the 80/90s a typical SSG is aged ard 35.