Soonalvin Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) 1) Pilot 2) A/C technician 3) Air Engineering Officer 4) Navy officers -> MPA/PSA 5) SFI -> hawker 6) MO --> NUS lecturer or Private practice or Public consultant Edited September 12, 2007 by Soonalvin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 Previously with the pension scheme, most people would stay on as they will continue receiving their last drawn salary after they retire until they . By taking away this scheme, means those who might consider joining will definitely have second thoughts so the army have to think of new ways like this "idea" to get people to sign-on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 5 no longer applicable since it has been outsourced to SFI so Army now no need cooks. Army food is more palatable now compared to previously Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 now if i were to serve NS again, my pride will most likely to be gone.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) if there is some sort of allowance after retirement from NS, i would have signed on also.. heard from some of my "FT" friends that their govt do give Edited September 12, 2007 by Beei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonalvin Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 haha that one not i type one. why u reply to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Quote These regulars aren't living as dogs, it's just that the army treat them as dogs, everything 'bao ka liao' but pay so much lower than officer. That is exactly what I meant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 As one of my former platoon mate said in Hokkien 'u ka u qiu mai chou peng bei siong sun e yao si' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Expected. Like what many here had said. A job in the army is no longer an iron rice bowl. It's probably a even less attractive as a career as compared to 10yrs ago. The cons are:- - Early retirement. - Job scopes are often too specialized and confine to military. No much demand in the private sector. - On contract term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barlonglong Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 siao liao, more and more chu qen kia will sign on and buy their first "self paid " car to impress the dancing queen in the pub Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 2 years ago when I went for ICT. the trainer were just 2nd sargeant. When I went back again for ICT, he has become staff sargeant and he was just ~27 years old. Wonder how the army can promote a person so fast. Scared that the regular might leave after serving his 6 years. By the way the contract now is for 8 or 10 years. These are what I gather from speaking to the regulars in my ICT So to those who might even have the slightest idea of joining, pls THINK TWICE that is all I can offer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Author Share September 12, 2007 I don't think the youngsters will just sign-on blindly. Will most probably seek advise from others or even those in the army. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 What is the bonus for officers? In the Australian army, if you serve out the three year contract, you get slightly over 1.5 years bonus! And if you choose to roll that bonus over into your superannuation (ie. CPF) it's tax free! How will Singapore compete? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) This thing can attract those poor family background youngster to sign on. My friend sign on during army bcoz his family all waiting for him to feed. If no army, he will go outside and work to feed his family, the 2.5 yrs army life force him to sign on the dotted line. Imagine remain as NSF for his 2.5 yrs with a few hundreds dollar monthly, how to feed his family?? Edited September 12, 2007 by Curahee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jesse Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Non-combat vacations are very very limited liao. Garman just did a on these group of people so called Service support group last year lah. You can't just convert a combat vacationlist to a i.e. vehicle mechanic/ technician because these group of vacation need special training to become one. Somemore, these non-combat group of people are being slowly out-source/ taken over by external and civilian agencies liao lah. So, this is just a so call smoke screen to showcase the civil world lah. So many of them ask to leave and now they do a recuiting SAD lah. PRIDE 10 years ago Pride current Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 It only make me laugh with such ranking system. Last time got US army visit my unit, i see most of them rank pretty low but they pretty old and experience, got go war and operation before. I look at myself as a 3rd sgt only 20 yrs old that time, make me look like a fool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ethene 1st Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 dumbass. Just go ask any regulars. especially the useless sargeants. see got who never regret after sign on one. LOL. what a trap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbine Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 ya.. i nearly signed on the paper while in the army also.. thought was cool to serve the army.. but 2nd thought on prospect or rather after 45 - 55 what should i do... heng Furthermore CPF fund have extended... Double Heng ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...