Garlic 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 Hello everyone, I have recently removed my aftermarket vacuum gauge and would appreciate it if you guys can advise on this issue. Mechanic cut the hose to facilitate installation of a "T" connector, additional outlet was then connected to sender unit. After removing the gauge, I soldered back the stock wires and protected them with heat shrink wrap. The "T" connector is still in my vacuum hose with a length of tubing attached to it, the tubing's end has been sealed with silicon though. Will this cause any problems such as leaks or inaccurate information being sent to ECU? I'm afraid of leaks as accessories shop did not secure "T" connector with clamps. I'm contemplating whether or not to replace the vacuum hose with a new one, will it be expensive to replace? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 I would replace the whole vacuum hose. I think silicon alone is not good enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 why not just change the connector to those normal 2 ends one? i believe that should be cheap and you can diy as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 sillicone? bad move bro.. leaks... worse the sillicone plug get sucked in... gone case .. car become sillicone implanted boob job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Author Share September 11, 2007 Will get hose replaced asap, calling workshop tomorrow. Thanks for the feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach Clutched September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 You can get replacement vacuum hose from some parts shops, sold by the foot. Just take note of the internal diameter you require. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 (edited) U can get performance ones samco sillicone hose... blue ones! Nice! or yellow Edited September 11, 2007 by Wolverman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear September 13, 2007 Author Share September 13, 2007 Nice! Will stick with normal ones, car is just a humble grocery getter. Have made an appointment with a workshop tomorrow, seems pretty easy to DIY but I don't have the right tools for the job. The guy there commented that its the brake line vacuum hose that got cut ... First workshop I went did not even bother to look at the hose, simply said "dunno how to do" and carried on chatting with his customer.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 wah lau eh...tap from brake vaccum hose....tts damn dangerous and a fvcked up job lo....once leak u got no brake pedal assistance.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear September 14, 2007 Author Share September 14, 2007 Yep, workshop told me the same thing. The JB mechanic who did the installation ..... Rectified the problem already, two thumbs up for Huat Lee; Nigel refused to charge as its a very simple 10mins job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear September 14, 2007 Share September 14, 2007 for Nigel! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear September 14, 2007 Author Share September 14, 2007 Yep, had two good experiences with him, find him a honest and trust worthy mechanic. He was pretty shocked when he saw the sliced brake hose as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaze77 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched September 15, 2007 Share September 15, 2007 arboh den... who wouldnt...brake this kinda thing cannot play play one leh.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...