Perrier 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 (edited) If I am driving a Sienta, do I still need to register this TRD muffler (for sienta in Toyota website)with LTA? http://toyota.jp/sienta/dop/package/index.html It would be easier if I had it installed before they shipped it here but it would be taxed 2.3x the original price (61,950 yen or SGD805) Thanks. Edited September 11, 2007 by Perrier ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 (edited) yes... but not so easy.. u may land into plenty of red tapes Edited September 11, 2007 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged September 11, 2007 Share September 11, 2007 even approved muffler need to be check and certified, not to mentioned muffle from other model.... eg, TTE muffler is approved, but after installation, u need to go for inspection before it is 100% legal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 11, 2007 Author Share September 11, 2007 Thank for all the replies. Basically, it would be easiest to retrofit in factory then I won't need to apply any approval right? If yes, then I think its a matter of money against time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 17, 2007 Share September 17, 2007 1/ saf rule do anything u want, dun get caught 2/ tiong car rule do anything u want, remember to keep $1K in the car, ang pow for LTA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 1/ saf rule do anything u want, dun get caught 2/ tiong car rule do anything u want, remember to keep $1K in the car, ang pow for LTA 3/ born with silver spoon in mouth; have solid lawyer behind you to mitigate in case anything happen ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Author Share September 18, 2007 I am just wondering lor. If buy aftermarket products sold by Toyota itself, it should be classified as original right? It is like customizing your ride with the OEM then get it shipped into Sg. You may already guess I do not want to attract the attention for white ants. I will need all sorts of documents to get it approved here which is both expensive and yet troubsome, so I was thinking if can pay abit more to get the PI to order the upgrade at factory itself, I would save alot of time but still pay more. Let's say I am a lazy person who is willing to use some money to buy time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 of cos need approval if u on the safe side. doesnt mean TRD for your toyota no need approval.. if like that u might as well buy a TRD bolt-on supercharger/ turbo also no need approval. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Author Share September 18, 2007 Oh.... ok. Got it. The snail you mentioned is one of my project as well if I buy the car. Now mapping my road may for the car first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear September 18, 2007 Share September 18, 2007 (edited) Anything you change on the muffler needs to first get approval from LTA. Also, if you have TUV approved muffler, its easier, and hopefully faster. Basically, if you are the only soul in SG that will want this approved, generally you need to wait 4-6weeks, even longer, for the cert. Process is, change the muffler, go to LTA for approval, they do tests, emmissions, and noise, then you go change muffler back to original, keep the new muffler and wait for approval.. once you received the approval, you can fix it. Maybe your installer can help. If its already done and approved before, you still need to fix the muffler, go to LTA and ask for approval letter. If its done on same car with same model of muffler, they will give your the approval on the spot (this is what I understand) with tests as well. The latter is much more simpler. For me, I'm one of the genie pig for I'm the first here to own that muffler. Good thing is mine is TUV approved and all certs from EU as well. That seems to go down well with LTA. Still, it took me 5-6 weeks and I did the 1st process above. Rgds Edited September 18, 2007 by Madsumm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bullterrier Clutched September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 (edited) May I share my experience with my 1 year old car with regards to switching to a better exhaust system (twin exhaust) from an OEM which is recognized and sold through the agent here? After having the car new exhaust system installed (no additional performance enhancement other than a little saving in fuel consumption), the agent issued a letter to say that it installed the exhaust and that it complies with LTA guidelines. A certificate from the maker of the exhaust system is also attached. I took my car to LTA for inspection - they ran some noise and emission tests, took some photographs of the bottom of the car with the exhaust system and basically filed away all the paperwork, certificate and photos for later verification if my car were to be hauled in for illegal modifications. All this took abt an hour to complete whereupon I was then given a certificate from LTA to say my exhaust system has been inspected and approved. I also have to pay $40-50 for this inspection. The key party to this whole approval process is that the recognized authorised agent of your car make must issue the compliance letter so if you had sourced your aftermarket parts from any other parties other than them I dont see how they will want to endorse the modification. All in all too much red tape in reality. Edited September 19, 2007 by Bullterrier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear September 19, 2007 Author Share September 19, 2007 Ah... i think you have misunderstood me already. I am considering to buy the Sienta from PI. I learnt that the TRD muffler is available for sale directly by Toyota. This means that everything will be pre-installed onto the ride at factory. Everything will be included in the invoice for the car by Toyota I believe. Thus, I will not have the original muffler or my ride comes default with the muffler. So my question is whether I still need to send it to LTA for approval. The reply I got so far is yes. So there is no way for me to work around the LTA thingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 If there r no TRD markings visible & it's not so obvious it's aftermarket, just fit it on but keep the original just in case. The muffler looks quite "tame" so the inspectors might not notice it. If the car pass the sound test, then sud b OK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 If it's a original Toyota part made for your model then no problem. If it's TRD, then it's not "original" factory issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 Oh.... ok. Got it. The snail you mentioned is one of my project as well if I buy the car. Now mapping my road may for the car first. ================= U a foreigner? Still not so familiar with our strict laws on modding cars. Wait your veh.no. on all the LTA & ROV whiteboards then u know. Everywhere u go, kenna followed & stopped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 (edited) bro u still not getting what perrier ask. his aftermarket muffler is shipped bolted onto the car from factory direct as an option. ie no original muffler will be shipped with his car. Edited September 19, 2007 by Osiris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 But he say if he fix at factory, then he pay more $ cos of the additional taxes. Maybe just bring the car in & install the muffler locally. If the car is not a TP magnet, then sud b quite ok lah. As long as it can pass the Vicom tests for noise & emissions, it sud not pose any problems unless a sharp eyed inspector notices the difference, which I doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear September 19, 2007 Share September 19, 2007 Ah... i think you have misunderstood me already. I am considering to buy the Sienta from PI. I learnt that the TRD muffler is available for sale directly by Toyota. This means that everything will be pre-installed onto the ride at factory. Everything will be included in the invoice for the car by Toyota I believe. Thus, I will not have the original muffler or my ride comes default with the muffler. So my question is whether I still need to send it to LTA for approval. The reply I got so far is yes. So there is no way for me to work around the LTA thingy. no lah, see his post #12 quoted bro, i think his attitude is if can save some money save. but if save money but have to go thru red tape, he rather spend. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...