Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 if im not wrong the cabs have something installed that turns on the blinkers whenever they brake hard? i could be wrong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) it was discussed before that taxis' hazard light will ON automatically when they jam the brake. i wonder how true is it? Edited September 12, 2007 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 ya lor.. CTR attract attention TS can choose not too look ...whey he get so stim about the CTR? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 No lah... i asked the ah pek taxi driver he say no leh... some more he laugh say.. taxi where got so high teck (maybe he meant taxi where got V Tec) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 who dunno to drive extra careful in heavy rain other than morons? and if its morons you meet, hazard lights won't do diddly sheet.. Exactly. Hazard lights won't stop morons from ramming into you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Confirm no! Sometimes when you see cabs queuing they don't have their hazard lights on too. Maybe their hazard light switch is around the steering wheel area, within easy reach for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 I just remembered something, you know those heavy vehicles transporting those huge cement pillars etc (some with escort), and those that clear the rubbish in the middle of the road, they are moving slowly but not stationery but hazard lights also on leh..... You do have a point there, but overall visibility is already better (ie lesser confusion) (1) they usually have accompanying large electronic arrow to provide advance warning/direction to travel (2) they mostly work in better weather condition than TS encountered You have given an example which contradicts the highway code. I don't think the highway code has changed too drastically, but perhaps someone learning it now could share the current proper use of hazard lights. Maybe these vehicles are using the hazard lights wrongly, you know, an honest mistake So if govt vehicles also do that, then now is right or wrong I believe those vehicles belong to commercial vendors contracted to do the job. Besides, if they are Government-linked vehicles, anything goes, in the name of security and national interest. Drive safely everyone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) I just remembered something, you know those heavy vehicles transporting those huge cement pillars etc (some with escort), and those that clear the rubbish in the middle of the road, they are moving slowly but not stationery but hazard lights also on leh..... So if govt vehicles also do that, then now is right or wrong I encountered those big long trailers transporting cement blocks several times before, and they were on a busy road. So far did not see any hazard lights displayed on all occasions. Those rubbish trucks have a special board with a flashing arrow to tell vehicles to keep aside. But anyway they are going at an unrealistically slow speed. I think if any car is travelling at that kind of speed on an expressway, by all means, please on the hazard lights. And keep left. Edited September 12, 2007 by Icekitten Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 i agree to a certain extent with regards to the highway code. which is why i mentioned flexibility... anyway there are alot of grey areas concerning driving regulations but this is just a diff of opinions, no harm done Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 got leh, i see before, cuz not all will have escort...... but nvm lar..... it is just some food for thought... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Yes. I ever saw one convoy turning out from Old Tampines Rd into Tampines Ave 10 at night. Two long army trailers, covered with tarpaulin. Then several escort bikes around it. They were travelling very slowly and the trailers had their hazard lights on. So I think maybe if one has to travel at a speed much lower than the pace of traffic, it might be a good idea to switch on the hazard lights and keep left. But if keeping with the pace of traffic, it's probably an unnecessary gesture. There are some jokers who turn on their hazard lights on the move even in slight rain. Then again, I guess heavy and slight rain is quite subjective too. And they do it even while driving in Lane 1 or 2. This thread didn't really start off on a good note, but this is a healthy discussion! Hearing the views and reasonings from both sides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Eh.. CTR 0-100 timing is really not bad Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 win mine abit lor or maybe on par if i do minor mod.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 but in heavy rain also drive slowly leh.... so visibility high + slow speed = can on hazard light? but visibility low + slow speed = not visible to on hazard light? contradicting leh... but what i agree is slow speed should on hazard light.... cuz even when weather clear people tend to speed more and be less alert so hazard light is also advisable to be on. as for heavy rain, it is just to enhance visibility, not all cars got those ah beng neon/led lights leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverman Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 (edited) is it? not bad.. what's your ride? still galant? Edited September 12, 2007 by Wolverman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 no leh..... now also change to vtek.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcff_1980 Neutral Newbie September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 which vtek? B or K? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched September 12, 2007 Share September 12, 2007 Drive slower when raining, not drive slowly. Like I said, the pace of traffic is important. If the car is keeping with the pace of traffic, and not sticking out like a sore thumb with his turtle-on-wheels , then pls don't on hazard lights. Not necessary. If most of the cars are going at 60kmh because of heavy rain and one car decides 60kmh is too fast and bums along at 30kmh, then pls signal left, keep left, and on hazard lights in low visibility. Because a 30kmh vehicle on a 60kmh road is an obstruction. Notice that those convoy vehicles and trailers have something in common. They are moving way slower than the normal speed of traffic on the road. That's why hazard lights are on as a precaution. Even the rubbish trucks too, although they use a more specific flashing direction arrow to warn vehicles behind to keep clear. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...