Stupid Civic Type-R driver (White CTR)

Andpercent

[sweatdrop] Eeerr..have you driven on the NSH before??? Do you share the same views for those drivers??? They turn on their hazard lights when its really pooor visibility...

I guess I must be a dumb@ss to you too then, cos i turn on the Hazard lights when its very heavy downpour...

btw, imo, it is not wrong to use the hazard lights if your car is one of those older models without fog lights. i think even those normal taxis (not the new sonatas or skodas) do not have fog lights. the older malaysian cars you see on the NSH without fog lights will likewise use their hazard lights since they have no other choice. and others will follow suit thinking it's a good idea.

yup. maybe just maybe our forefathers who drove those cars without fog lights practised using their hazard lights during bad visibility. and they passed on this "advice/know-how" to the younger generation. and that is how this practice of using hazard lights can still be observed now.

but like i said, almost all cars these days are built with at least rear fog lights. and that is exactly their sole purpose.

Edited by Sillymonkey

i agree and i belong to the camp that feels hazard lights should not be used, IF you are not about to stop.

what are the darn fog lights for then? all cars nowadays come with at least rear fog lights. turn them on that should suffice. don't you find it weird that people switch on their fog lights when it's a clear night and do not use their fog lights when the weather is really bad and it's really needed?

i feel that if a driver really really wants to switch on hazard lights and continue to drive, then keep to the leftmost lane, where he can drive slowly. at least he's at one side of the road/expressway where he won't cause as much confusion and cars can overtake him more safely.

anyway, maybe this civic driver new to the car, haven't found out how to switch on his fog lights yet. well, that could always be one reason.

Not all cars come with rear fog lights, in fact most cars don't have one here.

Regards,

if you do not have rear fog lights then like i said, i do not disagree that you should use your hazard lights. if you have fog lights, then please use them instead. [;)]

most cars made in the last 2-3 years or so do have rear if not front fog lights isn't it? correct me if i'm wrong.

even bread and butter cars like vios, altis, mazdas, city etc have them. and going forward more and more cars will be made with fog lights.

I dun have rear foglights!!! HOW? I deserve to get banged???

Yalor, I better go and install a rear fog light before someone blame me for using hazard lights [sweatdrop].

Regards,

[sweatdrop] Eeerr..have you driven on the NSH before??? Do you share the same views for those drivers??? They turn on their hazard lights when its really pooor visibility...

I guess I must be a dumb@ss to you too then, cos i turn on the Hazard lights when its very heavy downpour...

Ya lor ... i think if he goes NSHW he kena bashed both physically and ride wise

[rolleyes] Why bother!? If Threadstarter thinks this is an issue, he could push for legislative changes so LTA can fine ppl who use hazard lights in heavy rain!

The reasons why there isn't any legislation to insist that only rear fog lights may be used in poor visibility are:

i) NOT all cars have rear foglights

ii) Fog lights may not be working at the point in time..

iii) LTA don't wanna end up enforcing every single aspect of motoring behavior cos Singaporeans just whine too much!

[laugh][laugh]

[bigcry] Bro! We gonna get banged in the next big rain!! [;)]

How? I thought u changing to new car soon? Get one with rear fogs, else its back to this same ridiculous thread!!!

Bro! We gonna get banged in the next big rain!!

How? I thought u changing to new car soon? Get one with rear fogs, else its back to this same ridiculous thread!!!

Seriously, where to install an aftermarket fog light? Need LTA approval or not?

Regards,

Does anyone know for sure what the official word is regarding the use of hazard lights during heavy rain? From my understanding it can only be used why stationary. Remembered TP clarified once but I can't confirm. Can anyone?

confirm with Ubi driving center bus lesson instructor , says that hazard light cannot be turned on while on the move as it can confuse drivers. it should only be used when stationary.

One way to end ALL these nonsense . . . fog lights front and back, hazard lights. Switch off lah! Get a police siren, fix it on top your car and turn it on in heavy rain. [laugh]

Seriously, we do not need the hazard lights to be on when driving in heavy rain, it is dangerous and will cause confusion, turn left or turn right?? [confused] In heavy rain, why must we need hazard lights to warn others to be careful? [hur] Instinctively, you will tend to be caution when the weather turns nasty. [nod]

1. You never encountered situation where you can't see anything at all even with your fog lamp on? It is very common to be on NSH under heavy downpour and you basically see nothing infront of you and don't know where is your left or right. You will be thankful to see someone swithing on blinking hazard light infront.

2. IMHO, Singaporean that only drive on Singapore roads would complain about hazard lights.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

while the intend of using hazard light is good, it really does cause confusion sometimes, so using the headlights is the recommended practice.

You probably have not driven in places where the visibility is extremely poor. Not even your headlights can show you where you are going. Just recently, I went to a friend's underground carpark in his apartment and they were doing fogging then. I couldn't see a single vehicle or moving objects infront of me at all! this was with headlight and fog light on. So dangerous! What did all of the car drivers do? We all automatically on the harzard light and proceed very slowly until we see someone marshalling the traffic. IMHO, hazard light is not always a cause of confusion until you enter a state of confusion, yourself.

Regards,

Dont make assumptions, I know what its like to drive in places of extreme poor visibility. Personally I dont really have a problem with people using hazard lights, I'm concerned for those who may react wrongly to it.

Not experienced then learn quitely ... dont act smart ...KPKB ....

Hello, read properly, I'm saying there are people who are inexperienced not me.

Can u be more tolerant to the other types of drivers out there. I already said, not every driver has the same skill and experience level. Is there a problem with it ? Some people just have poor coordination skills or road sense, so does that mean they cannot drive.

Come on, be considerate leh.

Who's the one KPKB.

Dont make assumptions, I know what its like to drive in places of extreme poor visibility. Personally I dont really have a problem with people using hazard lights, I'm concerned for those who may react wrongly to it.

Glad that you don't have an issue with that. Who do you think may react wrongly to it? Inexperienced one or those have not driven at least on NSH before?

Regards,

Hello, read properly, I'm saying there are people who are inexperienced not me.

Can u be more tolerant to the other types of drivers out there. I already said, not every driver has the same skill and experience level. Is there a problem with it ? Some people just have poor coordination skills or road sense, so does that mean they cannot drive.

Come on, be considerate leh.

Who's the one KPKB.

Aiya, he is like that one. Come to think about it, if don't have certain level of coordination skill or road sense, how to pass TP? Anyway, I've colleagues who are so afraid to drive after getting a license. Some of them, don't dare to drive when it rains [laugh].

Regards,